We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Save
Share
128 Frontage Road, Newark, NJ 07114
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$174
View deal
Hotels.com
Only 4 left at
$174
View deal
Vio.com
$124
View deal
DoubleTree$171
Travelocity$174
travelup.com$189
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (569)
Room & Suite (208)
Dining (62)

About

#14 of 17 hotels in Newark
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.7
Value
3.5
Welcome to our newly renovated hotel, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. The hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port - just 7 miles away. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d'oeuvres (Mon - Thurs).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
2364Reviews65Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 603
  • 633
  • 457
  • 319
  • 353
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
J R wrote a review Today
DO NOT use this hotel for airport parking. Upon arrival back to EWR last night at 10:45 pm, the hotel shuttle simply was not running. When it did arrive 55 minutes after my arrival at the designated pickup point, the shuttle was inexplicably already full. Why was the shuttle full if I was waiting at the only designated pickup location? "Complimentary Airport Shuttle" is more accurately translated to "non-existent airport shuttle". This hotel's false promise of an airport shuttle cost me both money and time, and I would absolutely never recommend this place to anyone. Horribly managed transportation services, and the website is full of false advertisements about what they offer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't do long-term parking here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Helen B wrote a review Jun 2021
Forest Park, Georgia9 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Almost a year and half after the Pandemic we came to same hotel on the same floor and had the time of our life. Good place to visit. Love the food and rapport. If you are ever thinking about visiting New Jersey it is idea place to stay and close to all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Helen, it is great to hear your travels brought you back to see us again! We are glad to read that we were able to provide you with an outstanding stay once again. It means a lot that you choose to stay with us over all of the other hotels in the area. We hope to see you again soon! Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
notoftheworld wrote a review Yesterday
Sacramento, California83 contributions55 helpful votes
Am staying here as I write this. While the hotel is fine for an overnight stay to connect for next day's flight, the food offerings border of GRAND THEFT. More on that later, first the rooms. They are a little dated with smaller older flat screens TV unlike the Doubletree at Newark Penn Station which have 55" TV's. The FOOD OFFERINGS are downright THEFT. Prices are similar to a 2 star Michelin with quality of Denny's. Ordered a $22 hamburger and they charged $3 extra for onions (not even red onions). Breakfast was $19 for eggs, bacon & potatoes but no toast, That cost $5 extra. Bought a cheese danish from their coffee stand and it was $7. Pelligrino soda which cost $6/six pack full retail are $8 per can. That's mark up beyond belief. Don't mind paying reasonable mark up but.... A can of soda is $5.00. Hilton ought to be ashamed of this egregious practice!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded yesterday
Dear notoftheworld, Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad you are pleased with most aspects of your stay. However, we regret not meeting some of your expectations with the guest room and the pricing of the food and beverages. We are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience, and we appreciate you letting us know the things you would change. Everything we do aims to provide our guests with an excellent hotel experience; therefore, we are grateful for the feedback. Thank you again. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
venusinvenice wrote a review Nov 15
Venice, CA25 contributions51 helpful votes
I can’t believe some of these reviewers stayed in the same hotel at which we stayed last night! The atrium/lobby is gorgeous and comfy - which we appreciated as we waited for our room. We got there at noon for a usual 4 pm check-in because I was ill and needed to lie low. The reception staff was so helpful and we were in our room early thanks to them. The comfort of the bed and bedding actually made me feel better! The restaurant food is basic but good (and we were happy to have it on premises). The shuttle driver for our very early flight was prompt and friendly. A couple of issues that others mentioned: broken wall outlets and almost non-existent wifi. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay again and would look forward to being there when healthy next time!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded 1 week ago
Dear venusinvenice, Thank you for your honest evaluation. We are glad you were pleased with our well-kept hotel and that you had a good night's rest in our comfortable beds. We are also delighted to learn about the pleasant interactions you had with our team and that you enjoyed the breakfast we offer. However, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the power outlets, and rest assured, we will review this with our maintenance team and make sure we prevent such reoccurrences. We will also share your comments with our internet service provider regarding the issues you had with the Wi-Fi and make sure the problem is resolved immediately. Meanwhile, we hope you are doing well now, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne G wrote a review Nov 6
Longniddry, United Kingdom32 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed a night on Oct 29th 2022. I found the room quite shabby especially the bathroom. It had broken floor tiles, dirty grout and the bath seal was all broken. The hot drink machine in the room was suitable for coffee but not tea even though they provided a tea bag ! Only coffee mate no milk ! Did call reception but was told quite rudely “we don't supply milk” There was a machine in the hallway to buy canned drinks but as we were at the end of our holiday we had no cash Shame it didn’t except card payment. I went for a swim in the pool to find it was very dirty. Black dirt around the tiles, and a couple of steps missing on the ladder. The toilets of the lobby were also needing some refurbishment work done. We also had dinner, breakfast and lunch . The staff were not attentive and the food was not hot.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear yvonneg544, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are genuinely sorry for the disappointing experience you had with us and apologize for the concerns you had with the guest room. We will address this with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure we are more diligent in our processes going forward. We will also share your comments with our team regarding the service issues you encountered, and rest assured, we will take steps to elevate our service levels. Meanwhile, we will review your feedback with our food and beverages team regarding your experience at our restaurant, and rest assured, we will take steps to enhance our guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay with us outstanding in every respect. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WildaWhite wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
This is a poorly maintained hotel in the Hilton Hotel family of hotels. Three different outlets in my room were inoperable. The HVAC system blew cold air on me to the point that I turned off the heat. The hotel itself was so cold I wore a down parka and jacket throughout my stay for a four-day conference. The sheets were so rough I could not fall asleep. The internet service was so inconsistent to effectively be non-existent. The property could use a major remodeling or more consistent upkeep.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear IldaWhite, Thank you for choosing our hotel on your recent visit to the area and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We regret your disappointment with your room, and we appreciate your patience. We are also sorry for the maintenance issues you faced during your stay, and we have discussed your concerns with our maintenance team to ensure such events are not repeated. We value your feedback and have taken note of your comments. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and accommodations. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Montana wrote a review Oct 2022
Hollywood, Florida4 contributions
Upon arrival I was greet by an extremely friendly, smiley host with a warm cookie and I think her was Nivil , self checking was wonderful, hotel is beautiful, Foods was a little pricey, shuttle bus driver from hotel to airport was extremely violent, he screamed at another car in front in his own language I think it was Arabic not sure. Over all compared to the last couple Hilton that I did stayed way much better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Make sure get a room with the bed far away from the air conditioner or shut it off because that...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Timothymtran, Thank you for being our guest at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport and for your loyalty to our brand. We are glad you were pleased with the attentive and courteous service our front desk associate delivered, and it will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with Nivil. However, we regret your disappointment with the price of food and apologize for the experience you had with our shuttle service. We will review this with the appropriate individuals and take the necessary actions to ensure we are more consistent in our service delivery. Thank you again, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a stellar stay throughout. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ayshea H wrote a review Oct 2022
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom3 contributions7 helpful votes
Horrific!!! My husband and stayed overnight 01/10/22 as part of a Royal Caribbean cruise. We didn't even get a welcome never mind the expected welcome package. We checked out at 9.45am the next morning to await our prepaid transfer to the port. We informed both receptionists of our plans and asked if we could wait in reception. Which I will point out was in full view of them. At 11.15am my husband and I were still waiting so asked the receptionists for assistance both ladies did not even try to help. But to make matters worse the one called LOURDES went on to say that the gentleman that came into reception earlier with a board and the name Sedan was actually looking for us and she sent him to our room! On asking her why she would do that knowing who we were and where we were sitting and what we were waiting for, she smirked at me!!! I have never experienced such arrogance and certainly would never stay in a Hilton hotel again!!! Plus the rooms were shabby!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded Oct 18, 2022
Dear aysheah2013, First of all, we apologize for the behavior of our associate and thank you for informing us of this incident. We understand your disappointment, and your feedback will be reviewed with our team to see what transpired. Rest assured, we will take the necessary actions to elevate our service levels. We appreciate your business and would welcome the opportunity to restore a favorable impression of our hotel in the future. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lassepil wrote a review Oct 2022
Aarhus4 contributions
I can live with the down rooms - but had to stand +30 minutes in que to check in after having travelled all night. Its not really that close to the airport (2.5km), would look elsewhere if you also want to get your room quickly after arriving. Shame on you Hilton
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Dear lassepil, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize that your room was not ready upon your arrival and for any frustration and inconvenience this caused. In times of high occupancy, slight delays may occur, although we do everything possible to keep this from happening. We are grateful for your patience and also your constructive feedback. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance so we can prove this is not typical of our service. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph P wrote a review Oct 2022
San Francisco, California14 contributions2 helpful votes
From the minute I checked in till I checked out, it really seemed like the front desk staff acted like I was interrupting their chats with each other. Passive aggressive behavior is what I would call it. They would verbally acknowledge I was in front of them but that is about it. First they said my room was paid prior to arrival and that’s was true. Then they said parking was covered and handed me a key to go in and out. No dice on the parking. After speaking with the manager is is apparent that we pay for parking. Ok, but that’s not his underlings said. Upon checkout it showed a much higher balance due that it should have and I asked about the prior payment that I could prove was paid. The lady at the front desk shrugged and said it was not showing on her side. I told her I have the receipt and also when I checked in it’s was acknowledged. Shrug again and said I should call accounting. These were the two big fails this trip. Minor fails. NO COOKIE offered as doubletree are famous for, and every trip to ask a question at the front desk it seemed like I was interrupting whatever was happening on their phones or their personal conversations with each other. High price, bad service and nonchalant attitudes. Conrad Hilton would be spinning in his grave. Wise up doubletree Newark. Pandemic is over and folks have money to spend, but only on great service with value.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go elsewhere. The staff here is busy yapping with each other.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Dear 944josephp, Thank you for the review regarding your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for our associates not being attentive to your needs and for not providing you with the service you deserved. We have shared your observations with the front desk team to ensure this is not repeated. We truly appreciate your patience for all the inconveniences you experienced while here and hope you give us another chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Kindest Regards, Jeff Fowlkes, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton newark, sheraton hotel newark nj, newark sheraton
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyNewarkNewark Airport and Port Newark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
503
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON HOTEL NEWARK AIRPORT $120 ($̶2̶1̶9̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - NJ

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Nearby attractions include Railroad Cigars (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste of Portugal, Tony Da Caneca Restaurant, and City Rub Smokehouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport have an airport shuttle?
Yes, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport have airport transportation?
Yes, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.