We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Great Divide Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Great Divide Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2016

My Fiancee and I stayed for a weekend and it was pretty great. We had a few weather issues but the campground is great. It is very beautiful and spacious. We stayed on site A20. I would recommend this spot for anyone who needs a lot of space and privacy. There are some really lovely, kind, and happy people running...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allie R
Reviewed September 14, 2016

Hi, I stayed at the The Great Divide Campground - 9/9 - 9/11/2016. Initially it was a last minute decision that I made just to getaway from NYC. I wanted a little home away from home - and I got that! I read the reviews found very positive results. From the time I called the number and got the campground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stella M
New Jersey
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Stayed from 9/8 to 9/11 Rented cabin E12. Perfect, clean and very well stocked. From pots and pans to toaster to coffee maker. Flat screen TV, and a terrific AC. Cabin had a queen size bed, pull out couch and loft with mattress as well. Grounds were well maintained, clean and quiet as quiet gets The owners even kept the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NJGIANTSFAN
Inwood, West Virginia
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Excellent place to stay!! The staff was friendly and the activities kept the kids entertained throughout the day and night. The ladies who run the activities really keep the kids involved and make sure they have a blast. The kids loved the nature hike and streaming they did with Jess. Also, the facilities are exceptionally clean and well maintained. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lakuru
Blauvelt, New York
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

The campground is clean and very family oriented. Neci and Helen do a great job of planning crafts and other activities to keep the kids buzy. Swimming and kyacking at your fingertips. Lots of cute towns in the area to visit too! Live entertainment on Saturday nights has been a blast too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adkmomo
east haven, ct
Reviewed August 15, 2016

The campground was nice for 2 nights during the week before all the people came in. There was a group near us that played loud music until 3:00 am. We called the camp security to complain- they did nothing. this went on for 3 nights until thankfully we were leaving. There are not enough bathrooms or showers for tent campers....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EastHaven_CtMaxigirl
CampgroundDirector, Manager at The Great Divide Campground, responded to this review

We are so disappointed to hear that you had a nice time the first two nights and the actions of another group tainted your opinion of us. I assure you that our security guard did respond to one complaint called in via phone Friday night and checked in with your group leader multiple times throughout the weekend to monitor the...

Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Our stay was amazing. The campground is very clean, from the restrooms to the pool. The staff is amazing and super helpful. The campground shop is fully stocked with everything you might have forgotten. The staff has great activities planned for the kids. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shari K
CampgroundDirector, Manager at The Great Divide Campground, responded to this review

It is so nice to hear that you had an amazing time with us! We hope you return soon! Peace, Love & Camping, The Great Divide Campground!

Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

This is our third summer staying at The Great Divide Campground for a month and we had a blast! We love it here! The place is amazing with a great pool, the lake to use kayaks and fish in, the barn to play pool and hang out. We love bringing the golf cart and riding all around through the campground...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimsmile
CampgroundDirector, Manager at The Great Divide Campground, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for spreading the love about The Great Divide! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We can't wait for you to return next year! Maybe a seasonal??? ;-) Have a great year! Thank you! & Happy Camping!

Ringwood, New Jersey
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We just returned from our weekend camping trip. My daughter rented a park model unit and we had our travel trailer. The staff is very friendly and go out of there way to help you. It is a well groomed park and very clean. The restrooms were clean. The pool was very nice as well. Activities for the kids were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William309
CampgroundDirector, Manager at The Great Divide Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We are so glad you had a great time! We hope to see you again soon! The Great Divide!

Hardyston Township, New Jersey
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

What a pleasant, clean, enjoyable camping experience! We arrived at this facility ready for camping fun! Our large group of 10 families fit perfectly into site W. We set up our tents under a part sun/shade area equipped with water, fire ring, picnic table and cable. Nice amount of space between sites. The kids rode their bikes between activities we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank summerfantrips
CampgroundDirector, Manager at The Great Divide Campground, responded to this review

We are glad your group enjoyed their stay with us! We totally have the bathrooms on our radar for an update in the future! Thank you for your feedback! The Great Divide

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
#1 of 2 in Mount Arlington
241 reviews
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Budd Lake-Rockaway Area
16.5 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the foothills of New Jersey’s rural Sussex County, the Great Divide is your gateway to fields, forests, mountains—and the finest in New Jersey camping and recreation. Adventure, relaxation, family time or solitude, you’ll find it here. No matter what type of getaway you seek, we invite you to experience camping your way.With dozens of amenities and attractions, the Great Divide is the perfect vacation spot for families, couples and groups. Hesitant to leave creature comforts behind? We offer cabins and cable TV hookups. Prefer to ‘unplug’? Choose a primitive campsite and enjoy sleeping under the stars. From our Olympic-sized pool to our full schedule of family-friendly activities, there’s something for campers of all ages and interests. In addition to our beautiful locale, Great Divide visitors enjoy the hospitality of our friendly team. Each of them is passionate about protecting and enjoying the New Jersey outdoors—and they’re here to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Unforgettable experiences, friendly faces. They’re what draw people to the Great Divide, and what keep them coming back, season after season. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Great Divide Campground

Address: 68 Phillips Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-5427 (Formerly Green Valley Beach Family Campground)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Price Range: $27 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 250
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Great Divide Campground staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Great Divide Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“great views, clean campground, comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 309allier, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“Check map and talk to them - if in doubt.”
 of 5 bubbles 121dadnkids, Jun 19, 2016 | Read review
“W13 was a great site. Close to bath house but not too close. Large and private.”
 of 5 bubbles NYNJPAHiker82, May 27, 2015 | Read review
“Talk to Carmine or Lisa, the owners, and ask for their recommendation for a great site or cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles 288vinnyp, Oct 8, 2014 | Read review
“There are many options so just choose what suits you.”
 of 5 bubbles glennlong, Oct 8, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question