We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Dormer House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Dormer House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 189: English reviews
Connecticut
Reviewed October 12, 2016

I spent three days at the Dormer House over the Victorian Weekend October 2016. I traveled alone. Upon arriving, I asked to switch my room to the third floor as I decided wanted a total quiet. Diane was quick to make the change and carried my luggage up for me. Everything I asked for at the property was met instantly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lingo114
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. I'm so happy that we were able to accommodate your room change to give you more privacy on the 3rd floor. Thank you so much for your kind words about breakfast and tea as...

Whippany, New Jersey
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Been to a number of B&B's in Cape May over the years. Stayed at the Dormer recently for the first time. Room was clean and good size. The food (breakfast and afternoon snacks) were very good. Maid service in the room was not quite there yet. New owners, so I expect they will get it all working. Overall, I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RalphK328
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all your comments. It's always good to know where we can improve. So happy you enjoyed breakfast and afternoon tea! Thanks again, Diana The Dormer House

New Castle, Delaware
Reviewed September 13, 2016

My wife and I recently had a short vacation in Cape May, NJ. We stayed at the Dormer House's Smith Cottage. This place was so nice. In the living room we found a jacuzzi which was fun to try out. Our cottage had two rooms, the bedroom and living room. The breakfasts at this B&B were excellent. It was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Curt K
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Smith Cottage! Thank you for such a nice review and we hope to see you again! -Diana The Dormer House

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Wonderful time at the Dormer House this summer. Rooms are beautiful. I never wanted to leave the front porch, cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was good. On Tuesday, breakfast was a short walk to a buffet at Chalfontes and this was the best! We will most definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmitch99
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a kind review! We hope to see you again in the future. :) -Diana The Dormer House

Glassboro, New Jersey
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Great location and very nice hospitality. I would definitely recommend this historic beautiful bed and breakfast in beautiful Cape May. We have stayed at numerous places is Cape May and this was one of the best values we have stayed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam46462
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words and please visit us again next time you're in beautiful Cape May! -Diana The Dormer House

Ambler, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had never stayed at a B&B before but we decided to book a long weekend at The Dormer House at the end of July. We loved it! They have their own parking lot and all of the staff were very friendly. They also offer free beach towels and chairs. The beach was only about 3-4 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are very happy you had a great stay with us. Glad you made it down for breakfast as well! Thanks again and hope to see you again soon. -Diana The Dormer House

Belle Mead, NJ
Reviewed August 13, 2016

We were lucky to find a one night opening at The Dormer House. Most places require more than one night booking. Lovely porch upon entering with inside and outside seating. The foyer and living room area is decorated with period antiques. The inside porch and living area are not air conditioned. With a heat index of over 100 it felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

It certainly can get pretty hot in these Summer months! It's definitely nice there are air conditioners in each room to cool down. And then you have the "true Victorian experience" around the rest of the house! ;) LOL But so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime soon. Best, Diana The Dormer House

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I stayed here in the off-season for a conference but had a wonderful experience. The breakfast was a little limited as a result but, not being mush of a breakfast person, that was fine. Friends who have stayed here in the high season have told me the breakfast is great during those times. In any case, the room was comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtntrvlr99
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We try to be as flexible as possible with our breakfasts. Alternating between a bread day to an egg day all year round but can accommodate special requests or allergies and such. So sorry it seemed limited! I'm so glad you enjoyed staying with us and you are certainly welcome back any time!...

Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend at the Dormer House and can not put into words how special this place is. From the front porch swing to the amazing breakfast to watching the trolleys and carriages roll down the street... It was all truly special. My bf and I went bed and breakfast sightseeing to assess would we have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer L
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future. :) -Diana The Dormer House

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Dormer house. We stayed in the Smith Cottage which is a two room suite. The accommodations while not perfect, were fine for the amount of time we stayed. There is a jacuzzi tub in the "living room". We found this a bit awkward. The bedroom was nice. However, my complaint is with housekeeping. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PamInABQ
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry for the dust you mentioned, we try so hard to keep everything as clean as possible and it seems that was overlooked. But I appreciate you letting me know about your issues so we can take...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 38 in Cape May
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#8 of 44 in Cape May
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#11 of 44 in Cape May
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 44 in Cape May
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Dormer House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dormer House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms pictures and details are online”
 of 5 bubbles Lingo114, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“first floor room, with windows looking on to the outside porch. Shady.”
 of 5 bubbles 727lindaw, Aug 13, 2016 | Read review
“Dormer suite was a LUXURY: spacious, hidden from traffic areas on the third floor of the house (very quite), and tons of windows!”
 of 5 bubbles torin465, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
“Check out their website for a detailed list and location of each room to choose which is best for you.”
 of 5 bubbles shawnc866, Nov 20, 2015 | Read review
“Our favorite is the Smith Cottage-also the priciest. We have stayed in 2 other delightful suites also.”
 of 5 bubbles S9199ACrichardg, Aug 31, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question