We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
601 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3844
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (98)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (6)

About

#4 of 19 in Ocean City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Atlantis Inn is located a block from the beach and boardwalk in Ocean City, NJ. This 121 year old Grand Victorian is fully modernized. A classic lobby in the French Provencale style welcomes you to suites and apartments themed after European destinations. Our upscale accommodations include whirlpool baths, spa showers, steam shower and fireplaces. Enjoy idyllic views of the Atlantic Ocean, the Boardwalk and its landmarks, Atlantic City, Somers Point and Margate from our roof deck. Lounge on the wrap-around veranda or the roof deck. A leafy cafe-style patio at street level is open to all guests on first-come, first-served basis. We ask you to help preserve this unique property when you visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Wifi
Free breakfast
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
318Reviews3Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 221
  • 49
  • 20
  • 20
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
generalnansi wrote a review May 2022
Wilmington, Delaware155 contributions88 helpful votes
My husband & I visited Atlantis Inn several years ago and decided to return over the Memorial Day weekend. Happily, the Inn is still being lovingly cared for and is still beautiful. The inviting breakfast room with hot water for tea (my personal favorite) and a delicious breakfast for both days of our stay was much appreciated. We stayed in suite 12 with a king bed and a wonderful state of the art shower with plenty of jets and also a hand held wand. This location was perfect for us since steps are limited to entering the Inn. The location is perfectly situated in the heart of Ocean City right where the action is. It was nice to return to a familiar place and see that it is well cared for. We will be returning again soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are several rooms on the 3rd & 4th floors. If you want minimal steps be sure to book on...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your business and your warm review.
Read more
MAYWEDDING1 wrote a review Jul 2021
Phillipsburg, New Jersey26 contributions44 helpful votes
Like the mythical lost city of Atlantis, the Atlantis Inn has sunk. We paid over $1000 for a 3-night stay in June. There's "a Resort Fee" of $10/day for what every other "upscale" inn and B&B includes, i.e., unlimited wi=fi, bottled water, in-room coffee/tea, premium cable and a view. Also, there's a "mandatory cleaning charge of $5.00 per day + tax". I should've charged THEM a cleaning fee. Rooms "appear" clean, but it's evident that minimal cleaning is done (if at all). Our room, the Seville, had a layer of dust on the headboard, a very thick layer of dust on the ceiling fan, incredibly visible layered dust on all bathroom lights, small stains on walls on either side of the toilet (please clean this health hazard), AND stains on the comforter cover which hasn't been washed in a very long time. Most "luxury" inns triple-sheet the beds so guests never touch the comforter cover itself -- it's kept between two sheets. Not the Atlantis! Since COVID-19 kept most places closed a long time, the inn should've received a deep cleaning. I know that wasn't the case. Lastly, the owner suggests you pay in $19.50/day for a parking lot that is 3+ blocks away. What you aren't told is that there's a FREE municipal parking lot diagonally across from the inn. Although this lot doesn't permit overnight parking, there's ample street parking around the inn after the boardwalk crowds thin at night. Like Atlantis and the Titanic, the Atlantis Inn has sunk (but at least the Titanic had a band) !!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 8, 2021
Sorry for the delayed response … there seems to have been a disconnect on our TripAdvisor account which is now fixed. The Seville Suite and the Atlantis Inn have great reviews on Expedia, Bookingcom and other review sites. Seville is a spacious corner room with great sunlight, a King bed, whirlpool for 2, fireplace, Spanish tiled shower. We apologize for the deficiencies mentioned which we would have gladly corrected. Reviewer stayed for 3 nights, all the more interesting because reviewer chose to save up remarks for this review. Regarding fees, these are very well explained on our website and email confirmation and so are topics on limited room refreshes or requesting supplies. Regarding parking, we subsidize guest parking 3 blocks away, which is the nearest overnight parking. Reviewer mis-speaks about “free parking across the street”…it is not. Boardwalk crowds do not clear out until 9:45 pm and yes, there MIGHT be free street parking, but any earlier will be a game of parking roulette.
Read more
MARIA LAWLER wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Horrible experience like Covid. No cleaning service, steep stairs, no elevator , no valet , no breakfast , mildew smell basement suite, no free parking- all for the price of $355/night plus $20 parking/ day .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 8, 2021
Customer is a super-nice person and he and his wife stayed in the Barcelona Suite which steps out into our panoramic roof deck. To say this was a “horrible experience” seems dramatic and uncharacteristic of this guest. I am sure it was his wife leaving this review. It is obvious from the time of check-in that customer did not read the announcements on our website nor the confirmation email regarding our curtailed services (due to COVID) because he kept on asking about them every time his wife prodded him. Most local businesses this summer experienced a staffing shortage, which caused us to not be able to provide regular refreshes or breakfast. We did send complimentary wine and snacks to the as a gesture. This couple had also wanted to extend their stay which is quite inexplicable if it were such a “horrible experience”. The only available room was a street-level 2-bedroom apartment which for sure did not meet his wife’s approval. Finally, we have no onsite parking (offsite parking for a fee is available); why customer expected free parking is puzzling in Ocean City, or any vacation destination. We are a small family business, operating out of a 120 year old building. Yes the stairs are steep and there is no elevator, but this is all part of its historic charm. Clearly, the person leaving this review is impossible to please.
Read more
Italianlover wrote a review Jun 2021
Florence, Italy13 contributions15 helpful votes
Disappointing. We stayed here 3 years ago for my birthday so came back this year to do the same. Back then breakfast was fabulous and it really felt “luxury”. Not so much now. It’s so expensive, no breakfast, all these random fees added, they offer nothing additional like a beach chair if you forgot one. Don’t waste your money. Drive a little bit further and go stay in Cape May for a true romantic B&B. The Bedford Inn, the Harrison, and many others still served hot breakfast either outdoors or directly to your room all during covid. Now, all the B&Bs in Cape May are back to full service. Parking is better and honestly the beach is nicer too and there are more restaurants (Washington Inn is amazing). Most of the B&Bs in Cape May also offer beach chairs, towels, bikes to ride around and enjoy the town. If you love B&Bs that’s the shore town to visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 8, 2021
We are not a B&B and have not been for some time. We properly announced on our website that we do not serve breakfast currently. There is no missing this, yet reviewer booked a stay and now complains about it. This was also contained in the confirmation email that included a list of recommend breakfast places. Many hotels do not offer free breakfast. We do not add random fees. All fees are listed in the checkout cart and the confirmation email and are comparable to what other hotels and inns are charging.
Read more
Rachel S wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Atlantis Inn managament is not close to the highly detailed and customer centered as years ago. On their website they have pictures of the beautiful breakfast room with breakfast being served. They are not offering any breakfast , stating they cant due covid giidelines. In the state of New Jersey all dining establishments are open at 100%. Masks and social distancing is no longer mandated Then their stance is we cant hire any workers. Ok well have some grab and go fruit, bars. We paid over $730 for 2 nights in the Milano suite. Yet the thermostat is unresponsive. And yes we called. It never goes below 75 . Read some other reviews, youll see the temperatures are controlled. Yes you cant beat the location. But 20day to park, 20$ cleaning fee added ar checkout? This is the only place Ive been were fees are added for services that comes with standard rentals
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 8, 2021
We are dumbfounded as to why customers who decide to book anyway in spite of our diligent announcements that breakfast is unavailable, complain about it as if they had no idea that this was the case. There was no missing this announcement on the booking page. We opened our doors this year to provide a getaway for many. And come they did to enjoy themselves without a whimper of dissatisfaction regarding the curtailed services due to the pandemic. We hope that next year brings more good news with regard to both labor and supply chain. Parking is not generally free in destination resorts - this, too, is properly explained on the website, but complain about it this reviewer must. Resort and cleaning fees are now the standard in the lodging industry. Have you recently compared the astronomical cleaning and service fees on AirBnB ? I just returned from an Upstate New York hotel that charged $45 per day resort fee. About the unresponsive thermostat…our main AC system is brand new this year and we checked the thermostat and found it defect-free. If there was a problem, it could have been corrected had we received a call. Sorry, your complaint has been the only one this season.
Read more
WRC6 wrote a review Oct 2020
Long Valley, NJ592 contributions239 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for one night on a brief in-state getaway in late September. This elegant inn is conveniently close to Ocean City’s excellent beach and boardwalk but just removed enough to offer peace and quiet. WHAT WAS GOOD: We stayed in the Cinese-Avignon room, which features a large jetted tub in a bright, airy and sunlit bathroom, and a gas fireplace set in an elegant hearth in the bedroom. Floor space was limited but the room was very comfortable and nicely furnished….The inn itself is tastefully decorated and all common areas feature elegant furnishings and décor. This is really a beautifully restored, comfortably modern, and well-maintained property….The rooftop deck is a pleasant space with nice distant views of the boardwalk and beach….The location, one long city block from the beach, is excellent….In-room coffee was a nice amenity. WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER: I was a little put off by the lengthy list of rules and regulations, which includes a number of add-on fees. I was charged a “resort fee” and a “cleaning fee”, adding up to over $30. Early check-in or late check-out (apparently strictly timed) will set you back another $35. And if you choose to have breakfast on site, you’ll pay a separate fee for that, too. Also note that cancellation policies are highly restrictive. Management is transparent about all of this but I nevertheless couldn’t help but feel nickeled-and-dimed….I noticed when I booked that the website has a “Rules of the Inn” list (all reasonable and sensible stuff) with a heading “Please Observe!”. Sorry to say, but the tone here and the above-mentioned fees really undermined any sense of hospitality for me…. I found the keyless self-check-in to be convenient but the absence of on-site staff made our stay seem impersonal. Of course, there’s an upside to this in this time of Covid but I missed the basic human touch of a greeting or some sense of appreciation for our patronage. THINGS TO KNOW: Parking, for another municipal fee, is a few blocks away in a public lot….Ocean City, in case you don’t know, is a dry town, so don’t expect to get beer, wine or cocktails with your meal or in retail….In keeping with the rules theme, you’ll have to electronically sign a Covid-19 hold-harmless form to check in. BOTTOM LINE: You’ll like staying here if you enjoy unique and elegant seaside accommodations (priced accordingly), aren’t seeking a personal B&B experience and aren’t put of by some lengthy rules of engagement.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Oct 8, 2020
Thank you for your kind review and high ratings. We try to polish the language & tone of our Rules of the Inn and we continue to do so, but it is a challenge whenever there is a list of "Don'ts." We are transparent with our fees as you mentioned and we are comparable or less expensive compared to other lower-caliber lodging in the area. You may be surprised...we are markedly lower than AirBnB when it comes to cleaning fees. Our fees are sort of a la carte- if you need to check-in early at 1 PM rather than 4 pm, or extend your stay beyond 11 am check-out, these options are available and not of the nickel-and-dime type. Resort fee is for extras like high speed wifi, bottled water, coffee supplies and premium tv channels. We pay the town for parking and the Inn actually subsidizes this cost. Finally, we are sadly transitioning to a non-b&b approach in this Covid-19 environment. The valuable, risk-free FaceTime of the past is just that, a thing of the past. It is certainly uncomfortable for staff and customers to interact or converse through masks. Social distancing rules force us to be distant.
Read more
rimavh wrote a review Aug 2020
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania182 contributions123 helpful votes
This has become an annual trip for us. Sometimes a few days and this time, sadly, just overnight. The Atlantis Inn is owned and run by a charming gentleman named Val Reyes. This place is beautifully maintained. The charm rivals the sort of upscale B&B you’d find in Cape May or even Charleston. Luxurious and comfort all at the same time. I can only imagine the special challenges 2020 has brought on Val. It’s got to be expensive to keep this place running. Without all the enthusiastic, Eastern European college kids who worked there is the past, and all the extra effort a hotelier is forced to undertake, I can only imagine that this has been a rough year. I am very grateful this lovely little sanctuary right off the Ocean City boardwalk (6th street) is still around. Breakfast was DELISH! I’ve reviewed the facilities several times. All still the same. ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 8, 2021
Thank you very much.
Read more
MMP0717 wrote a review Jul 2020
Greenwich, Connecticut3 contributions
The room was clean and nicely appointed. I had asked for an early check in, knowing the room had not been used for over 24 hours and empty. I was told that if I checked in at 1 or 2, there would be a $35 charge. If I checked in 3, there would be no charge. While this is stated on the website, my experiences with other B&B's have always been far more hospitable. There is no innkeeper on the premises, you are given the code for the front door and the code for your room. The website says the code is for security (?). It was unnerving, as a woman traveling alone, to be in an inn with no staff on the premises. The breakfast piece of the B&B was available at an array of prices. However, the website makes a guest feel that this would be included, bed and breakfast, not exactly. COVID makes serving guests breakfast difficult and potentially unsafe. However, to charge guests for a breakfast - at a B&B - is a bit much. Something as simple as a muffin would have been appreciate. Despite the attractive room, I would stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2020
This review is strange considering the effort we undertake to communicate that not all Room rates include breakfast, like the Saver/No Breakfast Rate. If you book via 3rd parties, the same is true. Why did reviewer expect differently from what she booked? More and more Inns (we are not a B&B) do not include breakfast in their rate, but is available at an extra price. With regard to check-in, Atlantis Inn has been a self-check-in since 2011. Most customers love this no-waiting-in-line check-in and check-out process. We understand not all customers, like this reviewer, subscribe to self-check-in and she may not be a fit for us. Thank you for staying with us
Read more
Russ G wrote a review Jul 2020
Annapolis, Maryland29 contributions23 helpful votes
We had a reservation here for August 6 7 and when we heard the governors restrictions for travelers from MD needing to quarantine for 14 days we cancelled. They are telling us it’s non refundable since it was book post COVID. This is very unfortunate and we await their response to holding nearly $700 for two nights.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2020
Hotels treat covid - 19 bookings quite uniformly. If you book before or around March 11, bookings can be refunded. However, if booking is made post Covid 19 breakout, the booker is considered well aware of the risks of travel restrictions, day-to-day government guidance and quarantine policies. In other words, if a customer books a Non-refundable rate notwithstanding the known and unanticipated travel risks, then it follows that the booker accepts that he may lose his money. What booker in this case really needed is travel insurance.
Read more
Bethany S wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We loved the location of Atlantis Inn and the room was beautiful! Lovely views from the roof and great breakfast. We also loved the breakfast hosts & chefs - very kind and fun to talk to! Thanks for an incredible mini-honeymoon :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We loved our Amalfi suite for easy access! :)
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Val Reyes, Owner at Atlantis Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 9, 2021
Thank you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$239 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
atlantis inn luxury hotel ocean city, atlantis inn luxury bed and breakfast
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyOcean City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Atlantis Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Atlantis Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ocean City Boardwalk (0.3 miles), Liberty Escape Rooms (0.3 miles), and Haunted Golf (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Atlantis Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, internet access, and a rooftop terrace.
What food & drink options are available at Atlantis Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Atlantis Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include OC Surf Cafe, Jon & Patty's Coffee Bar & Bistro, and Varsity Inn.
Is Atlantis Inn Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Ocean City.
Are there any historical sites close to Atlantis Inn Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lucy the Elephant (4.2 miles), U.S. Life Saving Station 30 (0.2 miles), and Somers Mansion (2.6 miles).