We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matador Oceanfront Resort

Save
Share
16th and the Beach 511 East 16th Avenue, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (91)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)

About

#10 of 38 hotels in North Wildwood
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Since 1979, Matador Oceanfront Resort has been treating travelers from near and far to the relaxing vacations of their dreams. We offer comfortable rooms, some of the most immaculate facilities in the area, and consistent service from the day you arrive to the day you head home. We are also conveniently located right on the beach and historic Wildwoods Boardwalk. So whether you are ready to enjoy a relaxing day at the beach or the excitement of the boardwalk, the Matador couldn't be in a more perfect location for you. Come find your dream vacation at the affordable rates you deserve. We can't wait for you to visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
260Reviews14Q+A84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 163
  • 56
  • 18
  • 8
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris G wrote a review Sep 2020
Broomall, Pennsylvania22 contributions3 helpful votes
This was our second stay at the Matador. We are already booked for next year. Our place was very clean and the woman at the front desk was pleasant and nice. The Resort is close to the beach and boardwalk. This is good especially with our three young Granddaughters. I would recommend the Matador for your vacation stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from RobDGeneralManager, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Thanks so much for spending some well-deserved family time with us, Chris! I couldn't be happier that you had such a fun and relaxing experience and were greeted with our signature hospitality. See you next year, Rob D., General Manager
Read more
Becky M wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
The room was clean. However, when I booked I paid quite a bit extra for an ocean view room, as we were only going away for one night due to Covid. When our room was ready I was surprised and thought they must have given us the incorrect room. We went down to the desk to ask and the woman behind the desk was incredibly rude and told us that we were in an ocean view room. We could see the ocean.. if we walked out and used someone else’s balcony. I’ve attached a photo of right outside on our balcony for reference. We won’t be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from RobDGeneralManager, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Becky, first and foremost, I want to apologize if you weren't greeted with our signature warmth and hospitality. Confusion aside, this is something we strive to keep consistent for our guests. We do label all ocean-facing rooms as "ocean view," and I'm truly sorry this wasn't made more clear to you. I wish we'd been able to better accommodate your preference. If you find yourself out our way again in the future, we'd love to the opportunity to welcome you back and make up for this lackluster experience. All the best, Rob D., General Manager
Read more
Lando wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We've stayed at Matador for last 17 years, no breaks, no skipping, 17 years straight. We loved it there because the location is so convenient. My kids were little and it was easy to get to the beach and rides from Matador, it was perfect for us. In addition, a couple of years ago they installed central air, which was great. This year our reservation was for 8 days beginning June 19, 2020, we’ve paid $1,100 deposit. However, we decided to cancel because of the COVID19 pandemic. This decision did not come easy but my husband who is a US Army veteran with many medical issues is one of the sensitive population who can get really sick if he gets infected. Therefore, we decided to cancel just to be safe. I called Matador twice to let them know that we would cancel. I was advised to notify them in writing, no email address was mentioned, just “we need this in writing”. Therefore, I found the only email that I get from them for years after they get payments, a Reservation Confirmation email, and requested to cancel our reservation, issue a refund and make a reservation for 2021. Sent that email on June 3, 2020. And no, Mr. DelMonte, there was no “Do Not Reply” message nowhere in that email. Called them in a couple of days to confirm that my email was received, I was told to send a second email to a different email address, which I did. Got a response from Matador that my refund will be issued in a couple of weeks and the room will be reserved for us for 2021. I called Matador again to confirm and was shocked to learn that NO, we will not be getting the refund because my second email was not received 14 days prior to June 19. I tried to explain that we sent an initial email on June 3, and here is the email, but it did not matter. I begged to use $1,100 for next year reservation and the person laughed at me. Finally, out of desperation, I said but you cannot keep all that money, and, yes you guessed it, was told “yes he can and he will”. Therefore, we’ve lost $1,100. It is heartbreaking to me because we loved this place. Did I mention we stayed there every year for 17 years? I decided to post my review so others can learn from our experience at Matador Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RobDGeneralManager, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort
Responded Jul 29, 2020
You made this reservation in October 2019 and we held the room for 6 months without any deposit whatsoever. Only after 2 requests did we receive your deposit in March of 2020. Our email address is on all of our literature and on our website so the fact that you sent your cancellation request to the wrong email address is not our problem. After holding your room for 9 months you finally called to cancel 2 days before your stay. We are in our within our guidelines to withhold you deposit. Rob D., General Manager
Read more
CKD wrote a review Jul 2020
30 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I chose this hotel because they had a 2 page list of things they were doing for covid precautions which miraculously disappeared from their site after my complaints. I got there and the lady at the desk didn't have on a mask but did have a barrier at the desk. None of the guest were either, except for myself. I walked in and wiped everything down with wipes but it was gross. Floor has stuff all over it, blood on the sheet, hair on the clean towel, hair in the tub and ants everywhere. Now ants, it happens. They're awful to get rid of but it was quite a few. I called down and I asked for a refund. They said they would move me and I said ok but I still may want a refund because this was not covid clean in my opinion! This was room 415. The second room was 401. It was a much upgraded room which was nice of them. But upon inspection, there was hair at the pillow line of the bed which, come on! Then looked in the bathroom and there was hair on the wall and on the floor of the shower. People who are trying to be really cautious of covid cannot take chances like this. Some have cancer, lung problems, immune issues and I am one of them. I left because I couldn't take the chances. I emailed them the next day with photos and said because it was such an egregious error on their part, I would like a refund of some sort. Even partial. They ignored the email. The site I booked through tried to get me a refund and they refused. Now I am dealing with the credit card company helping me. With all of the reviews saying how clean it was, maybe I just got them on a bad day. But ignoring me is not the way to handle their error. And refusing any sort of refund is unreal. Yes, they have a no refund policy but they falsely advertised and I lost $350 because of their error. I drove 3 hours each way to get there and then back home that day. Just really disappointed and was really sad I lost out on my little trip.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Del Monte, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort
Responded Jul 28, 2020
Dear Anonymous person, Our entire property is sprayed daily with a CDC complaint chemical and after each check out we use a fogging machine that completely sanitizes the entire unit. Our front office has a huge sneeze guard and only two people are allowed in our office. We understand that you were not satisfied with the first unit and you moved to a second unit. However, you failed to mention that you check out early without any explanation to our staff. Pictures were then sent to our attention after the fact. If there was a problem we need to know immediately. The pictures were not taken from our unit and we look at this as an attempt to extort money from our family business.
Read more
Rich wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
I haven’t stayed at the Matador for a few years. We always stay in room type 7 which are the efficiency units facing the.beach. The beds are not comfortable and the room is old and needs updating but that is what I expect and the small price to pay for the incredible location. My complaint this time was a broken cooktop burner, clogged bathroom sink, near zero shower water pressure. My last day the A/C started leaking and shutoff completely.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from RobDGeneralManager, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort
Responded Jul 27, 2020
We pride ourselves on our clean facilities and other amenities, so I'm very sorry to hear your room did not live up to expectations. We will make sure to get this fixed. Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you'll stay with us again in the future for a better experience. Thank you, Rob D., General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matador oceanfront hotel north wildwood, matador oceanfront motel
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyNorth Wildwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Matador Oceanfront Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Nearby attractions include North Wildwood Beach (0.7 miles), Original Old Time Photo (0.6 miles), and Gateway 26 Casino (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Russo's Market, Vegas Diner & Restaurant, and Sam's Pizza Palace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Matador Oceanfront Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of North Wildwood.
Are any cleaning services offered at Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Matador Oceanfront Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sunset Beach Gifts (10.0 miles), Historic Cold Spring Village (6.3 miles), and World War II Lookout Tower (9.9 miles).
Does Matador Oceanfront Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.