We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is low cost budget hotel. They are poorly managed with unbelievable practices. It is not a clean place. The police have been needed multiple times. If you need a room for an hour or two then this is the place. Good luck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
North Plainfield, New Jersey
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was so clean and comfortable. It has a microwave and a mini refrigerator. The cleaning staff was great and works really hard. They were also very nice and took care of our room. The front desk and management was so friendly and made sure we were very comfortable. The continental breakfast was always fresh and there was always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
About Hotel's Favorite Review
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Dianne F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, and a great stay to all...

North Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

I couldn't get comfortable because my room had to many ants. I was offered a can of bug spray in which they stood at the for I can spray the room. Wasn't given another room. I stayed up all night making sure I took the ants off​ the bed my kids slept on. Also didn't like that on the website...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmh2682
melville
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 600avab
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

North Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed February 16, 2017

I had an issue and customer service said I could check in early at no charge when I arrived ferrit said I had to pay $70 extra, and he refused to call management. Then I needed to add additional nights and they refused they made me check out and everything after staying there for 2 days. The third day i...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashley422017
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi ashley422017 Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the quality of the room. We hope to service you better...

Forked River, New Jersey
Reviewed February 11, 2017

Horrible place to stay. I would not recommend it. Very smelly. Mold dirt and mildew etc. would not even think of eating breakfast there. I do not recommend this facility

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamelmer
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi williamelmer, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the quality of the room. We hope to service you better...

Fort Washington, Maryland
Reviewed January 30, 2017

TV wasn't working at first, double bed STAINS on sheets, NO HOT water and Customer Service was the worst. I'm not sure WHY this time the service was so BAD!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darlenem5
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi darlenem5, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the quality of bed in the room. We hope to service...

Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed January 13, 2017

Only thing that I didn't like was the toilet seat came off... I never seen that at any hotel ever... I overlooked it... Other than that everything was good to go...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U3908ALkenneths
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi U3908ALkenneths Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, accessible location to big shopping areas and...

North Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Although the room was cleaned as soon as you enter the bathroom had water damage to the vanity and only after laying down on the bed for about 20 minutes I started feeling small bites and as I checked I found bed bugs!!! I stayed only beacuse there was nothing else around the area available. Disgusting.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendalyc2016
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi brendalyc2016 Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the room. All of the rooms are treated and renewed so...

South Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed December 20, 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 109lamontb
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
10 miles from New York City, Manhattan. 10 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Address: 1025 Route 22 West, West End Avenue, North Plainfield, NJ 07060
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Plainfield
Price Range: $67 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield Hotel North Plainfield
Howard Johnson North Plainfield
North Plainfield Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Select a different hotel. If you want breakfast go across the street to ihop”
richardsK5090SV, 4 days ago | Read review
“love the room on 2nd floor. It has balcony.”
ishua_13, May 13, 2016 | Read review
“Rear of the building on an upper floor”
richardsK5090SV, Oct 18, 2015 | Read review
“When they say "non-smoking" don't be so sure.”
BeachMelonMama, Sep 24, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for Kingsize bed facing the mountain”
RNM-007, Sep 8, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question