We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queen Victoria

Traveler (442)
Room & Suite (256)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 26 B&Bs in Cape May
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located in the heart Cape May's historic district, one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
1427Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,327
  • 74
  • 15
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sjtam wrote a review Nov 14
silver spring591 contributions254 helpful votes
We recently stayed in a third floor suite in the House of Royals building of the Queen Victoria. Overall I will give high marks for comfort, cleanliness, and location. Our suite had two full bathrooms, two TVs , a sitting room with a pull out couch and electric fireplace , a bar area with fully stocked fridge, ample coffee/tea, and a wine cooler. High quality toiletries, fluffy towels, towel warmer racks and robes were all very much appreciated. Room climate control was excellent although the bathrooms were cold at night if the doors remained shut. There is a second floor pantry with more sodas, coffee, tea, sherry and fresh baked treats. The building itself was not particularly welcoming, though, old carpet, very steep staircases ( yes I know this is typical in big old Victorians) and a quirky entrance system. There’s a bit of an impersonal feel to the inn, which I didn’t expect having stayed at so many other Victorian b&b’s, and a couple of the staff were a bit gruff in their manner. Breakfasts were good, and are served in the different buildings including the one we stayed in, though there were slim pickings in the last half hour of service so I’d suggest eating early. Overall, the decor and atmosphere has a faded, generic and impersonal, kind of utilitarian style to it, maybe more of a Victorian hotel than an inn, with less art , antiques and collectibles than Is more typically found in Victorian b&b’s , at least in my experience . Also, note that street parking is likely a challenge off season, as only a handful of rooms offer parking. But these were are all minor issues for us, and the excellent location and quiet, good night’s sleep each night made for a very nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We thank you for coming to stay with us. I'm quite surprised by your comments about the staff that is one of many things that guest love about the Inn the staff being kind and accomodating. I will have to have a discussion with the staff to see where we need to improve in these areas. I'm happy you slept well, enjoyed the ameneties we offer. We hope to see you in the future. Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
singingtothesky wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York20 contributions
+1
Property's Favorite Review
We stayed in the Crown Jewel and the pictures online did not do this place justice. It was even better in person! Everything was beautiful, clean and every amenity you could possibly need, was provided. Our room came with a private parking spot right outside our little cottage. This room is attached to the Queen Victoria and it’s two stories with a king bed and jacuzzi! Our room included breakfast, bicycles, beach chairs and towels. The first floor had a living area with tv, fireplace and the best two person shower. Water pressure was perfect! There was a wet bar with coffee maker, fridge filled with complementary drinks. Upstairs was the king bed and jacuzzi and another tv. Outside our cottage were two rocking chairs and small table. It was all perfect! We will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the crown jewel room so you can have your own private parking spot in front of your room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded Aug 1, 2022
Thank you, I love the Crown Jewel it is your own perfect little cottage that you never want to leave. We hope to see you you in the future. Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
c4me13 wrote a review Aug 2023
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania18 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
This was our 4th visit to the Queen Victoria but the first with our 2 adult children. The staff was very welcoming and were always there for any questions we may have had. The Prince Albert room was beautiful and included 2 queen beds, good sized bathroom and mini fridge. Pantry is always at your disposal. Delicious breakfasts and the daily teatime is a bonus. Complimentary bikes, beach chairs and towels were appreciated. Looking forward to our next stay at our home away from home!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking is difficult in season as Cape May has limited parking. Need to find the free parking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded Aug 7, 2023
Thank you for coming to continually stay with us. We love getting to know our guest and they are like family as often as they come. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sms101468 wrote a review Jul 2023
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania10 contributions4 helpful votes
This was our 14th stay in the Queen Victoria. This time we stayed in the room Princess Victoria in the House of Royals. We've stayed in that room before. The room was fantastic. Very spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. They always seem to remember us from year to year. Breakfast was tasty and each morning my wife was offered a pot of tea. We used the bikes, which were in great shape. Our stays in the Queen Victoria never disappoint. Can't wait for our 15th visit. Thanks so much. Maureen and Scott Smith
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded Jul 12, 2023
Dear Maureen & Scott, Thank you for returning to The Queen Victoria. We love that you contiually enjoy coming back and your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eugene G wrote a review Jul 2023
Charlotte, North Carolina9 contributions
We spent four nights at the Queen Victoria during the July 4th week holiday. We really didn't know what to expect, but our expectations were really exceeded during our stay. The staff were fantastic, but I would like to offer a shout out to both Monica and Ashley. They would take the time to help us in any way possible to help our stay be more enjoyable. Our room was immaculate and the staff were wonderful in making up the room promptly each day. We look forward to going back during the Christmas season or perhaps next summer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The hotel staff will do a great job helping you determine which room would suit your specific...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded Jul 10, 2023
Hello, Thank you for coming to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Monica and Ashley are amazing are great at what they do. The housekeeping staff is excellent. We look forward to seeing you during the Christmas season you are going to love it. Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
geowd3 wrote a review Jun 2023
Trenton, New Jersey69 contributions28 helpful votes
Once again we have spent several days enjoying a stay in Cape May. The Queen Victoria is a major reason we enjoy Cape May so much. The location is terrific, walking distance to Washington Mall, the beach and many restaurants. And it's only a short drive to many points of interest.... Zoo, Naval Museum, wineries, distilleries and breweries. We enjoy talking with other visitors staying at the Queen and the staff if terrific. Jamie, Ashley, Brianna and Monica, along with the rest of the staff, do all they can to make sure that our stay is enjoyable. The food, cleanliness and comfort are all commendable. We look forward to returning (already have reservations).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded Jun 9, 2023
Thank you for coming to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want our guests to have a great time and fell like they are home. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NJRile wrote a review May 2023
Tabernacle,NJ50 contributions30 helpful votes
After staying at several different Bed & Breakfasts in Cape May, once we stayed at the Queen Victoria, we come back here every visit to the shore. It is absolutely the cleanest we've ever stayed in. Friendly staff , great breakfast and we met the nicest people here. We come as ofter as we can and are booked for another visit already.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Great location, close to beach and shopping
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded May 24, 2023
Thank you for returning to stay with us. We love having guests repeatedly come back to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn T wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
Upon arrival, we were shocked to learn that there is no parking available on site. The innkeeper told us that we would need to drive a few blocks to find unmetered parking. It was a challenge to find a spot and when we finally did, it was a long walk back to the inn. When they finally called to say our room was ready, we didn't want to lose our parking spot, so we had to trek back to our car and carry our bags all the way back. Definitely not the best start to our romantic getaway. We stayed two nights in the Princess Alice room in the House of Royals. The pictures online do not represent the room accurately. The bathroom sink is actually in the room directly across from the bed. There is a small awkward couch that only accommodate one person somewhat comfortably. The balcony is nice and the rocking chairs comfortable but the "ocean view" is a stretch. Yes, if you look down the street and out towards the horizon, you can see where the ocean is located. There is a pantry on the same floor and it was stocked with water, soda, coffee pods, and a large assortment of tea bags. There was also a bottle of sherry with glasses. There was a large ice maker, glasses, mugs, ice buckets, and corkscrews. Having such easy access to the pantry was a definite plus. If you are looking for places to sit and chat both inside and out, then do not stay in the House of Royals. While there is a "dining room" with tables and chairs, there is absolutely no where else to hang out in this building. Breakfast both mornings was a huge disappointment! Buffet style: the first morning there was a tin with apple stuffed French toast and another tin with sausage just sitting on the table. There was fruit, granola, bagels, and English muffins. I truly expected something more upscale or even something that reflected effort. The second morning, we had to search for where breakfast was being served. It was two buildings away and this breakfast was just as disappointing as the first. Biscuits, a hashbrown casserole in a tin, sausage gravy in a tin and sausage patties just sitting on the table. The was also fruit, bagels, English muffins and granola. Again, I felt like there was no effort to make breakfast appealing. The food was lukewarm at best since it is just sitting out. At a bed and breakfast, you would expect the breakfast to be more upscale and interesting. I will end with some positive comments. The location is great. It is walking distance to the shopping, beach, and most activities. The staff that we interacted with were personable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded May 23, 2023
Dear Lynn, I'm very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to The Queen Victoria. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, I'm personally disappointed we failed to achieve that in your case. It appears that you booked your room online it is sometimes difficult to get a sense of how a room is laid out. It is also stated on our website that only five suites provide parking. It is always best to call us with any questions you maybe unsure about. We are more than happy to help and answer any questions. Over the years a few (very few) people have complained about our food. The Assistant Innkeeper each morning personally checks to make sure the hot plate is working and hot as well as the cook. We strive to make the setup look appealing we never serve anything in a tin the casserole and meat are in casserole dishes served on top of a hot plate. We have a variety of food besides the granola, English muffins, and bagels. We make 95% of everything from scratch on the property. When you stay with us you have access to all three buildings you can sit in the common areas of the other two as well as the porches. This way you get to experience the Inn as a whole. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jeddin6425 wrote a review Jan 2023
Woodbridge, NJ12 contributions14 helpful votes
My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2021 in the Prince Albert Room. Our stay was pleasant enough but were very disappointed in the condition of the room. There is no excuse for the storage under the beds, rusty baseboard heat covers in the bathroom, dirty rug, and don't know how the staff was able to vacuum under the bed because of the heavy bed frames or window frames. That's something that shouldn't have been there. The light on the desk needed either a bulb or was not working properly. We have stayed numerous times at your bed and breakfast and had no issues with the other rooms.. The room would have been fine if these minor details were addressed prior to our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded Jan 18, 2023
Thank you for your review. Thank you for the feedback. The windows are the storms windows for the room you are correct there is no excuse but, unfortunately due to storage issues in these buildings we have to store them there, I will have to find somewhere to store them. We have painted the baseboards since your stay as well. The rugs have been replaced since then. In the future if you have any maintanace issues please bring to our attention right away and we will fix the issue right away. I hope this won't deter you from coming back to stay withus. Thank you Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S wrote a review Dec 2022
Sun City Center, Florida42 contributions22 helpful votes
We spent 4 nights at the beginning of December and stayed in the "Covent Garden". Check-in was like a whirl wind canned speech that the receptionist had made a thousand times. We were given our keys and told where our room was. We have stayed in a lot of B&B's but this was the first time we felt like we were checking into a hotel. Most B&B's will take you to your room, open the door for you and ask if you need anything. Not here. Still, talking to some of the patrons, they come back year after year. The "Queen" has that kind of following. Positives: My wife and I really enjoyed talking with the frequent yearly patrons over tea and sweets. Breakfast was a selection of an Omelette, fresh made sweet bread, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. Service at breakfast was excellent. Our room was clean and they came by daily to change out towels and refresh the room. Negatives: The #1 issue is "Parking". We went in the off season and we never did find street parking. We found parking on the side of the building. We walked (even though it was cold, wet & windy) to most restaurants or to shop because we didn't want to lose our parking space. I got an email from the Queen that they would be happy to make dinner reservations during our stay a couple of months in advance. I sent them a list. I never received any kind of response. I eventually just made my own reservations. This is only suggestions for future new patrons. Be one of the first one's to get to breakfast in the morning. There is limited seating. If you come later most of the desired berry fruit served in the community bowl will be gone. Then you'll be stuck with what's left, usually chopped melon's.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Harvey, General Manager at The Queen Victoria
Responded Jan 9, 2023
Dear John, Thank you for the feedback. We have stopped taking guests to the room due to COVID and to help with people not having to wait at check in as well. Sorry to hear that you sent an email to request dinner reservations and we never received the email, we definitely would have answered it and helped you with that. The parking you did find is street parking around the Inn wheter on the side or out front. There are specific rooms that do have parking. We do offer breakfast in two buildings if the one building was a little to crowded for you. We refill our buffet often, the host would have been more then happy to add berries grapes, whatever you needed. We hope that you will consider coming back to stay with us and be able to improve on the suggestions you have made for us. Sincerely, Jamie Harvey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape May area.
PRICE RANGE
$319 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the queen victoria hotel cape may
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyCape May
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE QUEEN VICTORIA - Updated 2023 Prices & B&B Reviews (Cape May, NJ)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Queen Victoria
Which popular attractions are close to The Queen Victoria?
Nearby attractions include Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater (0.2 miles), Washington Street Mall (0.2 miles), and Valentino's (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Queen Victoria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The Queen Victoria?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Queen Victoria?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Queen Victoria?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Queen Victoria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cape May Peanut Butter Co., Hot Dog Tommy's, and Union Park Dining Room.
Is The Queen Victoria located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Cape May.
Are there any historical sites close to The Queen Victoria?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Cold Spring Village (3.1 miles), World War II Lookout Tower (2.6 miles), and Emlen Physick Estate (0.7 miles).
Is The Queen Victoria accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.