We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. It is like 1975 as you walk down the hall. The air conditioning unit was very noisy. The hallway had a stale smell, and my swipe badge didn't always work. My biggest concern was seeing a single bug under the pillow of the bed I DIDN'T sleep in. Can't say I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cambams
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
355 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used IHG points to book this Holiday Inn. It was very busy as we were staying to attend the PGA Golf Championship. We were very impressed as they put us in a beautiful suite. We only wish there was more time to enjoy this room. It was very roomy with a huge bathroom and so much living space. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank relayer
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

I don't get to visit home very often but with this visit and after staying here at the Holiday Inn Clark, NJ location I was truly impressed from check-in to check-out. This hotel provided all I needed for the time spent, they offer great amenities and easy of access to local areas as well as if traveling to NY. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank CriadoC
North Bloomfield, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We booked two rooms (for a total of 6 nights)for our children to attend a family funeral. One room was ok. The second room was crawling with ants. Ants were found in the furniture, clothing and even my one year old granddaughter's hair. My son alerted management who grudgingly offered to switch the room. One would think that the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat R
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear pmr317, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

On June 25,2016 Elizabeth and Kevin had a terrible experience inside of # 2 elevator's cab at Holiday Inn, where we were trapped for for one hour with one other passenger, whose name is Ben, without air circulation on a hot summer evening. Around 6:00 pm we entered # 2 elevator car, I pressed the 3rd floor button and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear Kevin M, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your comments. We are truly grateful for the excellent rating you gave to our cleanliness. However, we sincerely apologize for the difficulties you had experienced with the elevator facility. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem... More 

Montgomery, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

First of all, any hotel that charges 5 different rates during the duration of your stay should be avoided. This joint has diff rates that vary by CENTS! Coffee served in lobby is a plus but charging Starbucks prices for something that comes out of a vending machine is ridiculous. Multiple times upon ordering coffee at 6:30am I was told... More 

Helpful?
Thank BTSewall
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear BTSewall, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. First of all, we are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the rates and with the WiFi connection. Rest assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

My room was clean and the staff was excellent. They were very accommodating, the reason for 3 stars was because we had no refrigerator and yes they did bring us one. I noticed that the coffee bar was missing (the spot where the coffee pot is usually kept). It was kept under the night stand. There is no microwave in... More 

Helpful?
Thank meme3650
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear meme3650, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work hard to make your stay comfortable and pleasant so we are pleased to note that you were satisfied with the clean rooms and wonderful staff. I am sorry there was no microwave and coffee bar in the room. It was good to hear that there's an available... More 

Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Ground floor room for two nights. When checking in requested a quiet room as I noticed large speakers being unloaded. First night was uneventful. Second night a lot of drunks running the hallway. Understand the hotel cannot watch everything but these people had to pass the front desk. Don't recommend a first floor room.

Helpful?
Thank ScottEBS
Big Rapids, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

The Hotel was great and the meals were very good the only thing is the Pool was outside and drained not open yet for the season I guess very nice Breakfast plenty to eat would stay there again I probably wouldn't use the pool anyway

Helpful?
Thank Larry P
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we arranged for a block of rooms for family who were staying to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday and his retirement. Everyone was so gracious and helpful from the event arranger to the dining room staff. The restaurant food was excellent and did have some gluten free choices. They also helped with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
3.7 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 4 in Rahway
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverview Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This award winning, full service, boutique-style hotel is an exquisite blend of modern luxury and impeccable service. We are conveniently located at exit 135 off the Garden State Parkway in Clark, NJ, with easy access to The City Centers of New York, Newark and all major attractions including the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and the Prudential Center. We are just minutes south of The Newark International Airport and just 2 miles from Rahway Train Station for convenient access to Newark or New York City Stay connected... with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Stay fit... choose from our state-of-the-art fitness facility or access to Bally s Total Fitness. Stay restful... our Sleep Advantage program goes well beyond the limitations of any other brand by creating the optimal sleep experience.Stay for convenience... a delicious meal, meeting or event is an elevator ride away. Stay confident...as our staff is well trained in the art of hospitality. Businesses: L Oreal, Conoco Phillips, Siemens, JP Morgan Chase, Schering Plough, Merck, Exxon Mobil, and Bank of America. Hospitals: Rahway, St. Barnabas-Union, Trinitas, JKF, and Overlook. Universities: Seton Hall, Rutgers, and Kean. Sneak nine in at nearby Hyatt Hills Golf Course with driving range and miniature golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Address: 36 Valley Rd, Clark, NJ 07066-1559 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Clark)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clark
Price Range: $123 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Clark - Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Clark - Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Clark Hotel Clark
Clark Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay