We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
14 Patterson Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (33)
Room & Suite (18)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#12 of 37 hotels in Cape May
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
The Southwinds is a family friendly motel located just 1/2 block off the beach with 1 bedroom suites and 2 bedroom apartments all with full bath. Additionally there are studios units with full bath as well.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
132Reviews5Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 102
  • 21
  • 4
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
fall987 wrote a review Sep 2022
Sewell, New Jersey128 contributions124 helpful votes
This was a last minute weekend and finding availability in Cape May was not easy. I found South Winds on Trip Advisor and it sounded ok for us. It’s a smaller older motel a few blocks from the historic section. It is well maintained and very clean. It’s only 1/2 block from the beach so it’s very convenient as well has having off street parking which is a god send down there. You could see they had done a superficial upgrade to the rooms with newer furniture and flooring. The tub was old and not in the best shape but certainly usable. When we entered the room on arrival there was a strong odor of cleaning solution or deodorizer; we opened the windows and it quickly disappeared We had a kitchenette with small frig, stove, microwave, and kitchen utensils which was very nice to have. There is no pool but there are picnic tables and charcoal grills available. The area is quiet and the room clerk professional and polite. If you don’t mind a few minute walk to the visitor area of Cape May this is a nice little hideaway
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: I didn’t see any ramps, but it is only 2-3 steps to the first level rooms. There is no elevator....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GeorgeTirebiter wrote a review Sep 2022
New York City, New York11 contributions18 helpful votes
Hardly the fanciest place in the world, or in Cape May. But a warm and friendly welcome, clean, comfortable, nice space with living room and a little kitchen, and you're all of a minute or two from the beach. Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
denisebuchanan1975 wrote a review Aug 2022
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
The room was very clean and the staff was helpful and attentive to our needs. The location was PERFECT and we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go..including the beautiful beach! We plan to make this an annual girls’ trip. 😊🏖
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwen Finley, Owner at The Southwinds
Responded Sep 3, 2022
Thank you so much for the terrific review and yes we would love to see you make this an annual girls trip!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanh T wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We were there this past week and had a great time. We recommend The South Winds to all our friends and family because of the exceptional service we received. The room was clean and spacious. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. It was a few minutes walk to the beach. We recommend to anyone visiting Cape May.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dana M wrote a review Jul 2022
Briarcliff Manor, New York1 contribution
My friend and I had such a great stay at the south winds!! Right by the beach probably about a 5 minute walk! Close and convenient location to everything. Room was clean and spacious. Air conditioning is great and cools down the entire room. Mark, Sharon and Vince were very accommodating and made our stay feel like home! Would definitely stay here again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: The parking lot is a little tight and the spaces are angled so backing into the spot makes it...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Frank T wrote a review Jul 2022
Weinheim, Germany1 contribution
We arrived very late at night and of course, the lights in the office where out and nobody in it. But there was a note at the door, with explanation how we can get to the room. That was a great relief. Next morning we checked in and had a nice chat with Gwen, explaining important things and answering our questions. The room was very comfortable. The windows had mosquito nets. There was also a kitchen and tools for cooking The hotel is less than 5 walking minutes away from the beach, but in side street, so the noice from the main street or party and restaurants wouldn’t disturb. Cape May is a wonderful town for a vacation. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
George Halbruner wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
My wife and I stayed for 4 days / 3 nights along with my brother and his daughters all in separate rooms. The staff was very courteous and professional. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We highly recommend the South Winds for a great stay in Cape May. My family will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sandra W wrote a review Oct 2021
Morrisville, Pennsylvania3 contributions4 helpful votes
I found a great rate online and decided to book this hotel. The room was exactly as I needed with a small kitchenette. It was clean but the floor could've used a wet mop. The motel-like building is close to the beach but on a quiet street. There's no boulevard noise but there's also no ocean view. The owners were very hospitable and visible on the property. You can tell they took great pride and care. The landscaping was very nice. Overall, I had a very good stay and hope to visit again soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
rcampling wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
Stayed two nights very Expensive. floored and cabinetry has substantial gaps not professional (DIY project). Not properly cleaned. Part time attendant, had to wait an hour to check in. Will not stay here again. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwen Finley, General Manager at The Southwinds
Responded Dec 9, 2021
So sorry you don't like our newly renovated property as we just renovated 2 years ago, completely re-doing all of our rooms. To date our guests have enjoyed the new look. Perhaps we are just not you style but we are always open to suggestions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CristinaB7777 wrote a review Oct 2021
Farmingdale, New York1 contribution
Extremely friendly staff and very well kept property. Especially loved the outdoor shower and clothes like to air out the beach towels. Best location…very quiet block with private parking and only steps from the beach that even my 6 yr old didn’t complain about!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwen Finley, General Manager at The Southwinds
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Thank you for your wonderful review we love that you had such a terrific stay at our property and hope to see you again next year. Have a warm and wonderful winter. !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Heritage Southwinds
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyCape May
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SOUTHWINDS - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Cape May, NJ)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Southwinds
Which popular attractions are close to The Southwinds?
Nearby attractions include Washington Street Mall (0.4 miles), South Cape May Meadows (0.3 miles), and Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Southwinds?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at The Southwinds?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Southwinds?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Southwinds?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cape May Peanut Butter Co., Union Park Dining Room, and Washington Inn.
Is The Southwinds located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Cape May.
Are there any historical sites close to The Southwinds?
Many travelers enjoy visiting World War II Lookout Tower (2.1 miles), Historic Cold Spring Village (3.3 miles), and Emlen Physick Estate (1.0 miles).