We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Holiday Inn - Newark was a really nice place to stay. We were on a Diamond Tour and we stayed at Holliday Inn for a visit to New York City. The hotel was clean and the staff was wonderful. Their Breakfast Buffett was really good, but if you wanted to eat off the menu in the restaurant that was OK.... More 

Helpful?
Thank nancy r
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Falling wet, leaking ceiling tiles at 4:30 am........we evacuated room, very scary! Tried to get managers attention telling him there is a emergency. Manager was not sympathetic was busy with a customer and he told us to talk to the man servicing coffee area. We sat in lobby 2 hrs. waiting for our groups breakfast. Got 2 free cups coffee... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kdodge319
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is officially a business hotle but I've gone here a few times with my family. I would chill the hole day. Pool. BaR. Restaurant and when it's chilly outside they have a place to sit like a campfire. Great place love chilling with a strawberry daiquiri wen passing by. Great music atmosphere and staff

Helpful?
Thank ems911
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel looks like it was last updated in the 70s. Toilet leaked and kept flushing. We stayed there 4 nights and complained about it the second day. It was never fixed the whole time we were there. Expensive rates for the room we got. The second day I requested a switch to a different room. Was referred to the manager... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Polly O
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear Polly O, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.... More 

Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We understand that this is an older property and that some renovations have been done, mostly to the restaurant, bar, and lobby area. The rooms are older, but we'll cleaned. I don't like the drop ceiling in the rooms at all. The AC is older and we woke up to our room being 85 degrees in the middle of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank NCKari
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear NCKari, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide a good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your concerns regarding the unkempt condition of the property particularly in our common areas and room cleanliness have been taken into account. I... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. It is like 1975 as you walk down the hall. The air conditioning unit was very noisy. The hallway had a stale smell, and my swipe badge didn't always work. My biggest concern was seeing a single bug under the pillow of the bed I DIDN'T sleep in. Can't say I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cambams
Management response:

Dear Cambams I am sorry your recent stay was not up to your standards. It is true we are an older building but we take pride in its upkeep. Our most recent renovation was in 2012 and we expect to do a total renovation of our guest floors in 2017. As for the item found under your pillow I would... More 

Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
354 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

I used IHG points to book this Holiday Inn. It was very busy as we were staying to attend the PGA Golf Championship. We were very impressed as they put us in a beautiful suite. We only wish there was more time to enjoy this room. It was very roomy with a huge bathroom and so much living space. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank relayer
Management response:

Thank you so much for the great review. We greatly value our IHG Rewards Club guests and are glad we were able to upgrade you during the tournament. We hope you visit us again soon! More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

I don't get to visit home very often but with this visit and after staying here at the Holiday Inn Clark, NJ location I was truly impressed from check-in to check-out. This hotel provided all I needed for the time spent, they offer great amenities and easy of access to local areas as well as if traveling to NY. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank CriadoC
Management response:

Dear CriadoC Thank you so much for staying with us and the kind review. I have a great staff and we truly enjoy serving our guests. We hope you come and visit family more often and again make us your home away from home. More 

North Bloomfield, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We booked two rooms (for a total of 6 nights)for our children to attend a family funeral. One room was ok. The second room was crawling with ants. Ants were found in the furniture, clothing and even my one year old granddaughter's hair. My son alerted management who grudgingly offered to switch the room. One would think that the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat R
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear pmr317, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

On June 25,2016 Elizabeth and Kevin had a terrible experience inside of # 2 elevator's cab at Holiday Inn, where we were trapped for for one hour with one other passenger, whose name is Ben, without air circulation on a hot summer evening. Around 6:00 pm we entered # 2 elevator car, I pressed the 3rd floor button and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear Kevin M, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your comments. We are truly grateful for the excellent rating you gave to our cleanliness. However, we sincerely apologize for the difficulties you had experienced with the elevator facility. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
3.7 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 4 in Rahway
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This award winning, full service, boutique-style hotel is an exquisite blend of modern luxury and impeccable service. We are conveniently located at exit 135 off the Garden State Parkway in Clark, NJ, with easy access to The City Centers of New York, Newark and all major attractions including the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and the Prudential Center. We are just minutes south of The Newark International Airport and just 2 miles from Rahway Train Station for convenient access to Newark or New York City Stay connected... with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Stay fit... choose from our state-of-the-art fitness facility or access to Bally s Total Fitness. Stay restful... our Sleep Advantage program goes well beyond the limitations of any other brand by creating the optimal sleep experience.Stay for convenience... a delicious meal, meeting or event is an elevator ride away. Stay confident...as our staff is well trained in the art of hospitality. Businesses: L Oreal, Conoco Phillips, Siemens, JP Morgan Chase, Schering Plough, Merck, Exxon Mobil, and Bank of America. Hospitals: Rahway, St. Barnabas-Union, Trinitas, JKF, and Overlook. Universities: Seton Hall, Rutgers, and Kean. Sneak nine in at nearby Hyatt Hills Golf Course with driving range and miniature golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Address: 36 Valley Rd, Clark, NJ 07066-1559 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Clark)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clark
Price Range: $128 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Clark - Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Clark - Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Clark Hotel Clark
Clark Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay