We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Save
Share
128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$84
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Doubletree.com
$84
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$84
$75
View Deal
SAVE $9
Priceline$84
Agoda.com$84
travelup.com$80
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (525)
Room & Suite (176)
Dining (61)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Updated 08/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 18 hotels in Newark
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs).
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Deal:Get Breakfast Included
2,175Reviews59Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 577
  • 622
  • 438
  • 283
  • 255
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
maria S wrote a review Nov 13
1 contribution
Traveled and say there for one night for a business trip. The one i was assigned to was dirty from the headboard to the sheet and the mirror on the wall. The last straw was when i detect a rare smell coming from the air in the room and as a i look it was coming from a big red stain that was on the carpet splattered on more than one spot. I had to remained with my mask on because the smell was bad. I don't know why they haven't done anything to keep up with cleanliness and protocol that obviously they isn't following. And the more ironic thing is that they have "covid blue sticker that says "cleaned well with Lysol products" but obviously that's a lie because the room i got was disgustingly dirty and didn't meet covid protocol either. I don't know if they aint checking on the work that the workers are doing but that room was a mess and stinks. They also didnt provide service room something that they stated that they do when booking the room so i saw that kind of misleading. I regret staying at this place but it was too late to changed it due to am not from the area and the state has a lot of red zone for covid high alert so i just stayed there the night. and to make it worse i got a room on the corner which i couldnt sleep much due to a clicking noise from the AC machine room or whatever that was. One word for management please do better! I know its easier for you to just take customer money but we are paying decent money to expect a decent clean room at least.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: beware of corner room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing us while you were here for business. We apologize for the cleanliness and smell issues you encountered in your room. We do have procedures in place to prevent these types of mistakes. Regrettably, we missed something in our routine while you were here, and for that, we are deeply sorry. Please be assured that we have discussed your concerns with our housekeeping team, and we are working with them to fix all the problems immediately. We also regret the noise you experienced while you were here. Our front desk is available to resolve problems, and we would have been happy to address the issue so you could have a restful night's sleep. We hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
Marissa R wrote a review Mar 2020
Washington DC11 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I stayed here for one night on a business trip and this is just a really well run hotel. All of the staff are really incredible and you can just tell I wanted to specifically call out Lionel for being TRULY amazing, we had gotten our airstream trailer stuck in the gatehouse and he patiently took about an hour out of his night to talk us through getting the trailer un-stuck and making sure we then had a safe place to park. He went above and beyond and it was incredible.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I would ask to be placed away from the rooms that overlook the pool (was a bit noisy).
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear Marissa, It is delightful to know that our excellent staff and convenient parking left a positive impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back here at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport the next time you are in town. Kind regards, Jung Lee | Dir. of Operations DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Jung.Lee@hilton.com
Read more
AL P wrote a review Nov 4
12 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is full of Roaches in the room and also very bad customer service, charge for executive level and give you lover level and charge for executive room, dirty room bed was not made and gave that room and also they have to change 3 rooms before i settle and waste my time every time when i go for to change the room i have to wait around 20 to 25 minutes, very bad service , i booked one month ago and requested refrigerator that I am diabetic but front desk don't care about that and didn't gave me the refrigerator, when i call Hilton customer service they just took all info and just pass over to the property and property manager just send me the apologies email and that's it they don't mention about over charges ..i don't recommended this double tree hotel near Newark airport beware of Roaches
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for being our guest. We sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations and for the poor service you received during your visit. We strive to provide wonderful hospitality to all of our guests, but we obviously let you down. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services going forward. We are also very sorry for the insects in your room and regret the inconvenience caused. Our pest control provider has serviced our hotel, and we are working to ensure such issues do not happen in the future. Again, we apologize for your disappointing experience, and please give us another opportunity to restore a favorable impression the next time you are in our area. Much appreciated, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
xxxxxxxxxx10 wrote a review Oct 2020
Düsseldorf, Germany179 contributions105 helpful votes
3 of 4 elevators did not work causing a large back up in waiting area and essentially triggering very crowded elevators (during Covid); restaurant to-go only but plastic cutlery so flimsy that both fork and knife bending rather than cutting a salad. Can hear full conversation from room next door due to connecting door. No cookies, their signature/brand recognition. staff very nice but seemed exhausted or overwhelmed. Waited almost 25 minutes to check in. Would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded 5 weeks ago
We regret the inconvenience you faced with some elevators not functioning during your stay and are sorry for your unpleasant experience. Our goal is to provide each guest with comfortable accommodations and outstanding service, so we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We would like to have another chance to make a better impression on your next visit. Much appreciated, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
TheSalesGuy wrote a review Sep 2020
Jacksonville, Florida1,183 contributions26 helpful votes
Let me preface this review and say I am loyal Hilton Honors member who pre Covid, would stay 6-10 nights/month for business. In the world we now live in, work travel has all but gone away, however a recent trip to the NYC area flew me into EWR. A brief 2 night stay here was enough to state 4 reasons why you don't want to spend money to stay here. 1. Elevators - the bank of four elevators had only one working my entire stay. 2. Lack of Honors acknowledgement - This place was probably 25 to 30% capacity, and the two front desk workers spent more time gossiping about something they saw on Instagram that morning than acknowledge a Diamond member checking in. 3. Drafty rooms - the A/C has essentially two functions, cold and off. The rooms have definitely seen better days, and the thin walls, uncomfortable desk chairs, and slightly above average bedding makes this place forgettable. 4. Parking - I find it strange the hotel tries to monitor traffic coming in/out with a gate and ticketing system, however a large majority of travelers were using rideshare services, and many uber drivers complained of the logistics. In brief, this place would not be on my list to revisit if I had the option to stay for free. I usually have enough points to do just that, however next time, I will look elsewhere in town, or take the recommendation of a colleague and check out one of the properties in Jersey City 15 min away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Thank you for the feedback. We are saddened to hear that we dropped the ball during your time with us and for that, we apologize. Your experience isn't reflective of the quality service and accommodations we wish to provide. We know we can do better. Rest assured that we will discuss your comments with our team to ensure the A/C is working properly, that our rooms are in top-notch condition, and that we are delivering the best hospitality possible. Nevertheless, we would love another chance to give you the stay you were hoping for. Kind regards, Jung Lee | Dir. of Operations DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Jung.Lee@hilton.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton newark, sheraton hotel newark nj, newark sheraton
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyNewarkNewark Airport and Port Newark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
503
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Nearby attractions include Railroad Cigars (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tony Da Caneca Restaurant, Taste of Portugal, and Ted's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport have an airport shuttle?
Yes, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Newark Museum (2.1 miles).