We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Airport Hotel Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Read the other 1 star reviews to get a good idea about this hotel. Flight was canceled, United directs customers to hotels.com for rooms. Was charged $216.58 (yes, you're reading that right; rooms are usually $65). This is price-gouging. When asked about price and why it was so high, I was told hotels are full and he (mgr?) can charge... More 

Helpful?
Thank BishopCR
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much more attainable. It... More 

Flensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last hotel available after huge flight disruptions and I wanted to stay close to the airport rather than a long commute as my new flight was at 5am. This hotel is *just* a little better than sleeping at the airport, although the staff was very friendly despite huge queues at reception. The shuttle bus is fast. Reception smells pretty bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank blobby202
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as... More 

North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Honestly, the place is very very dirty. The reception area is 100 degree and extremely humid. The lobby is wet and dirty, no one to clean them up. The rooms are TINY with small bathroom made for a doll house. The area around the hotel looks very tacky. I would suggest that you put some more money in and get... More 

Helpful?
Thank ashfarooque
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I ended up booked in here after my flight got cancelled and room availability dried up. Read the other reviews and stay away. I had people trying to get into my room several times during the night and a "lady" knocked on my door at midnight. The door lock was not very convincing - like one you would get on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. It's our primary goal to ensure that you receive the best lodging experience and we wish to let you know that your voice is extremely important to us. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of... More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No other hotel available so they quadrupled rate to $250 nite per room. Stopped up drains, towel rack ripped from walls, filthy carpet, total property should be condemned TA listing incorrect, no brkfst.

Helpful?
2 Thank scoobapadi
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to... More 

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a nasty place to end up after losing my flight! Even though I made a reservation and paid online for a night in what was supposed to be a Day's Inn Hotel... I just found there a NIGHTMARE MOTEL, worst class ever. I was told my reservation was not in the system so I wasted about an hour in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita I
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parking is a serious nightmare at this motel. I never saw a place where cars were literally double and triple parked! When trying to park to obtain a room at the motel, a rude guy from the events trailer from a nearby nightclub came out, and he almost tried to mug me saying that I was not supposed to double... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valedc03ls
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I do apologize that you were unable to find a parking space during your stay. The front desk can help with parking anytime you have trouble. I hope that you will give us another chance. Please give me a call at the hotel so that we... More 

New London, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here because my flight from beers got cancelled and it was the cheapest place I could find online. This hotel, more like motel is literally in the ghetto. There were prostitutes all over, the room smelled like crap, everything was dirty, and the dead bolt on the door was so messed up we could barely get out of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank pagekylie
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that each guest has a... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is a disaster. The rooms are dingy and sqallid. I found a womans hair on my bedsheets which meant I'd be sleeping on sheets someone else slept on that were never changed. The curtains missing curtain hooks so that the ends are just hanging in the air and you ahve to sort of carefully arrange the curtain so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samuel G
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am terribly sorry to learn that you experienced so much difficulty during your stay. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping and maintenance issues. The fact that we've failed in this regard is very disheartening. On behalf of... More 

Hudson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the worst hotel we ever stayed at.Prostitutes are everywhere. We saw one the next morning with a black eye.I guess she didn't make enough money the night before for her pimp! As for our room the shower drain was clogged so we had to shower in ankle deep water...totally discusting.All night you can hear the goings on in... More 

Helpful?
Thank robertz853
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience. I hope that you will consider staying... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#5 of 13 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Address: 853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Price Range: $64 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Hotel Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Budget Places so you can book your Airport Hotel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay