We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Downtown

Traveler (136)
Room & Suite (74)
Dining (13)

About

#2 of 18 hotels in Newark
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Courtyard by Marriott Newark Downtown boasts an innovative design, modern amenities, and thoughtful services. As one of the top downtown Newark, New Jersey hotels, guests will feel welcomed in our modern lobby and new guest rooms, providing greater flexibility and more choices. Unique among other hotels in downtown Newark, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) - serves fresh, café-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and evening cocktail service. Guests can also take advantage of our multifunctional lobby with communal table for meeting with friends and colleagues, business center with free printing services, and complimentary high-speed Internet. As an added feature, further differentiating us from other downtown Newark hotels, our interactive GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. Discover our ideal setting near Prudential Center, Newark Penn Station, New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Red Bull Arena, Rutgers and NJIT.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Airport transportation
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Internet
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
99Great for walkers
Grade: 99 out of 100
75Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
371Reviews
19Q+A
90Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 125
  • 162
  • 57
  • 20
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Good comfortable beds. Very clean and spotless bathroom. Good security and friendly staff. It is a little expensive and everything is ala carte which adds up to a lot of money. The breakfast was very good but it cost $20.
Read more
The hotel was great but it had one major flaw......the outdated AC unit. Let's start with the good stuff first. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, great location, loved the room bathroom. Now, not to say that the AC didn't work properly, it keep the room cool. Its just that it is a old in-room unit (mine was sitting on some type of huge stand as if it used to be installed in the window and they pulled it inside) - avoid room 327. It was very noisy, ugly and noisy (yes a repeat). It was difficult to take a nap or relax and watch tv, sleep was really an issue. This hotel works in a pinch and if you are a heavy sleeper then it will be excellent. I bit pricey, but reasonable.
Read more
Response from Howard_Sjr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Downtown
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear lamont N, Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will have my maintenance team take a look at that a/c unit to make sure it’s working properly. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.
Read more
I checked in on the app so arrival check in was quick. Room was clean and a descent size. Bed amazingly comfortable. Bathroom was clean and I liked the separate shower/toilet area. Shuttle to airport was on time and friendly.
Read more
Response from Howard_Sjr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Downtown
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Donna E, Thank you so much for your review! We hope that when your travels bring you back to the area you can spend more time with us.
Read more
So my friend and I had a hotel booked for a 4 day and 3 night weekend. We got there at about past 10 PM, and after 45 minutes to an hour later of waiting to check-in, we got to the front desk to be told that our room was CANCELLED! I wasted my time waiting in that line when I could've been looking for another room for the night. Fortunately, I checked online and Courtyard Marriott had a room and I could check-in late after a 9 hour drive to NY really late at night (as in 2 AM). I wanna give a shout-out to Jonathon and Nicole, my heroes. The BEST people in the world right now. They were so kind and wonderful and patient and saved my life. If they didn't help us, my friend and I would probably have to stay the night in NJ in her car. LOVE YOU GUYS <3
Read more
Response from Howard_Sjr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Downtown
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear xoangiemendezxo, Thank you for your review. I am so glad glad we were able to help you and your friend. Being able to help someone is the main focus of our business. I will certainly pass along your comments to both Nicole and Jonathan. Thank you for recognizing their efforts. We hope to see you again soon and under better circumstances.
Read more
My sister and I stayed overnight for a concert. We drove in and arrived a bit early, but they were able to check us into the hotel right away. The parking garage behind the hotel was easy to locate and is connected to both the Prudential Center where which was where our event was taking place and the hotel so we never had to step outside. We grabbed dinner from their bistro which was better than expected; you can eat in their dining area in the lobby or bring the food up to our hotel room which is what we opted for. The room itself was rather spacious; it was clean and was more than suitable for a one night stay. Lastly, but most importantly, the check-in/check-out staff as well as the bistro staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient which is always appreciated and always elevates your overall experience.
Read more
Response from Cherie F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Downtown
Responded Apr 30, 2019
Dear "Short Stay" , Thank you for staying with us. We take pride in the convenience of being centralized in the area of Downtown Newark. The proximity of the Prudential is great for our concert goers and our sports fans that choose to stay at the Newark Downtown Courtyard. We appreciate your comments and hope that you return to the hotel, if your travels bring you back to the Newark area.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyNewarkNewark Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing