We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The National Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The National Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From our arrival to departure, The National did not disappoint. When we visit the area, we typically stay in Lambertville down the road and decided this time to stay in Frenchtown. The National proved we had made the right decision. The hotel is charming and blends the buildings history with modern amenities. Our room was spacious with plenty of sunlight,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Your feedback lifts our spirits!! What tremendous praise, especially your kind words about our dedicated staff. Mike is truly extraordinary and he always goes above and beyond for our patrons. Truly a wonderful reflection of our establishment. And of course, it goes without saying that Marlon, our General Manager, is exceptional at taking care of every detail. Your testimony as...

Wycombe, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Michael, the bartender, is extraordinary! He is an enthusiastic mixoligist and offers some very good cutting edge craft beers. Great atmosphere in the bar room, too. I've been there a few times recently - as a bike rider , this place is a fun stop-off point -- but, I was there a few days ago after getting stranded (car broke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for sharing this incredible review with us, and recognizing how much Michael cares about The National Hotel. Truly, he is not only a premier mixologist, knowledgeable bartender, and incredible ambassador for The National Hotel, he is in fact, someone who truly cares about our patrons and goes out of his way to make sure each of their...

Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at the National Hotel in Frenchtown New Jersey and although the building is old and quaint, the bar and it's tenders were fun with great drinks and what looks like delicious food, the morning breakfast was also very very good with the delicious coffee fruits, bagels and muffins.. the rest of the hotel was absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1951ortley
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at The National Hotel. We're saddened that you were inconvenienced by traffic noise from our quaint country street. The room you chose faced the front of the building, but yours is the first complaint we've had regarding the level of noise from the street, and we are truly surprised that the traffic was non-stop. Frenchtown...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed September 29, 2016

The vibe in the bar downstairs feels like you stepped into a piece of history but the Staff is alive and well! We went in for a quick drink and ended up staying for 3..ok 4 because of the pure entertainment of Mike! He was quite charismatic and a talented bartender to boot. The manager who joined the conversation at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Mike IS a gem!! We are so proud to have such a dedicated staff to help make our guests feel welcome & comfortable. Our goal is to make sure we can provide you with the very best service, & we are thrilled to hear that you were able to have such an enjoyable time. Thank you so much for your...

Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

I grew up in this area and passed this hotel many times in many years but never stayed here. Recently while returning to NJ I had the opportunity to stay here with my sister Patti. We really enjoyed our stay. The proprietor and staff could not have been more welcoming and nicer. We ate in the dining room one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flo B
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

How wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! Moreover, the fact that you returned to NJ and chose The National Hotel for your overnight stay is a great compliment and we are very grateful to you and your sister. Thank you for carving out the time to write this wonderful review and for sharing your experience with...

Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Nice staff. An old hotel with rooms that have been upgraded. Wonderful shower. No elevator! Our room was very spacious but did not have a closet or place to hang clothes. Great bartender, friendly and made good suggestions. The slightly Asian themed room decor was very different and fanciful especially with the gauze drapes hanging from the huge oversized bamboo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crumbles4u
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The National Hotel. You are very much correct that it is a historic building, dating back to 1850 (and earlier, to 1833 in its original hotel/blacksmith building), which explains why there is no elevator to preserve the building as it was created. It's wonderful to learn that you were able to...

New Jersey
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Room was great, staff were very helpful. The location is great in charming downtown Frenchtown, NJ and the historic building is beautiful. The room and bathroom were large and comfortable and the noise level was fine despite the central location and the Labor Day weekend festivities. Great location for biking and hiking (bike accessible path just blocks away) or shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arncoh
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

What terrific feedback! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with future visitors to Frenchtown and The National Hotel. We're grateful to you for making the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your overnight stay with us, and that you plan on returning! We look forward to being able to welcome you to our little gem...

Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Awesome place.Nice to see history preserved. Would stay there anytime .A bike ride on the old Bel-Del rail to trail was great.Close to Lambertville, New Hope,Flemington.Fine restaurant at the Inn and several more within 15 min.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WAJANAKA
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your incredible review & for the 5 stars!!! We're so happy to always be able to accommodate our cycle enthusiasts & athletes who come and stay with us, or even stop by for a relaxing lunch or dinner. You described our proximity to area destinations beautifully and we are incredibly grateful to you!

Clovis, California
Reviewed July 15, 2016

The National Hotel is a great place to stay! The hotel room was spacious and very comfortable The hotel manager and ALL the staff are friendly and make you feel at home. Dining is fabulous and the "Rat" Tavern downstairs is a great place to meet the locals and make new friends. Highly recommend this as a destination to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheReeds2016
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and for your wonderful feedback about our staff and our establishment. We strive to make our guests comfortable and provide an experience that will take them away from all the daily pressures and demands, and we're very pleased to read that you truly enjoyed yourself. Seeing the review...

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed July 10, 2016

We were on an multi-day bike ride along the Delaware River and stayed at the National Hotel. What a treat! We arrived in the evening and were told we could lock our bikes on the back porch keeping them dry and safe. The owners had turned the air conditioning up a bit as it was a hot day so the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M C
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5-star review and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are always happy to accommodate our guests who come with their bikes. Our General Manager, Marlon Aranha, is a consummate professional and his attention to detail elevates our staff and the experience we are able to provide our guests. We're even happier that you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
221 reviews
12.5 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
481 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
371 reviews
9.2 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience comfort and luxury at The National Hotel from richly appointed and unique rooms in which to relax and escape today's pressures, to our quality dining choices, where a friendly and attentive staff can help you unwind as you enjoy local flavors of the area, and end your evening in The Rathskeller Pub downstairs. Weekend overnight guests enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast in a private room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The National Hotel

Address: 31 Race St, Frenchtown, NJ 08825-1011
Location: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Price Range: $125 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The National Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The 3rd floor King room is fabulous”
 of 5 bubbles TheReeds2016, Jul 15, 2016 | Read review
“Request the rooms that look out over the front veranda.”
 of 5 bubbles 857mc, Jul 10, 2016 | Read review
“Room 201 is beautiful!”
  • Updated furniture
  • Lovely canopy bed
 of 5 bubbles 536maureeny, Jun 20, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the Race Street side are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 144kerryb, Jun 10, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms in this hotel are excellent and reasonable priced”
 of 5 bubbles Debra360, Oct 28, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay