We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
479 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1972
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$263
View deal
Booking.com$263
Travelocity$263
Westin.com$263
travelup.com$287
Hotels.com$263
Priceline$263
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (633)
Room & Suite (465)
Dining (83)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 01/13/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Jersey City Newport
Updated 01/13/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 17 in Jersey City
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Unwind amidst scenic views of the Hudson River and the Manhattan skyline at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Our thoughtfully designed hotel welcomes guests with waterfront accommodations in the heart of the city's downtown district. Ideally positioned for exploring top attractions, our hotel is situated just minutes from the Newport PATH station as well as Hoboken, Liberty Science Center, Liberty State Park and Newark Airport. Relax, renew and enjoy deluxe amenities including our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio and a refreshing indoor pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Conference facilities
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
59Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1690Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 898
  • 572
  • 123
  • 55
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mike B wrote a review May 17
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Reserved/paid 3 rooms for 2 nights - Marriott denied points Here is there response when asking for the points. Our records indicate that your stay was booked under a name different than the name on your Marriott Bonvoy account. For your stay to be eligible for credit it must be booked in the name that appears on your Marriott Bonvoy account, you must personally check-in and occupy the room, and the hotel must be paid directly for the stay upon check-out. Stays in other names, even those of family members or friends, are not eligible for credit to your Marriott Bonvoy account. Tried calling hotel/Bonvoy after hours on hold gave up! Done with Marriott!! Mike Byrnes
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from p c, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Jersey City Newport
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for loyalty. Please consider staying with us in the future. Missing stay requests may be filed directly on line at Marriott.com thank you -pc
Read more
LMC_Canada wrote a review May 16
Toronto250 contributions303 helpful votes
Check in was smooth and efficient, Staff friendly. Room: Your average room, clean but basic. Fair sized room. Furniture in fairly good shape, circa 1980 style. Bathroom partially renovated. Still had a bathtub but with small rain shower head and handheld. Bathroom retrofit was just acceptable. Poor bathroom lighting. Service: Unacceptable for an upscale hotel, There was no housekeeping or room refresh. At the end of the day we returned to our room to find it as we had left it, no clean towels, etc. I asked at the front desk and the clerk stated due to Covid-19 they did not clean the room. We were surprised Marriott has allowed their Westin hotels let their standard's lapse. There is no excuse in May 2022 not to provide basic hotel cleaning services. A guest should not return to their room not made up when you are spending $$$ at higher end hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and did allow for a late checkout.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We have a view of the Parking Lot and the Cheesecake Factory
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from p c, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Jersey City Newport
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our team is aware of your concerns and appreciate your feedback. Look forward to being of service when your travels brings you back to the area. Be well, pc
Read more
Penny H wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I stayed in the Westin last month, while attending a family wedding. The room was wonderful, with an incredible view of Manhatten. Sadly I had my camera stolen, but had excellent help from the hotel Concierge, who registered my loss with the Rockefeller centre and the subways I travelled on. He also printed out how I could get to 18th precinct Manhatten NYPD the following day to report my loss. I can't recommend this hotel enough. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. If ever I go back to Jersey City I would certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
viewsfrom718 wrote a review Apr 2022
11 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is convenient if you're staying in Jersey City and want to be close to transport/the mall other activities. I wouldn't recommend this for a regular stay. It honestly feels like a museum. We were here this past month and its just run down and could use a deep clean. There are zero amenities that match the price point. I also feel that if you book with a third party they make sure they put you in the worst rooms. Upon arrival neither front desk attendant was warm or friendly but rather looked at myself and my guest as if "we" did not belong in their hotel. As someone who has stayed in the past, this post covid visit was it for us. Wifi isn't free, no free water, no apples in the gym area, etc. For 200+ a night not even a decent coffee maker in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Yu Z wrote a review Mar 2022
California22 contributions10 helpful votes
The hotel has a great location, next to PATH, harbor pier and lot of F&B options within walking distance. The PATH can take you all the way to 33rd St, NYC. The property is tired, showing wear and tear in guest rooms and hallway. There is no shower but the old fashion tub in the bathroom. The shower curtain has some cleanliness issues. Another negative is that F&B service and valet parking are not back to pre-Covid level yet. As a Bonvoy member, you are not getting full benefits of breakfast but instead a breakfast voucher for grab and go.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from pat c, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Jersey City Newport
Responded Mar 12, 2022
neostar1983, Thank you for taking the time to provide this valued feedback. It has been shared with hotel leadership in order to improve our hotel.
Read more
msdet1529 wrote a review Feb 2022
Port Saint Lucie, Florida4256 contributions316 helpful votes
We stayed here before Covid, but the night we checked in on Thursday, Feb 10, the place was empty, the room was very dusty, yea they cleaned it from a previous guest but that was probably a long time ago. You can see the dust build up. No more valet parking? Had to park it myself at the back of the hotel. No one to greet you at the door? Had to drag the luggage cart myself to the room. And no breakfast? Only food service was from the old bar which was converted into a breakfast top with cold breakfast sandwiches on a hot plate that was cold and wrapped in foil. And the front desk lady who had the coldest, plain, I don't give a #%+€, I don't want to be here attitude. What was wrong with her? She was colder than the weather. This is not our first rodeo and first time staying here. Only thing good was being on the 21 floor and you get the view of the Freedom tower. Disappointed!!! Get your hotel in shape!!! Will I hear and get the same managment excuse?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from patrick c, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Jersey City Newport
Responded Feb 22, 2022
Thank you very much for your time and feedback. Management will reach out directly to our guest.
Read more
Quest776705 wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Got a great deal through my Tripadvisor plus membership, so this hotel was such a great value for a nice weekend in NYC. It was so close to the Path train so pretty quick ride into NYC. There was also all times of restaurants and a grocery store right next to the hotel. Staff was really accommodating and helpful at the Westin. Would easily stay here again. Only thing was the grout needed a really good scrub in the bathroom but everything else was clean, realize covid has been tough so not going deduct for this as it wasn't moldy but it was getting there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
laureljward5 wrote a review Nov 2021
Fairfax County, Virginia6 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I stayed at the Jersey City Westin for a wedding last weekend, and with the wedding block we got a great rate -- but regardless of the price it was a wonderful hotel and a great stay! The location, proximity to the river, and the view of Manhattan is unbelievable! Our room had a partial view of the water (friends were staying in a waterfront suite and that was absolutely AMAZING) and the room was comfortable and clean. Covid protocols were observed. Where the Westin Jersey City really stood out, however, was in the amenities and the staff. There were two bars and we ended up meeting friends at both. The bartenders were pleasant and helpful. There was plenty of room for our large group to spread out and catch up, which is vital when meeting from near and far for a wedding! We ate brunch at the restaurant and the food was tremendous. The cherry on top of our stay was when I asked for hot water at the front desk. The lobby had no access to hot water -- but Fatima (lovely, pleasant and helpful!) offered to send an electric tea kettle to our room!!!! We stay in hotels frequently (this was our fourth wedding this year) but this was a first! It was such a delight to be able to boil tea water on demand, and not have to depend on the room's Kurieg (which results in a coffee/tea hybrid that is pretty awful!). All in all -- an excellent choice for Jersey City with solid, clean rooms and great service!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
CN wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Had an email confirmation with the rate of $147 a night total lung $857. Charged my card $997 first night and not even 12 hours later charged my card an additional $552!! I called to ask and they were RUDE and hung up on me!! Now they say the rate is $259 a night. Would not give me their name and hung up!!! Talked to someone from corporate and filed a case. I asked her to read the case to me and she, the manager at corporate!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rosemeri Larosa, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Jersey City Newport
Responded Oct 11, 2021
Guest is in-house and follow-up message has been left to the guest.
Read more
Steven wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I had a terrible experience staying at this hotel. I stayed in room 1220 and upon arriving in the room the toilet did not work. I called the front desk who sent someone up to the room and told us he needed to get a part to fix it and would return within the hour. He never returned and I didn’t have a toilet to use for the first night. When I woke up I again called saying nobody came back to fix it and they assured me they would send someone to fix it. A different handyman named Raul came to the room and said the same thing, he needed a part to fix it and would return with it and fix it. I left for a wedding and upon returning at night the toilet was still broken and I didn’t have a toilet to use. Completely unacceptable. I had to go to the 2nd floor public bathroom. When I complained to the manager at the front desk named Patrick he was extremely rude and said there is nothing I can do and I won’t be making any adjustments to your account. After I complained more to him telling him this was unacceptable he walked out from behind the desk and got in my face saying you can leave now have a nice day. Shame on you patrick for claiming you were the manager and handling it this way. I will never be returning to this hotel and I advise nobody does with this level of service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rosemeri Larosa, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Jersey City Newport
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Management has reached out to the guest directly.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$316 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin jersey city, newport hotel jersey city, westin jersey city newport
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
429
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Jersey City Newport
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Nearby attractions include Newport Centre (0.2 miles) and AMC Loews Newport Centre 11 (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fire & Oak - Jersey City, Battello, and The Cheesecake Factory.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Jersey City Newport located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Jersey City.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Jersey City Newport?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Jersey City Newport offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.