We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harris House Motel

Traveler (49)
Room & Suite (26)
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Free Beach Passes/Parking
47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 97
  • 79
  • 20
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed September 2018. Beyond disappointing between the (brown, yellow, and white) soap scum stained shower which appeared to not have had a proper cleaning for months or possibly years, would require a scrapper or steel wool to get off the soap scum. To the non-stop cigarette
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
Just spent 2 nights at Harris House in Ocean City NJ - GREAT motel. It is right off the boardwalk in the center of town so it is easy to get to the beach and boardwalk. The staff is very accommodating and friendly - the rooms were very clean with comfortable beds. Was able to
Read more
Response from WSSHH, Manager at Harris House Motel
Responded Sep 5, 2018
Thank you so much for your "five circle" review! We're glad you were able to take advantage of our awesome location just steps away form the beach and boardwalk. We're also pleased to hear that you found the beds to be comfortable, as we just purchased and installed brand new Queen mattresses in every single room this past winter. Finally, we appreciate you mentioning our 'extended check-in/check-out' policy with regards to the property, wherein we offer guests the option to 'hang around' all day after check out to make use of the pool, beach badges and indoor showers with changing rooms, thus maximizing your beach days, as you said. Overall, it sounds like you were able to capitalize on The Harris House's many features and amenities to have a wonderful vacation, which couldn't make us happier. Thank you again for writing such an incredible review, and we look forward to providing you accommodations again next time you are in Ocean City!
Read more
Standard motel room in Ocean City just a few steps from the boardwalk and beach. There are two floors and it appears that all rooms have two queen beds, small refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom is small. Air conditioner keeps room cool but blows right on bed closest to door.
Read more
Response from WSSHH, Manager at Harris House Motel
Responded Oct 1, 2018
Hi, thank you for writing such a positive review of the Harris House! We're glad you enjoyed the pool - the largest in town - and that you found our location right beside the beach and boardwalk to be so convenient. The coffee starts at 6am and we hear over and over again that it's 'better than anything on the boardwalk' - we hope you found that to be true! Again, we appreciate your complimentary words, and also your business. Sincerely... The Harris House
Read more
Great pool, convenient location to boardwalk and beach. Our room was very clean, outside seating for two was nice for eating takeout. Appreciated fresh coffee at front desk, since there was no coffeemaker in room. Our only complaint was the temperature in the room. Seemed the AC
Read more
Response from WSSHH, Owner at Harris House Motel
Responded Sep 17, 2018
Thank you for the four star review, we greatly appreciate it! We never get tired of hearing compliments on our cleanliness, since we are fully aware that this is most customers' number one concern. We're glad you were able to enjoy the chairs and balcony area for sitting outside the room, and also the coffee in the lobby which is served all morning long. The majority of the AC units in the motel are new units, so they should be quite powerful and responsive. Whenever you stay with us, please, DO NOT HESITATE to bring any issue to our attention, even if it seems small, we welcome the opportunity to continually improve our property so that we can remain one of the highest ranked vacation destinations in all of Ocean City. Again, thank you for the feedback and we truly hope you'll stay with us again! Sincerely... Mike B.
Read more
We stayed here for labor day weekend. I had read the reviews saying it was a nice and clean place which had been newly refurbished. They are correct. This motel is very clean, smells clean, and has been newly renovated. This motel is cleaner than a house in Cape May we
Read more
Response from WSSHH, Manager at Harris House Motel
Responded Sep 5, 2018
Thank you so much for your positive and thorough review! We really appreciate you going into detail about how clean our property is, as we hold that to be our number one priority. Our housekeepers are thorough, dedicated and hardworking, and the rooms are always inspected a second time by our Head Housekeeper who doesn't miss a beat. Often the rooms are checked a 3rd time throughout the day by a manager who walks the property all day long, to ensure that the cleanliness represents who we are as a business. We're also glad you made use of the complimentary beach badges, as well as our indoor and outdoor shower areas. Overall, it sounds like you had an exemplary Harris House experience and are proud to have contributed to an enjoyable Ocean City vacation for you and your family. Please consider staying with us again the next time you visit "America's Favorite Beach"! Thanks again!
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & Beach
View of the Harris House from the boardwalk ramp
Table and chairs
Another view
View from room (144) (Jilly's arcade and Mac and Manco's Pizza)
Harris House steet view from our room
On what date does the pool close for the season?
Hello, our pool is open as long as we are open! For this year, our last night of stay is Sunday 10/07/18, closing for the season on Monday 10/8/18. Thank you!
1 vote
Show all answers
Does the Harris House provide beach chairs/Beach towels etc?
Hi. Sorry, we do not. They sell beach chairs and towels on the boardwalk and they also rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Thanks. Wendy Harris House
2 votes
do you allow small dogs?
Sorry, we do not allow pets.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Stay on the inside of the hotel for quiet rooms."
"2nd floor pool facing is our favorite room to stay in"
"For quiet, request a room away from 12th Street"
"Garbage trucks with back up beepers start at 4:30 am on north side. Pool on south side noisy when weather is good."
"We had pool side room on the second floor and the location was perfect for us."
$148 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
harris house motel hotel ocean cityharris hotel ocean cityharris motel ocean city
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreOcean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing