We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Dormer House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Dormer House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location and very nice hospitality. I would definitely recommend this historic beautiful bed and breakfast in beautiful Cape May. We have stayed at numerous places is Cape May and this was one of the best values we have stayed it.

Helpful?
Thank Adam46462
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I had never stayed at a B&B before but we decided to book a long weekend at The Dormer House at the end of July. We loved it! They have their own parking lot and all of the staff were very friendly. They also offer free beach towels and chairs. The beach was only about 3-4 blocks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
Belle Mead, NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky to find a one night opening at The Dormer House. Most places require more than one night booking. Lovely porch upon entering with inside and outside seating. The foyer and living room area is decorated with period antiques. The inside porch and living area are not air conditioned. With a heat index of over 100 it felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here in the off-season for a conference but had a wonderful experience. The breakfast was a little limited as a result but, not being mush of a breakfast person, that was fine. Friends who have stayed here in the high season have told me the breakfast is great during those times. In any case, the room was comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank mtntrvlr99
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from a weekend at the Dormer House and can not put into words how special this place is. From the front porch swing to the amazing breakfast to watching the trolleys and carriages roll down the street... It was all truly special. My bf and I went bed and breakfast sightseeing to assess would we have been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Dormer house. We stayed in the Smith Cottage which is a two room suite. The accommodations while not perfect, were fine for the amount of time we stayed. There is a jacuzzi tub in the "living room". We found this a bit awkward. The bedroom was nice. However, my complaint is with housekeeping. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PamInABQ
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry for the dust you mentioned, we try so hard to keep everything as clean as possible and it seems that was overlooked. But I appreciate you letting me know about your issues so we can take... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Dormer Suite for two midweek nights before memorial day weekend (the calm before the storm!) and had a lovely experience. This was my first bed and breakfast stay and I extremely pleased this was my first one was such a success. We arrive late afternoon from Princeton, parked the car in the available... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tori N
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for these kind words! Yes, the on site parking is definitely a plus in Cape May especially during the busy season. It certainly helps being close enough to town and the beach that you can just park and then forget about the car until you have to unfortunately return home. So glad you enjoyed our... More 

Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

My wife and I stayed here 6/3 to 6/5 and it was a wonderful experience. It was my Christmas gift (I like to go to Cape May in the summer but hear it's wonderful during the holiday months). It was a charming, warming, and relaxing experience. We arrived on Friday and the room (the Sharon room) was nice and comfy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank onellife210
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and you are welcome back anytime! :) Have a great summer, Diana The Dormer House More 

Manchester, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Smith Cottage- beautiful little place. We had a whirlpool tub alloy ourselves. Very romantic! The bed was really comfortable and we both slept like ROCKS. The sitting room has a faux fireplace for ambiance. The shower is big enough for two. And breakfast was superb. The coffee is delicious!

Helpful?
Thank unsissy
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wonderful! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast too. :) We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our home and hope to see you again sometime in the future! Thanks again, Diana The Dormer House More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the Dormer House and loved it. We were supposed to stay there at the end of the summer, but our reservation didn't go through. They not only got us a place to stay back in August, they gave us 2 free nights of our choice at their place. We chose the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita S
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

I'm so glad you were able to come back and spend 2 nights with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our property! It really means so much to us to hear and I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you are able to get away again sometime... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 45 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#11 of 45 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing