We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Periwinkle Inn

#22 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
GreenLeadersSilver level
1039 Beach Avenue, PO Box 220, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Periwinkle Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Governor posted a state of emergency so we were unable to come down for our weekend. The hotel charged us the full amount of the weekend anyway. I called and they said we would be contacted if state of emergency and that we wouldn't have to be charged. When I heard nothing I called back and another girl said no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Spolvino
Richlandtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

From booking to checkout our experience was pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable. We were particularly impressed with the attention to detail by housekeeping and the beautiful groundskeeping and pool area. Great location on the beachfront and a great value for our money. The Periwinkle is our new "go to" place in Cape May.

Helpful?
Thank Thom R
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

My wife and I spent four nights at the Periwinkle. It was a pleasant stay from reservations to check-out. Our room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of storage, nice TV, and nice ocean view. We have been going to Cape May in September (anniversary-59th) for 30+ years, this was one of the best experiences, including past stays at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JAY F
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

It was our first time to Cape May, Beautiful town. The Periwinkle Inn is a nice, clean small hotel. Room was very clean, views of the ocean. The staff was very helpful when asking questions about the area.. I would definitely go back again. Great location, directly across from the beach..

Helpful?
Thank mark B
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I just checked out of the Periwinkle this morning after a four night stay. It' the third time we've stayed here and love it. This time we were in one of the two floor rooms, that was really nice. The rooms are very nice and clean, I had bought tickets on line for the wine festival and... More 

Helpful?
Thank cwoje
Union City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

The review before this is 100% correct. I had an identical experience. They even laughed and said "we'll add your name to the pile of complaints." I also asked to just move the reservation and they still would not do it. I also was surprised when asked to talk to a manager she said that person was unavailable. Be careful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review

In all cases whether you are reserving a room direct or in direct, our cancellation policy is publicly displayed. Direct reservations both through our website and/or by phoning direct, customers are informed at the time of placing their reservation and a written confirmation is sent with a cancellation policy in writing. Booking agencies such as Booking .Com the policy is... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

Made non-refundable reservations for 10/02/15-10/04/15. Called to cancel on 10/02 and asked for credit to be applied to future dates. Reason for cancellation was NJ State of Emergency, coastal flood and high wind warnings. I Called several times before 10/02 and was asked to watch the weather and call back. When I called on 10/02, I was also told that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol Ann L
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review

The Periwinkle Inn appreciates your concerns and respects your personal decision to cancel. A non-refundable policy is never easy to implement. A coastal warning is common when tides are forecast to be higher than normal. Safety for our guests, and employees as well, is always our first priority. Since there was not a restriction on travel to Cape May and... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

We love the Periwinkle Inn. This is our second year in a row and we don't think there is a bad room in the place. We walk around all of Cape May and admire all of the beautiful houses, the quaint Inns and luxurious hotels, but we always want to come back to the Periwinkle. We have never had anything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken D
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

First time we've stayed here and really liked it. Clean and appealing with friendly staff and comfortable quarters. Our room was ready prior to normal check-in time and we were warmly welcomed. Love that they have an elevator, which helped upon arrival and leaving. Grounds were well-tended as was the pool. We stayed on second floor, nice private balcony with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
Warminster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

One of the nicest motels I have ever stayed in at the Jersey shore. Very clean, super upgraded room, great location. Can't wait to come back! The grounds are beautiful. The resort reminds me of New Orleans with all the wrought iron and the courtyard layout.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#8 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#13 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#16 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay