We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
60 S 31st St, Kenilworth, NJ 07033-1302
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!For the best rate, book directly!
Expedia.com
$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/01/22
Booking.com
$179
View deal
Trip.com
$175
View deal
Hotels.com$179
Travelocity$179
travelup.com$247
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (163)
Room & Suite (13)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Kenilworth Hotel
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
The Kenilworth is a beautifully designed boutique hotel set in Northern New Jersey, just a short distance to the action in New York City and close to Newark International airport. The Kenilworth's exceptional service, affordable rates, and convenient location make our hotel the perfect spot for business, vacations and special events. Complimentary WiFi and shuttle to Newark Airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Filipino and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:For the best rate, book directly!

Location

Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
65Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1083Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 570
  • 277
  • 108
  • 67
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Debbie B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the Kenilworth Inn / Hotel for a friends wedding! They were amazing, had shuttle service to and from airport, checked us in early with no extra charge. The staff was awesome so helpful with everything from ordering food, Lyft service, directions and accommodating us with paper plates, cups, silverware. They have a little bar, meeting rooms. Hotel was very clean and they cleaned our room every day gave us fresh towels and anything we needed. We will definitely stay here again snd it’s only 30 mins to New York City.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the PERFECT SCORE review! It is fantastic to hear that your friend chose her hospitality on the most important day of her life. We hope you had a great time at your friend’s wedding. We are happy to learn that you loved the shuttle service during your stay. Thank you so much for appreciating our hardworking staff. Our team is the hotel’s backbone and they strive to make sure that every guest has a great experience; comments such as yours that are a testament to their hard work. We take cleaning protocols very seriously strictly for the well-being of our beloved guests-- Housekeeping thanks you for your appreciation. Lastly, thanks for noting our great location! We can't wait to have you back for another pleasant stay with us on your next visit to New Jersey. Best Regards, The Kenilworth Management P.S. For amazing offers and the best prices on our accommodations, book directly on our website: kenilworthinn.com.
Read more
Andres72423 wrote a review Aug 2021
Bridgeport, Connecticut2710 contributions332 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Decided to stay here for one night. We have early morning flights at Newark Airport and we just did not want to have to get up so early to travel to the airport. We checked in and parked our vehicle in the park and fly section of their parking lot. It odds super convenient and not too expensive. It feels good to be able to settle in and take a shower and get some rest before or early morning flight. The hotel is super clean and quiet. The rooms are very spacious and the bed is super comfortable. It is located right off the highway. The staff was very nice and helpful. I will definitely use this place again when I travel out of Newark.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Great place to get some rest before a flight.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We hope you had safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Robert D wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
Nice clean room and friendly staff. Had a little issue with the night clerk when I got in late, but we got things resolved. Day clerk Abria was awesome and really made my stay....a big shout out to her, she should get a raise. : )
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Apr 15, 2022
Dear Robert, We are excited to hear positive comments about our property from our valued guests. We are glad that you had a great stay in our clean guest rooms. Our entire team works hard to deliver clean rooms, offer exceptional customer service, and ensure our guests have a delightful stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff members could provide you with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We are so pleased to hear that you liked our hospitality, especially the services provided to you by Arbia. We would definitely pass on your warm regards to her. We ensure that we will take your kind suggestions regarding the hard work of our staff members. We are looking forward to seeing you again in New Jersey! Best Regards, The Kenilworth Management P.S. Next time, book directly at kenilworthinn.com and save!
Read more
Sindey wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions4 helpful votes
So friendly and above and beyond nice!! The baby was hungry and crying while we drove on the garden state parkway. We stopped in and asked if we could have hot water for the bottle. Not only did they offer us fresh hot water but they gave a private meeting room for us to sit and feed the baby in! Wow! What great customer service! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Dear Guest, Wow!!! Thank you so much for writing us a PERFECT SCORE REVIEW!!! It is an honor to read such kind words about our hospitality from loving guests like you. Our friendly and supportive staff works hard to provide a warm environment to everyone. We are glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable warm visit to the hotel. It is delightful to learn that all your needs were met through our kind staff. We will definitely pass your heartfelt gratitude to the staff members. We can't wait to have you back for another pleasant stay with us on your next visit to New Jersey. Best Regards, The Kenilworth Management P.S Always remember to book your stay directly at kenilworthinn.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
L K wrote a review Apr 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution
I cannot believe that when I was checking in, I was informed that they will be taking $100 as a down payment in case I damage the room. The person made it sound as if this was a normal thing to do. I was too tired to refuse so I allowed them to charge my credit card an extra $100. They said it would be refunded if I don't damage the room but really, I have never in my life had this happen to me. I certainly hope my card isn't charged but that is not the point. I can't believe it is legal to do this.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Room Tip: Check beforehand about this additional charge.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear Guest, We are disappointed to learn that your stay with us was not up to par. Please know that Incidentals which is also known as security deposit are standard worldwide at all reputable hotels. Please reach out to us with more information if you believe you have been wrongly charged and we will make sure to make any necessary adjustments to your bill. Furthermore, we have listed the mandatory charges a guest must submit during the check-in process on our website. We would humbly request you to have a look at our website in case of avoiding any misunderstanding. We sincerely apologize if this small necessity has caused you some inconvenience. We assure you that we will improve our service the next time you stay with us. Sincerely, The Kenilworth Management
Read more
Freedom31474925828 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
We booked a block of 9 rooms for a family funeral. Interaction with the group sales representative was fine although it was not a smooth process and I had to sign two forms twice. The price we paid was a premium price and I felt that the hotel was taking advantage of our situation ($3200 for 9 rooms for two nights). The communication between the group sales and the front desk was very bad. For example, several hours after signing the contract, I called to make a reservation under the group name and they had no record of that group. Problems with the front desk staff continued for the entire trip. The worst was at check-out. I had asked if one of the 9 rooms could have a late checkout for one extra hour. In spite of paying over $3000, the front desk person immediately said no, and she did it in a very unprofessional manner with an aggressive attitude. Work needs to be done on training the front desk staff in appropriate customer service. It was very bad and rather than delighting the customer and encouraging me to come back, it angered me, left a bad taste, and made me resolve to never come to The Kenilworth again. We found the rest of the staff to be friendly. The cleaning staff was good. However, the last morning, we heard them in the hall at 8:00 am with their carts and eager to clean the rooms. The rooms themselves were fairly nice and had been newly redecorated. Most of the redecorating work was well done, but the lighting in the room was difficult with no light in the desk area, and harsh lights at bedside. The lighting in the bathroom was excellent. I will guess that the hotel will not care about a bad review and will not respond. I hope that is not the case, but l suspect that I will not hear from them again. I certainly will not book a room there again, and will indicate such to my family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! Firstly, We are sorry for your loss. We are disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean and comfortable stay thus saddened that we could not serve you to our usual high standard. We apologize for not providing you with a better visit. We are disappointed to learn that your experience with us was not up to the mark, and we will make sure to improve upon all of your suggestions. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, The Kenilworth Management
Read more
Foodshldbefood wrote a review Mar 2022
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania78 contributions34 helpful votes
How The Kenilworth is presented online and the reality of The Kenilworth are two different things. The hotel may once have qualified as a "luxury boutique hotel," but now it is far too dated to warrant that description. The airport shuttle runs only part-time -- from 11 p.m . to 6 a.m., we were told when we arrived. At other times, the hotel uses (& pays for) Uber or Lyft drivers. If you choose hotels with airport shuttles because you prefer safe, reliable drivers; predictable schedules; and easily identifiable hotel vans, do not choose the Kenilworth. I asked where in Newark Airport we should go for our return pickup and was told that that would depend, and the desk would "talk us through it" when we called. Our return flight ended up being delayed and, with a 90-minute drive home still awaiting us, we opted to take a taxi back to the hotel to make our lives easier and save time. Finally, "some of New Jersey's best microbrewed beers" that were supposedly available in the hotel lounge ended up being 3 types of light beer plus Heineken available at the front desk. The upside of The Kenilworth? We missed the even crazier traffic closer to the airport and had a simpler/easier drive to and from Route 78. Not sure how much if any of what we experienced was due to COVID, but we are unlikely to stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear Guest, I sincerely apologize for your stay at The Kenilworth. I'm devastated to learn that our team fell short of our goal of providing exceptional hospitality to every guest. We go to great lengths to ensure that our guests have a pleasant stay. Unfortunately, our efforts appear to be lacking in several areas. We value your feedback and are working to improve our overall experience. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, The Kenilworth Management
Read more
dustythoughts wrote a review Jan 2022
Manchester, Connecticut1556 contributions929 helpful votes
I stayed here overnight while in the area for work, and was impressed with my overall stay. The decor was modern without being overwhelming, the staff were friendly and polite, and everything is clean and well-maintained. My bed was very soft, leading to a very good night's sleep, and the room overall was spacious. There's free parking available. A couple of notes: the heater was a bit noisy at times, and the elevator was a bit hidden away behind the stairs. Even so, it was a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Jan 11, 2022
Dear Guest, Yippee! Thank you so much for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW. We are delighted to learn that you had a lovely stay with us at The Kenilworth. We are so glad that you loved our clean and well-maintained hotel property. We are also happy that you loved our hotel’s modern decor, spacious guest room, and comfortable bed. We value your feedback and will use it to improve ourselves. Our staff are honored with your kind words. Happy guests are our focus and positive reviews encourage us. Thank you once again for staying with us. We would love to host you again. Kind Regards, The Kenilworth Management P.S. Remember to book your stay at kenilworthinn.com where you will always find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
adrennan91 wrote a review Nov 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was in town for a short trip to visit Paper Mill Playhouse for a theatre show, and the Kenilworth was the perfect place to stay. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and that we had the best possible stay while we were there. From an early check-in to help arranging an unexpected departure in the middle of the night, the front desk staff was absolutely amazing and very, very helpful!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Nov 4, 2021
Dear Adrennan, Double High Five!! Thank you very much for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW! We are thrilled that you loved your stay at our hotel. We are glad that you loved our clean and comfortable guest room. We are also grateful that you appreciate our friendly staff and customer service. Our staff is happy to receive your appreciation. We would love to host you when you come back to the area. Thank you for staying with us. Please recommend us to your friends and family. Kind Regards, The Kenilworth Management P.S. Remember to book your stay at kenilworthinn.com where you will always find the lowest rates.
Read more
twengel wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at The Kenilworth the night before our trip to Mexico flying out of Newark. This is a safe place to leave your car during your vacation. Staff is so friendly and helpful. If you need to print travel documents it's no problem. The self serve printer was not working during our stay but the staff were more than willing to print my stuff from the front desk. The shuttle to and from the airport was great and super fast no waiting at all. The Kenilworth Diner is near by and absolutely delicious and cheap!!! Don't hesitate...book this hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Nov 1, 2021
Dear Twengel, High five! Fist Bump, Too. Thank you for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW. Your kind words mean a lot to our staff. We are happy that you had a great stay. We're also glad you like our secure parking area, helpful front desk staff, and airport shuttle. We're thrilled you liked the meal at The Kenilworth dinner. We appreciate that you recommended us to other travelers. We would love to host you again. Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Kind Regards, The Kenilworth Management P.S. Remember to book your stay at kenilworthinn.com where you will always find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kenilworth hotel kenilworth, kenilworth inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyKenilworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kenilworth Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kenilworth Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Campagnola, Boulevard Five72, and Kenilworth Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Kenilworth Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Kenilworth Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Kenilworth Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Kenilworth.
Does The Kenilworth Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Kenilworth Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Hindi, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kenilworth Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Harmony Meditation (4.0 miles).