We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George

Save
Share
37 N Mountain Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042-2317
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$278
Expedia.com$278
CheapTickets$278
Orbitz.com$278
Travelocity$278
Hurb$278
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (33)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
52Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 31
  • 9
  • 4
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
sueRN wrote a review Mar 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona186 contributions71 helpful votes
The George is a lovely inn and provides a charming alternative to a more routine hotel atmosphere - charming in regard to the overall look that manages to combine the elegance of a British inn with the charm of a stateside B&B. However, due to the current pandemic, while the rates remain on the high end, the amenities that generally accompany a B&B are currently not provided, a fact that the establishment makes known at booking. While we were told there are espresso makers in the rooms - that could be characterized by ours as snug at best - these were unaccompanied by any embellishments to take off the rather bitter flavor of this unique morning beverage. Additionally, the coffee maker we were told was available for use by guests in the basement dining area was also a more unusual design that did not have instructions; had it not been for another guest that had demonstrated it one morning I'd have been at a loss as to how to program it. The next two mornings when I was better prepared, it was unavailable as the room had been set up for a wedding. Fortunately, there was a clerk at reception who offered to brew a cup in the back office for me. What would truly be helpful is - as another guest suggested - is to have a local coffee shop engaged to deliver or set up some ready to serve items, or barring that, have directions and hours of local establishments within easy walking distance. We learned of one which we went to one morning only to find it was closed on Tuesdays upon arriving there. Aside from these issues, most staff were very friendly and helpful - especially Erica who was especially outgoing to our granddaughter, the main reason for our trip in the first place!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
David W wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
First off, this is an overall nice boutique inn, tastefully restored and decorated, good bedding and very nice staff. But there were some irksome kinks. As other reviewers have noted, due to Covid, both the breakfast service and wine hour are suspended. But really, if we can take the risk and be socially responsible to stay at the inn, they can't even have a muffin out individually wrapped or delivered to our room, they can't pour us a glass of wine? And even getting coffee in the morning was cumbersome. The Nespresso machine in the room produced about 3 drops of liquid despite diligently following the directions on multiple attempts and the coffee pot in the breakfast area was tiny and usually empty. Plus, being affiliated with Bobbie Brown, my wife had anticipated awesome products in the room and was shocked to find not even any face wash of any brand just hand soap. On our first day I informed the person at the front desk that the tablet in our room was broken and the safe did not work, likely just needing new batteries. Neither of these issues were addressed during our 3 night stay. Plus, inexplicably, on our 2nd full day, despite us being out of the room over 12 hours, our room was not made and we had to fetch towels late that night upon our return (yes, they were providing housekeeping service during the pandemic). At over $300 a night, these items were annoying and disappointing. They need to do better to earn repeat business, even in the pandemic.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NYCTravelerOR wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York6 contributions4 helpful votes
This is my first ever two star review. I generally only write five star reviews or no review at all, but this is an expensive hotel and travelers should be made aware that many of the amenities are unavailable. We were very excited to stay at The George after sheltering in place for many months. The library, breakfast, Peloton bike, candy closet and four-star service that was advertised were not made available to us during our stay. The hotel has impeccable design, although from other reviews it sounds like you can get in trouble for taking photos unless you pay them a fee. The room itself is very nice, large and has an amazingly comfortable king size bed. The shower is fantastic. However, there is no breakfast service and the library is closed due to the pandemic. We are currently staying at another hotel where their common areas and breakfast are still available with mask and social distance protocols, so it can still be done safely. It seems like the hotel is cutting corners, charging the same rates, but using the pandemic as an excuse. At minimum, a drop off breakfast option could be made available. I made a reservation for the gym before the stay but was advised that there might be a standing appointment at that time (the front desk person was not sure), and I should pick another time, but she was not sure what other times were available. There is a tablet in the room with really cool hotel information and service options, like requesting a toothbrush / toothpaste kit. I requested one. It never arrived. The hotel during our stay was very empty and it is understandable that perhaps it doesn't make sense to offer some of these amenities, but comparable alternatives should be made and please do not feature photos of the library without stating that guests are not allowed. We had our 9 year-old with us and it was disappointing that the candy closet was also unavailable. The dining room was open for coffee and there is a nice tea selection.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: do not stay on the main floor due to noise from check ins
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amber Brosius, Agency / Consultant at The George
Responded Feb 5, 2021
Dear NYCTravelerOR, Thank you so much for taking the time to relate your experience here at THE GEORGE. We are so sorry to hear that your stay was lacking. As you mentioned, we paused some offerings to maintain heightened safety for our guests and staff alike. We appreciate that you shared your takeaways. We cannot wait to resume these services, and hope to welcome you again when they are back in motion. Sincerely, The George Staff
Read more
Kara H wrote a review Dec 2020
Massachusetts158 contributions61 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here with our dog to attend a funeral in November for one night. I was excited to see a hotel with great amenities that allowed for dogs. The room was clean and the space nice. However when we arrived the check in process was poor. I had to wait for 15 minutes before the decision was made that they would just let us in the room until they could figure out the key...which meant leaving our room unlocked. After settling in we realized our room was near the access of all the staff and it was loud. I paid for a room that I thought was going to have a fireplace and it did not. Honestly, after driving down and dealing with getting into the room I didn't want to deal with changing rooms. The whole point for staying overnight was to make our experience easier...it was not. Then to say the response to our complaints afterwards were dismal is an understatement. In closing, this hotel is in a great area with great amenities on the surface. It has a lot of potential...but management needs to improve for it to live up to it's potential.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Amber Brosius, Agency / Consultant at The George
Responded Feb 5, 2021
Hi Karadh2019, Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. Once again, I sincerely apologize that you were unable to have a pleasant sleep at THE GEORGE. We have taken the appropriate measures to ensure that these issues do not reoccur. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to THE GEORGE in the future. Sincerely, The George Staff
Read more
Oriona D wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Long over due review.. I stayed at The George back In May for 2 weeks in the height of the pandemic. I had offered my home to a family member who was essential and needing a place to stay. I was working from home so it’d be an easy transition for me. I called numerous hotels, asking all of the questions as far as the precautions they were taking during this time and obviously the accommodations they could make for someone who needed wifi access and ability to work out of a hotel room. After speaking with 3 different hotels in the area, I finally got Ariana from The George. She took the time to answer every single question I had.. and I had a lot! Went thru all the precautionary measures the hotel was taking in order to keep other guests and the staff safe and healthy. She answered and addressed all of my concerns as far as work was concerned and made me feel at ease with staying somewhere outside of my own home at this time. I checked in on a Sunday to a standard queen room and forgive me, I do not remember the “name” of that room. Also such a nice touch to a hotel its a cute little quirk that makes you feel like you’re staying somewhere that someone actually cares about your experience instead of being a number on a door! I loved this and this sentiment was also shown tremendously by the staff. Upon arrival, I was greeted by Franz who showed me to my room. Unfortunately when I spoke to Ariana I forgot to mention that my work from home situation included 2 monitors, a printer and a desktop computer. Franz assisted me with everything. While wearing both a mask and gloves the entire time! Unfortunately when I got to the room, I realized what I booked would not accommodate me and my set up. Completely my fault as most people use lap tops and work paperlessly. Franz was quick to get on the phone with Ariana and make new arrangements. The next morning Ariana met me at 7am to move all of my belongings to a larger room The Ed which had a desk and could accommodate my work space. She also wearing a mask and gloves the entire time while assisting me. She had me moved and set up by 7:30 in time for my first zoom meeting. Later that day Ariana called and explained that they’d be waiving the higher room rate, typically they have open a common space for guests to use which would’ve been ideal to work from but due to covid all common spaces had to be closed. Overall my two weeks there was great. Someone was easily accessible 24 hours a day to help with anything I needed. I left feeling like I had made new friends with the amazing staff and had no worries the entire time about the health and safety inside the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Amber Brosius, Agency / Consultant at The George
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at THE GEORGE. We are thankful we could accommodate your requests for a desk and work space so you could work comfortably from your hotel suite. It sounds like Franz and Ariana did a great job to make you feel right at home. We take the safety of our guests and staff very seriously and make sure all rooms and common spaces are sprayed daily before housekeeping cleans thank you for recognizing this. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
georgian hotel montclair
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Georgian Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyMontclair
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George
Which popular attractions are close to The George?
Nearby attractions include Last Minute Escape (0.6 miles), Van Vleck House & Gardens (0.2 miles), and Montclair Art Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some restaurants close to The George?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mishmish Cafe, Mesob Ethiopian Restaurant, and Raymond's.
Is The George located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Montclair.
Are there any historical sites close to The George?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Thomas Edison National Historical Park (2.7 miles) and Historical Society of Bloomfield (2.1 miles).