We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Beach Shack

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Beach Shack
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 300: English reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel/motel was way overpriced for what you get. Very loud due to outside bar (very aggravating if you have small children). No phones in room (bizarre) terrible wifi I had no internet from Thursday-Friday. This hotel seems more appropriate for college kids not a family. Would much rather pay more for a stay at the sandpiper or La Mer... More 

Helpful?
Thank MeghanK23
NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband booked a room for us and our 2 small children at the last minute. I quickly consulted TA, and was a bit nervous due to the ranking. Well, I should have known better as they are affiliated with Congress Hall. From the minute we checked in, it was fantastic. Our room was comfortable and clean, but certainly not... More 

Helpful?
Thank seashellnj
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was dated but ok. Had a very musty smell and linens were damp due to humidity. Wifi was sporadic at best. Pricey for the accommodations. Even though bar/ restaurant was on site it was not loud. Pet friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Belleville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this hotel could not be more perfect! You just cross the street and the beach is there. There is hotel staff waiting to seat you since they provide umbrellas and comfortable chairs and towels! The pool area also provides drink and food service. It is a short drive or walk to restaurants and shops. Although the Rusty... More 

Helpful?
Thank josselynmoreno
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really cute beach motel with a great location and friendly staff. Nice view from an upper floor room too! We loved the location across from the beach and the easy walk to shops and restaurants. Ate at the Rusty Nail and really enjoyed the atmosphere. We liked the music and atmosphere and felt that the music was not too loud... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toddlermommy12
CRGManagement, General Manager at Beach Shack, responded to this review

Dear Toddlermommy12, Thanks so much for your kind words. I am so happy to hear that you liked everything. I hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best, Charley Gaudio - General Manager More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were not sure about this motel because we dont usually do motels but we were on a budget. Very rude lady in sales, name started with A but I dont want to say any names. We called in and she was talking down to me the entire time. We said we are on a budget and she said this... More 

Helpful?
Thank geegeeha2015
CRGManagement, General Manager at Beach Shack, responded to this review

Dear geegeeha2015, I apologize for the way you were treated by our reservations agent. It is completely unacceptable behavior and I will share your comments with the team. I'm very pleased that the on-site staff was nice & helpful. I am also glad to hear that you liked our restaurant, The Rusty Nail. Please do come and join us again.... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were celebrating a wedding, a special birthday and our 25th wedding anniversary and were only too happy to splurge on these celebrations. However, the Beach Shack is not Congress Hall. It is really a high priced motel. So make sure when you make reservations that you know where you're going to be! However, I must say that they did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
CRGManagement, General Manager at Beach Shack, responded to this review

Dear Susan D, Wow, thank you for splurging on your celebrations and staying with us! Congratulations! We are so pleased that you loved our pillows and had a wonderful night's sleep. We work very hard to elevate the bedding experience in our guest rooms and are glad you noticed. Best, Charley Gaudio General Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great Hotel you can bring your Dog. Mojo loves it. The rooms can use a little renovation. The Rusty Nail is great. We going back this Summer with our Beautiful Golden Retriever "Mojo" The Beach is right in front of the Hotel. Nice Pool. Great friendly stuff. Very low key.

Helpful?
Thank Annegret v
CRGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Shack, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review! We are so happy that you and Mojo loved the property. We look forward to welcoming you back again this summer. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What fun my best friend and I had staying at the Beach Shack last week! The renovated rooms are an upgrade to the motels we remember staying at in the 60's and 70's but still have that kitschy old motel feel. If you're looking for a spacious room and bathroom or a fancy lobby with lots of amenities, don't stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property was perfect for our needs and provided extra value. Such as complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas at multiple beach locations. Loved the sand chairs and the fire pit. Also spent time at Congress hall. The historic tour of the 200 year old hotel was a highlight of the trip. Only complaint is that we got the worst room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#25 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: $108 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay