We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Save
Share
501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2402
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (152)
360
Panoramas (27)
Room & Suite (332)

About

#28 of 37 hotels in Cape May
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Marquis de Lafayette Hotel is centrally located in America's original sea side resort. Wake up each morning to peaceful oceanfront views from your private balcony. Have breakfast in our restaurant to get your day started. The beach and famous Washington Street Mall are only steps away. Cape May is a city full of history, theater, great shopping and dining. Relax in our outdoor pool and hot tub. Don't forget to grab lunch, dinner or cocktails at our Barefoot Bar where you can also enjoy live music. The perfect place to reflect upon a satisfying day.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
498Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 146
  • 139
  • 89
  • 53
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JimL wrote a review Sep 13
1 contribution
We stayed at the Marquis De Lafayette to celebrate our Anniversary. It was our first time staying here and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The rooms were very nice, and the balconies all have spectacular views of the beach. We overlooked the pool and the bar area and got to enjoy the live music and entertainment while relaxing on our balcony. And the hotel was centrally located which made it easy to walk to the beach, as well as, to many of the restaurants and shops. Joe Morano (Manager) and his entire staff were extremely nice. We had a minor issue with our room and Dave from maintenance came up quickly and was extremely courteous and helpful. Mr. Morano was also gracious and attentive as he wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay... including sending us a bottle of Champagne for our Anniversary... thank you! We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return on our next visit to Cape Best regards, Hope & Jim
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Renee S wrote a review Sep 9
3 contributions
My family spent 4 days in Cape May for the Labor Day Holiday weekend. We were in a 3rd floor room of the hotel. This was our first true stay/experience at the Marquis. The room was bright, comfortable, and stylish, with wonderful views of the beach and ocean. The hotel blends the charming grandeur of the Victorian era with the modernity of a 21st century hotel. Accommodating/professional staff with exceptionally clean facilities, a decent sized pool and a hot tub. The Barefoot Bar was open too with a happy hour and live entertainment. Constructive criticism would be...the rear walkways and staircase in "north building" where the dog-friendly suites are on the 1st floor. These areas are frequently used by guests as well as staff. The walkway could be cleaner, and repainted. The staircase on the 1st floor should be scrubbed and cleaned of garbage/debris, and the staircase should be repainted (light grey or white)....would really improve the character of the hotel with these simple, cheap upgrades. We are looking forward to returning to Cape May and the Marquis next Summer!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Service
Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are on the first floor. Third floor room has a great balcony view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Morano, Guest Services / Front Office at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind response and we will certainly share it with the rest of our staff. In addition, your constructive criticism is much appreciated and we will be doing upgrades during the fall and winter months. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year! With kind regards, Joe Morano, Rooms Manager
Read more
Jason P wrote a review Sep 9
Hillsdale, New Jersey4 contributions
My wife and I spent a week in Cape May in June, this summer. We were in a 2nd floor room on the north side of the hotel. We are regular summer folks in Wildwood Crest/Cape May....growing up I spent a couple weeks every summer with my family in one or the other...my wife and her parents went to cape May one week every summer. So it is a tradition we are happy to perpetuate. This was our first true stay/experience at the Marquis. The room was bright, comfortable, and stylish. Wonderful view of the beach and ocean. The hotel blends the charming grandeur of the Victorian era with the mdernity of a 20th-21st century hotel. Accomodating/professional staff, very clean facilities, lovely heated pool and whirlpooltub. Constructive criticism would be...the rear walkways and staircase in "north building" where the dog-friendly suites are on the 1st floor. These areas are frequently used by guests as well as staff. The walkway could be cleaner, maybe repainted. The staircase and the landing area on 1st floor were dreadful.....should definitely be scrubbed and cleaned of garbage/debris, and the staircase should be repainted (light grey or white)....would really improve the character of the hotel with these simple, cheap upgrades. Looking forward to hopefully returning to Cape May and the Marquis next Summer!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Doors to balconies require extra shove and pull up on handle to lock.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Morano, Guest Services / Front Office at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind response and we will certainly share it with the rest of our staff. In addition, your constructive criticism is much appreciated and we will be doing upgrades during the fall and winter months. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year! With kind regards, Joe Morano, Rooms Manager
Read more
Beth J wrote a review Sep 5
1 contribution
As a manager of multi family housing I understand the restrictions under the current climate and specifically asked while booking our stay. This was our fourth yr staying here and didn’t have high expectations as the hotel is quite dated but we stay because of the location. We will never stay here again!!!!!! You lost our business because you lied to us not once but three times during our one week stay. Shame on you for taking our money and not being honest! Your desk staff is inept, obnoxious and rude! Thank you for ruining our vacation we worked so hard for!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Morano, Guest Services / Front Office at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
In response to this survey, you were asked to leave the pool when it was closing. As our pool closes at 7p, at times we had decided to keep the pool open if it was crowded past 7p or until it got dark. Our pool does not have night lighting and for the safety of our guests, we do not leave it unattended. When asked to leave, you refused and argued with our pool attendant, verbally abusing him. You clearly were intoxicated so the pool attendant called for assistance. Our maintenance engineer arrived and tried to assist, but he too was verbally abused and racially profiled. You then went to the front desk, verbally abused our front desk agent, stormed into our back offices and proceeded to go behind the front desk screaming for a manager. At that time, you were told that we will call the police if you don't calm down. You then left the pool area and went back to your suite. Though the hours of the pool were changing, you accused us of not being honest with you. As stated, we were keeping the pool open later for our guests to enjoy and closing it at dusk. With regard to our staff, they are in no way rude and inept. They are kind, professional and care very much about our guests, as I do. We have received numerous 5 star comments on numerous websites about their professionalism. In closing, Trip Advisor advised me to respond telling our side of the story so you and others can read it in the hope that others will not use this survey as your decision not to stay with us. With kind regards, Joe Morano, Rooms Manager
Read more
Denise C wrote a review Sep 3
5 contributions
My husband and I stayed here August 2-5. What a wonderful experience. On Tuesday hurricane Isaias hit the coast. It was intense. We were on the 6th floor and the wind was howling. Eventually the power went out. Anything we asked for they did it quickly. I was so pleased with the caring staff. To top it all off when we arrived back home on Wednesday the hotel called and said they were refunding our entire stay due to the storm. I have never heard of anyone doing that without being asked. The storm was not their fault but they stepped up to the plate. We are going back on Friday 9/4 for Labor day to spend our money there again. We found our forever Hotel!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try the deluxe King room, its the best in the house!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Morano, Guest Services / Front Office at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Joe Morano, Rooms Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marquis de lafayette cape may, hotel marquis de lafayette
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyCape May
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Washington Street Mall (0.2 miles), Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater (0.3 miles), and Cape May Olive Oil Company (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chill, Union Park Dining Room, and Cape May Peanut Butter Co..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Marquis De Lafayette Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Cape May.
Are pets allowed at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sunset Beach Gifts (2.8 miles), World War II Lookout Tower (2.6 miles), and Historic Cold Spring Village (3.2 miles).
Does Marquis De Lafayette Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Marquis De Lafayette Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.