We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bungalow Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
50 Laird Street, Long Branch, NJ 07740
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bungalow Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We stayed for NYE and absolutely loved the hotel. The staff is super friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. The only complaint is the noise - every sound can be heard through the thin walls, especially the footsteps above us. We would definitely stay again, but only if we can stay on the top floor.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, A belated Happy New Year, thank you for staying with us on New Year's Eve. Time flies! Normally we are quiet but because of the big celebrations we had a few late night revellers. Of course we can put you on the top floor on your next stay if you prefer. Best regards, Julian More 

Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

This was our second stay at the Bungalow Hotel and we love it! It was a spur of the moment decision as we are having seasonably warm temps and we wanted to be near the beach. Our room was very large, had an open tub area in between the bathroom and bedroom with a funky chandelier over the tub. A... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sue k
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for staying with us and posting your Great review! We certainly try very hard to be as accommodating as possible. Best regards, Julian More 

Bethesda
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

The amenities within the room (e.g., sofa, chairs, table and shower head) were too modern and even uncomfortable, but the room was very bright and clean and the hotel staff was very quick and pleasant in responding to our various requests for assistance (extra towels, how to work the TV, and late checkout). Moreover, the free pool table and foosball... More 

Helpful?
Thank Panacea_Food
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and your nice review. We have a great team here and are all her to serve You, the Guest, Home Away from Home, what Hotels are all supposed to be about. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and Thank you Best regards, Julian More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

I had to post because I am so sad to see this place get anything but 5 star reviews! This past summer, life prevented us from booking our annual august trip to long branch and staying at the Bungalow. The previous years our stay was wonderful. Rooms are great, staff is amazing. It's a special place - it's an escape... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZoeViva
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Zoe, We are missing you, Whats Up? Come back soon. The Hotel certainly has a great Fall atmosphere at the moment, fireplace crackling outside, warming cocktails. Best Julian More 

Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Bungalow for an overnight getaway to celebrate our anniversary in the fall. The room was quite large and spacious, bright and welcoming. I’m a fanatic about a clean room and this room was spotless. The gas fireplace added a romantic touch and the bed was very comfortable. We loved the bath and shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeanienjoeg
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeanienjoeg, Thank you for staying and your glowing review, what a great way to start the day! Yes the white walls and white wooden floors are a housekeepers nightmare but they do a good job. The fireplaces make up for the lack of sunshine, its a cosy time of year and has its own charms. Looking forward to welcoming... More 

Bethlehem PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

My partner and I stayed at the Bungalow for a quick one-night getaway in the fall, and my impression (like previous guests') is, overall, pretty good. The positives: the rooms are truly generous in size and appealingly decorated, with plenty of places to sit and relax, the gas fireplaces are great, and the beds are quite comfy. Additionally, the complimentary... More 

Helpful?
Thank christianneanastasia
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christianne, Thank you for staying with us and I am happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, Thank you also for writing your positive review. I am sorry about your noisy neighbours, next time please let us know and we will be happy to ask them to keep the noise down. Hope to see you soon Best... More 

Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

The hotel was very modern with a very cool look. The rooms have gas fireplaces that make the rooms more then just a hotel room. The decorating is very modern. The downside is no ocean view but the fireplace almost made up for it. The people are nice. They have a small bar that was fun. Indoor parking. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frob60
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your happy review. When the wind strikes up, it blows! I am sorry about the pipe, if you could please contact me directly on julian@bungalowhotel.net and let me know which room you were in and I will clamp up on the roof to check it out Best regards Julian More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

The staff were friendly and helpfull to a couple of Aussies who just happened to wander in. They gave us plenty of advice from where to visit to welcome drinks and a discount for a fabulous restaraunt right on the sea front . If I ever get back to the area it will be my first point of call. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 188jim
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review. This is what it is all about, it must be an emotional stay. Where we are able to connect with you as a friend and look after you. Looking forward to welcoming you back home. Best regards Julian More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

To start off on a positive note, the Bungalow is beautifully decorated and very clean. However, understaffed would be an understatement for this hotel. The staff that they do have aren't very welcoming nor are they accommodating. Way overpriced for the type of treatment I wouldn't expect from even a roadside motel.

Helpful?
Thank FUNinSUN927
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for staying and I am glad that you found the Hotel very clean and loved the Decor. I am sorry that we did not win you over with our service. If you would like to contact me directly to be more specific I will be able to address the issue. We are so small that it... More 

Apollo, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

The Bungalow prides itself on being a "boutique" hotel. Their intended meaning is quite obviously to be the exclusive producer of their type of hotel. It's bright and modern. The rooms have interesting designs and themes. As is often the case, however, hip, groovy, modern rooms and furniture basically eliminate comfort. So much effort is put into the uniqueness, relatively... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChadlyMC
Julian P, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chadly, Thank you for staying and posting your review. I am sorry that I did not get the chance to meet you, I am very traditionally trained, but just love the contemporary spacious, clear feeling of The Bungalow. Only having 24 rooms, its all about the guests. We have partnered with the numerous restaurants in Pier Village to offer... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
5.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cedars & Beeches
Cedars & Beeches
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oyster Point Hotel
Oyster Point Hotel
#1 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
5.9 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#1 of 5 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay