We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (125)
Room & Suite (43)
Pool & Beach (12)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Heritage Inn
Updated 01/31/22

About

#9 of 37 in Cape May
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Beach
Aerobics offsite
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bicycle tours
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
763Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 461
  • 174
  • 49
  • 34
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Susan wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The owner could not be more accommodating and nice.she attended to all our needs!!!the rooms are extremely clean.i wouldn't stay anywhere else in cape may.it is within walking distance of most everything .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Amanda R wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
We just got home from our 5th visit to the Heritage Inn. Every year is consistently awesome and it’s so hard to go back home. The ownership and staff are welcoming and make you feel like family. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned, well equipped with all your basic necessities, and the beds are very comfortable. You are just steps away from the beach, promenade and restaurants. It’s a very short walk to Washington Mall for even more dining and shopping options. Book early because the rooms sell out quickly. Looking forward to next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Book early, especially if you prefer a certain floor or view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Lauren P wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
Gwen and the staff at the Heritage are so accommodating and kind! We are repeat customers. Great location, beach views, clean hotel and welcoming staff. Pool and parking is a plus! Family friendly place to retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Skal wrote a review Nov 2021
Berlin, Massachusetts1 contribution
Place was clean. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Nice little kitchen. Very comfortable beds. Always enjoy talking with the family that runs the Inn. We’ve been going there for 28 years. Great location. Great restaurants within walking distance. Fun to lounge on the roof and watch the sunset. Hope to return every year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Cape May is quieter after Labor Day.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
sassynana wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
My friends and I wanted to go to Cape May for a quick get away,I Always check review of Hotel before in. I heritage didn't disappoint.I stay was wonderful , from the staff checking us in so friendly, the Room was clean the house staff was great.The Location was outstanding .I would recomend this hotel to everyone . The sign out outside says sign of hospitality, So true of this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ocean View is a must
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Anonymous wrote a review Oct 2021
United States14 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
This was our first time at Heritage Inn although we have been going to Cape May for many years now. Location is a major plus for this place. But this is countered by many cons. First, the room was dirty. The microwave was filthy and we cleaned it out, and we gave the turntable with dried food on it to be washed out for us. The bathroom had long strands of thick, black hair that I disposed. On the very first night, under the top sheet and on the blue blanket beneath one of us found strands of long, thick, black hair. The drain outside the bathroom was slow to drain. We were offered the services of a plumber, which we declined as we had cleaned and wiped the room down. We saw a plastic bag under the refrigerator and took it out assuming it was some junk. This turned out to be a hotel soap in its wrapper propping up the otherwise wobbly refrigerator. Parking is not the most convenient but for a place such as this, not unacceptable. While we accept that it is hotel prerogative whether to grant or deny a slightly late check out, we were told during the booking process that this was possible. However, upon inquiring at the office a day before departure, we were told that late checkout was never permitted (the individual at the desk was an unpleasant person). Only one key is provided. A rebuttal to this posting from the management is not necessary. In reviewing responses to other negative comments, the replies are of the type; oh, just look at the reviews of our satisfied customers – you are just a dissatisfied one, or it’s all just your fault and we were fully correct in how we treated you, and almost all I saw were just generally defensive. Not taking into serious consideration what customers say (not just the positive) is not a good mechanism to instituting remedies. We definitely will not be returning to this place. We frequent other places that were not available but we’ll be sure to book well in advance. Advise for readers, please do check out the lower ratings to anyplace, as they can be quite instructive. I HAVE DELETED MY OLD POSTING (THE EXACT CONTENT IS AGAIN GIVEN ABOVE) AND AM REPOSTING TO REBUTT RESPONSE OF THE MANAGER THAT IS POSTED BELOW. Response from Gwen Finley, General Manager at Heritage Inn Responded 3 days ago So sorry that we could not satisfy your needs as we tried at every turn to accommodate all of your demands. I personally granted your request for a late check out which was not to your liking. Additional keys are provided upon request. Again we danced as fast as we could for you knowing that we would never be able to make you happy. ADDENDUM: Manager says: they tried to accommodate our demands at every turn. FIRST the only thing we asked the guy in the office to do was wash out the dirty turntable for the microwave. THERE WAS NOTHING ELSE WE ASKED AND MUCH LESS “DEMANDED.” Manger says: she personally granted request for a late check out that was not to our liking. WE NEVER SAW THIS MANAGER DURING OUR ENTIRE STAY. The night before our departure, the woman in the office told us to ask the next morning. The next morning, an unpleasant guy at the desk we spoke with said they NEVER grant a late check out. He offered us use of the parking space, which would be USELESS to us if we checked out as required. Manager says: “danced as fast as we could,” AFTER CHECKING IN, WE VISITED THE OFFICE ONLY THRICE: ONCE WITH THE FILTHY MICROWAVE TURNTABLE AND TWICE IN RELATION TO A LATE CHECK OUT, WHICH WAS DECLINED. So, we do not know what the manager was dancing fast to. As I indicated before, we found defensive rebuttals and now we have found that these are not just defensive but can also contain blatant fabrications.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
tjktmos wrote a review Oct 2021
11 contributions1 helpful vote
Love this place, been here many times, family owned - so nice people, perfect location walking distance to everything, rooms clean and updated, great roof top deck with lounge chairs and tables - great views of the ocean, ocean drive, & sunsets. Would highly recommend this place, have been coming here for years.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwen Finley, General Manager at Heritage Inn
Responded Oct 17, 2021
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are always so happy to have satisfied guests that return year after year.
Read more
ctccac wrote a review Sep 2021
Long Island, New York29 contributions59 helpful votes
Having a wedding at Convention Center across the street, all sorts of restaurants around, a tiny 'dipping' pool occasionally open to stick feet in, the gorgeous beach right there, and parking lot around back to leave your car in - sounds great - but since we walked everywhere - it wasn't till we were leaving 2 days later that I saw my car was badly sideswiped with good amount of damage. Room was cleaned well, but I did wipe and spray down EVERYTHING. AC was very noisy when fan came on, but worked well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Companion443096 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I stayed at the Heritage Inn for three nights and feel it is a good value for Cape May. The location is very good is is across from the beach and close to the main shopping area and stores. It is a very clean facility. The staff is friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Corner suites are sunny.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
D P wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
The Heritage Inn is so convenient to everything going on. The owners and staff were especially helpful this year when my husband fell and broke his nose. They helped with emergency services and followed up to check on him and see if they could help.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwen Finley, General Manager at Heritage Inn
Responded Sep 16, 2021
We hope all is well with your husband and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
heritage hotel cape may
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyCape May
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Heritage Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Heritage Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cape May City Beaches (0.2 miles), Valentino's (0.3 miles), and East Lynne Theater Company (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Heritage Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Heritage Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Heritage Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heritage Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cape May Peanut Butter Co., Union Park Dining Room, and Hot Dog Tommy's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Heritage Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Heritage Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Cape May.
Are there any historical sites close to Heritage Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting World War II Lookout Tower (2.8 miles), Historic Cold Spring Village (3.1 miles), and Emlen Physick Estate (0.7 miles).
Does Heritage Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Heritage Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.