The Kenilworth Hotel

The Kenilworth Hotel

Traveler (173)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (102)
The Kenilworth Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

$146
Get rewarded with One Key
$161
Easy and fast booking
Only 1 left at
$129
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Kenilworth
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
The Kenilworth is a beautifully designed boutique hotel set in Northern New Jersey, just a short distance to the action in New York City and close to Newark International airport. The Kenilworth's exceptional service, affordable rates, and convenient location make our hotel the perfect spot for business, vacations and special events. Complimentary WiFi and shuttle to Newark Airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Filipino and 1 more

Location

60 S 31st St, Kenilworth, NJ 07033-1302
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Newark Liberty Intl Airport
Morristown Municipal Airport
1 Attraction
within 0.75 miles
1,106Review28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 581
  • 283
  • 109
  • 68
  • 65
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kay S wrote a review Jan 2023
Saratoga Springs, New York17 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Kenilworth Inn is our favorite way to Sleep & Park at Newark Airport (EWR).
Rooms are clean, staff is pleasant, big grocery store & Starbucks a half block, plus local restaurants. Our car is safe too.
On both ends of our latest trip, there was a big party going on, but our room was quiet and dark.
Bob the shuttle driver waited for over an hour for us to emerge from P4 - and he was still cheerful! (United Airlines took an hour to get our bags to the carousel) Be sure to call the hotel and let them know when you are running late.
Yes, the king room with sofa is a little tight, but worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Jan 24, 2023
Dear Schlemkay, Thank you so much for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW!   Our friendly and supportive staff works hard to keep the guest rooms clean, convenient, and comfortable. Thanks for noting our great location--it is definitely something that sets our hotel apart from the competition. We are so happy to hear you had a relaxing stay in our quiet hotel.  Come back and see us soon on your next visit to Kenilworth. Until then, take care!   Kind Regards, The Kenilworth Management P.S. For amazing offers and the best rates on our accommodations, book directly on our website: kenilworthinn.com.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark C wrote a review Jan 2020
Parkton, North Carolina33 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was in the area on business and was looking for a place that was close by and out of the major hustle and bustle of the area. The Kenilworth Hotel fit the bill perfectly. The room was well-appointed for relaxation after some long days at work. And even though I was placed near an exit, there was no major disruption or noise. This was a great place to stay, and even in cold weather within reasonable walking distance of eateries and stores for necessities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Discover32287694172, Director Of Operations at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear Mark C: We would like to extend to you our heartfelt appreciation for choosing The Kenilworth for your accommodation needs and are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our Team takes great pride in our Hotel and work to make sure our Guests enjoy themselves every time they visit with us. We are glad you were able to make the most of your stay and look forward to serving you once again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Freedom31474925828 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a block of 9 rooms for a family funeral. Interaction with the group sales representative was fine although it was not a smooth process and I had to sign two forms twice. The price we paid was a premium price and I felt that the hotel was taking advantage of our situation ($3200 for 9 rooms for two nights). The communication between the group sales and the front desk was very bad. For example, several hours after signing the contract, I called to make a reservation under the group name and they had no record of that group. Problems with the front desk staff continued for the entire trip. The worst was at check-out. I had asked if one of the 9 rooms could have a late checkout for one extra hour. In spite of paying over $3000, the front desk person immediately said no, and she did it in a very unprofessional manner with an aggressive attitude. Work needs to be done on training the front desk staff in appropriate customer service. It was very bad and rather than delighting the customer and encouraging me to come back, it angered me, left a bad taste, and made me resolve to never come to The Kenilworth again.

We found the rest of the staff to be friendly. The cleaning staff was good. However, the last morning, we heard them in the hall at 8:00 am with their carts and eager to clean the rooms.

The rooms themselves were fairly nice and had been newly redecorated. Most of the redecorating work was well done, but the lighting in the room was difficult with no light in the desk area, and harsh lights at bedside. The lighting in the bathroom was excellent.

I will guess that the hotel will not care about a bad review and will not respond. I hope that is not the case, but l suspect that I will not hear from them again. I certainly will not book a room there again, and will indicate such to my family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! Firstly, We are sorry for your loss. We are disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean and comfortable stay thus saddened that we could not serve you to our usual high standard. We apologize for not providing you with a better visit. We are disappointed to learn that your experience with us was not up to the mark, and we will make sure to improve upon all of your suggestions. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, The Kenilworth Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave C wrote a review Jan 2023
Alexandria, Virginia1,556 contribution537 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It's hard to find a hotel in this area that has some class, but this is one of the best. They work hard to keep it clean, and it's in a neighborhood that seems safe and is right next to a large grocery store with some restaurant choices in the area within a reasonable walk. The walls are a little thin, I now know way more than I wanted to about the couple in the room next to me. It is a bit expensive compared to similar places outside of the airport area, and breakfast starts a bit late and is a la carte (not free). In all, if I had to come back to this area I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Jan 18, 2023
Dear Dave, We appreciate the time you took to leave such a wonderful review of your experience staying with us. We pride ourselves on providing top-notch cleanliness to ensure the safety of our guests and staff. We are delighted to learn that our convenient location made it easy for you to get to everywhere you wanted to go while visiting Kenilworth. Please allow me to apologize for the noise coming from outside; we do offer earplugs to our guests to minimize the disturbance caused due to noise. We apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our pricing.  We always want our guests to have a memorable stay with us, so we hope to see you again soon and earn a perfect score. Kind Regards,  The Kenilworth Management P.S. Next time, book directly at kenilworthinn.com and save!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathi7H wrote a review Sep 2021
Henderson, Nevada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the room was small, it was well equipped with a mini refrig, coffee maker, security safe in the closet, ample drawers, closet space, and bathroom countertops. The mattress was comfortable but the pillows were flat and useless. The A/C unit was exceptionally loud and old, but cooled the room sufficiently. There was a pull-out sofa bed in the sitting area that we did not need but it's a nice extra. My husband and I stayed here one night in order to be near the airport for our flight out the next morning. The free airport shuttle bus wasn't running but we were provided a free Lyft ride to the airport which we felt obligated to tip, although he took 2 wrong turns on the way to the airport. .We would do this stay at The Kenilworth again the next time we are visiting in NJ.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nevayoumind wrote a review Jan 2020
Australia56 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband I stayed for about 5 days and commuted into the busy New York city each day. Although the commute in can get a little tiring, we found it worth doing in order to save on the exorbitant inner NYC hotel prices, and for the quality of hotel in the Kenilworth. Lush is the word we would use to describe it. It oozes good quality from the moment you enter, making for a pleasant and relaxing stay. Being so close to a supermarket is definitely a plus and the shuttle to and from the airport and to the nearest train station makes it all the more better. We would certainly stay here again given the chance. Thank you Kenilworth!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeorgeDec, Director Of Operations at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear Nevayoumind, Thank you so much for your feedback and the awesome rating!! We are glad that you made the most of your stay. Our team members are committed to make every guest feel at home and will be sure to send your kind remarks to our dedicated team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kenilworth. When you are ready to return, please let us know. Our Reservations Team would be more than happy to assist you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rso19j1tgy wrote a review Jul 2021
Clay, New York1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I made coffee and the ants came out of the wood work! Ants was in all of my food and had to be trashed. They worked their way to the bed where I awakened by one crawling on me. They offered to change my room or spray with ant spray but my son who is disabled could not be in a room with chemical smell all night and we were checking out that morning. So to move all of the packages we had for a short time would have been futile. Plus they worked themselves in my bags anyway.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Jul 27, 2021
We are sorry to hear that your stay was less that stellar. Thank you for sharing the feedback. We have a robust pest control program in place and have addressed the issue as appropriate. I do hope we get another chance to prove ourselves than thank you once again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L K wrote a review Apr 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot believe that when I was checking in, I was informed that they will be taking $100 as a down payment in case I damage the room. The person made it sound as if this was a normal thing to do. I was too tired to refuse so I allowed them to charge my credit card an extra $100. They said it would be refunded if I don't damage the room but really, I have never in my life had this happen to me. I certainly hope my card isn't charged but that is not the point. I can't believe it is legal to do this.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Room Tip: Check beforehand about this additional charge.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear Guest, We are disappointed to learn that your stay with us was not up to par. Please know that Incidentals which is also known as security deposit are standard worldwide at all reputable hotels. Please reach out to us with more information if you believe you have been wrongly charged and we will make sure to make any necessary adjustments to your bill. Furthermore, we have listed the mandatory charges a guest must submit during the check-in process on our website. We would humbly request you to have a look at our website in case of avoiding any misunderstanding. We sincerely apologize if this small necessity has caused you some inconvenience. We assure you that we will improve our service the next time you stay with us. Sincerely, The Kenilworth Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larissa F wrote a review Aug 2023
10 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in the area on business trip for one day and had an early flight the next day. Hotel was close enough to the airport which was ideal since we had an early early flight and not too pricey. Parking was free which was a plus since we had a cat. Check-in was a breeze. Only thing to note was I had to ask about the incidental amount that would be charged on my credit card. Was just told there would be a hold. Would be good to say a hold of this amount so we were aware. Hold was for 100$. Room overall was clean. Bed was comfy. Check out was even quicker which was great since we were running late. For that one night stay, it was pleasant. Front desk interaction was nice. Would stay at that hotel again when in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Aug 17, 2023
Dear Larissa, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're pleased that our hotel suited your needs during your business trip and early flight. We appreciate your feedback regarding the incidental hold, and we'll make sure to provide clearer information in the future. It's wonderful to hear that you found our check-in and check-out process smooth and that your room was comfortable. We look forward to hosting you again in the future when you're in the area. Your satisfaction is our priority! Kind Regards, The Kenilworth Management PS: When you are ready for your next visit to Kenilworth, be sure to book your stay directly on kenilworthinn.com where you will find the lowest possible rates anywhere online!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
j0anav1 wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Kenilworth Hotel was conveniently situated. The property was very clean as well as the lobby and guest rooms. Bedding was comfortable and even though our room faced the Parkway, we didn't hear any noise from the traffic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Devesh Singh, Other at The Kenilworth Hotel
Responded Jun 26, 2021
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from R H
41 contributions24 helpful votes
I don't recall one but I was there "off season" and hotels were begging for people almost.
Terence G asked a question Jul 2020
Hyattsville, Maryland
hkw early can you check in?
Answer from Adkcamp
Indian Lake, New York23 contributions47 helpful votes
We used this hotel when traveling from Newark which was only about a twenty minute shuttle ride.
Answer from kenilworthinn
Brooklyn, New York7 contributions18 helpful votes
The hotel provides shuttle service to a suburban rail station (Roselle Station) from there one would take train to Penn Station (33rd & 7th). Times Square is 42nd st and 7th, it is more practical to walk , cab rides will be expensive as traffic is time consuming. Wear comfortable shoes.
Answer from Trip18844940874
There is no resort fee-this is not a resort type property. Just a well priced hotel not far from the Newark New Jersy Airport.
Leidy wrote a tip Jan 2024
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Shuttle service EWR airport shuttle pick-up and drop-off Free parking ATM on site Bags storage 24hr front desk service "
Read full review
traveler1991751 wrote a tip Jul 2023
New Jersey86 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast is available for a fee"
Read full review
Tricia P. wrote a tip Jul 2023
North Bethesda, Maryland2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring some snacks and drinks or walk to the Acme right next door."
Read full review
MasterP007 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sevierville, Tennessee1,443 contribution297 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do NOT stay here. Misleading advertising"
Read full review
Dena T wrote a tip Apr 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a room on the far side of the Garden State Parkway for less highway noise."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kenilworth area.
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kenilworth hotel kenilworth, kenilworth inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyKenilworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE KENILWORTH HOTEL $129 ($̶1̶8̶8̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Kenilworth Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Kenilworth Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Union Teener League Field (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kenilworth Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Campagnola, Kenilworth Diner, and Boulevard Five72.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Kenilworth Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Kenilworth Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Kenilworth Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Kenilworth Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Kenilworth Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Kenilworth Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Kenilworth.
Does The Kenilworth Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Kenilworth HotelsKenilworth Hotel DealsHotels near The Kenilworth Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars