We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Dormer House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Dormer House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 188: English reviews
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been to a number of B&B's in Cape May over the years. Stayed at the Dormer recently for the first time. Room was clean and good size. The food (breakfast and afternoon snacks) were very good. Maid service in the room was not quite there yet. New owners, so I expect they will get it all working. Overall, I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank RalphK328
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
328 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I recently had a short vacation in Cape May, NJ. We stayed at the Dormer House's Smith Cottage. This place was so nice. In the living room we found a jacuzzi which was fun to try out. Our cottage had two rooms, the bedroom and living room. The breakfasts at this B&B were excellent. It was also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Curt K
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful time at the Dormer House this summer. Rooms are beautiful. I never wanted to leave the front porch, cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was good. On Tuesday, breakfast was a short walk to a buffet at Chalfontes and this was the best! We will most definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank jmitch99
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Great location and very nice hospitality. I would definitely recommend this historic beautiful bed and breakfast in beautiful Cape May. We have stayed at numerous places is Cape May and this was one of the best values we have stayed it.

Helpful?
Thank Adam46462
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words and please visit us again next time you're in beautiful Cape May! -Diana The Dormer House More 

Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had never stayed at a B&B before but we decided to book a long weekend at The Dormer House at the end of July. We loved it! They have their own parking lot and all of the staff were very friendly. They also offer free beach towels and chairs. The beach was only about 3-4 blocks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are very happy you had a great stay with us. Glad you made it down for breakfast as well! Thanks again and hope to see you again soon. -Diana The Dormer House More 

Belle Mead, NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

We were lucky to find a one night opening at The Dormer House. Most places require more than one night booking. Lovely porch upon entering with inside and outside seating. The foyer and living room area is decorated with period antiques. The inside porch and living area are not air conditioned. With a heat index of over 100 it felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

It certainly can get pretty hot in these Summer months! It's definitely nice there are air conditioners in each room to cool down. And then you have the "true Victorian experience" around the rest of the house! ;) LOL But so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime soon. Best, Diana The Dormer House More 

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

I stayed here in the off-season for a conference but had a wonderful experience. The breakfast was a little limited as a result but, not being mush of a breakfast person, that was fine. Friends who have stayed here in the high season have told me the breakfast is great during those times. In any case, the room was comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank mtntrvlr99
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We try to be as flexible as possible with our breakfasts. Alternating between a bread day to an egg day all year round but can accommodate special requests or allergies and such. So sorry it seemed limited! I'm so glad you enjoyed staying with us and you are certainly welcome back any time!... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend at the Dormer House and can not put into words how special this place is. From the front porch swing to the amazing breakfast to watching the trolleys and carriages roll down the street... It was all truly special. My bf and I went bed and breakfast sightseeing to assess would we have been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future. :) -Diana The Dormer House More 

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Dormer house. We stayed in the Smith Cottage which is a two room suite. The accommodations while not perfect, were fine for the amount of time we stayed. There is a jacuzzi tub in the "living room". We found this a bit awkward. The bedroom was nice. However, my complaint is with housekeeping. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PamInABQ
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry for the dust you mentioned, we try so hard to keep everything as clean as possible and it seems that was overlooked. But I appreciate you letting me know about your issues so we can take... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Dormer Suite for two midweek nights before memorial day weekend (the calm before the storm!) and had a lovely experience. This was my first bed and breakfast stay and I extremely pleased this was my first one was such a success. We arrive late afternoon from Princeton, parked the car in the available... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tori N
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for these kind words! Yes, the on site parking is definitely a plus in Cape May especially during the busy season. It certainly helps being close enough to town and the beach that you can just park and then forget about the car until you have to unfortunately return home. So glad you enjoyed our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#8 of 45 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#11 of 45 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#6 of 45 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing