We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Carroll Villa Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Carroll Villa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,091 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,088: English reviews
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pack light if possible because the only down side of this place is there is no elevator. Everything else about this place is top notch. Even though we booked our reservation online through a booking website, since we were going to be there over Thanksgiving, the manager called to let us know the restaurant would not be open on Thanksgiving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darryl M
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darryl, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Have a great holiday!! Sincerely, Carroll Villa Staff More 

Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My experience was very pleasant at the Carroll Villa Hotel. The young man at the desk went out to my car and carried my suitcase up to the 2nd floor. My room was very pretty with vintage furnishings that went with the Victorian house. The bathroom was small, but expected in an old Victorian House. Breakfast and lunch was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank becke004
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear becke004, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Carroll Villa Staff More 

Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had an overall pleasant experience. The welcoming front desk attendant was a nice young man, housekeeping staff is quite friendly. I will review the Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar separately (both happy hour and breakfast). There were only two rooms left at the time of booking and so we selected the room with the burgundy wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda P
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for the review of our hotel! We will be going into that room and taking care of the draft and checking the water pressure. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future Sincerely, Carroll Villa Staff More 

Lumberton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff and very accommodating. Spent the night in November Veteran's day. They provided a free night's stay to Veteran's. The place is conveniently located a block to the beach boardwalk and a block from the shops in the walking mall of town. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Ate dinner at the Madbatter downstairs. The steaks were delicious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathleen S
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathleen, Thank you for the great review of our hotel!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you again for your services! We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Carroll Villa Staff More 

fairfax
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel offered a one night stay with a breakfast voucher for Veteran's Day. We couldn't be more pleased. The host was pleasant, gave us useful info about our stay including the option of enjoying a complimentary trolley ride the next morning to see the town. Room #31 had a comfortable queen size bed and large bathroom. TV was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathy g
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy, Thank you for the amazing review of our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us Mr. Kulkowitz offers the Veterans rooms every year. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, Carroll Villa Staff More 

Somers Point, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to stay at an old Victorian hotel that is extremely clean and comfortable you have to stay at Carroll villa. The staff is VERY friendly. The bar/restaurant that is connected to the hotel is great as well. The bar is full of local craft beer who's is awesome. Highly recommend you stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Carroll Villa and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Carroll Villa Staff More 

Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Attended the Cape May Jazz festival over the weekend. The weather was perfect and the festival was phenomenal...wish we could say the same about Carroll Villa. The room was tiny unfortunately and the water pressure was horrible. Two bottles of water gratis for the three nights...pillows were horrible. I can suffer thru all of that. Dave and Lauren at the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank richard t
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you for your feedback of our hotel! You booked one of our most popular rooms and we upgraded you on the 3rd night which was a Living Social so you would not have to change rooms during your stay. We only put water in the rooms on the day of arrival you could of asked the front... More 

No Name Key, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was great, everything is in one place; room, restaurant (excellent dinner & breakfast), bar and entertainment. The room was very clean and stocked with everything you need for a pleasant stay away from home. Terrific place, outstanding, very friendly staff. I highly recommend this B&B. Tom Taylor New Holland, Pa

Helpful?
Thank barb17557
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barb & Tom Thank you for the great review of our hotel!! we are glad yo enjoyed your stay here for Veterans day and we hope to see yo again in the future. Thank you again for your services!! Sincerely, Carroll Villa Satff More 

Red Bank, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the Carroll Villa Hotel....We were so pleased with everything about our stay...The rooms are beautiful and cozy...Happy Hour is not to be missed. The Bartenders are welcoming and the food is fabulous. Breakfast is one of the best I have ever had....we will be back!!!

Helpful?
Thank mishaRedBank_NJ
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mishaRedBank_NJ, Thank you for the great review of our hotel!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!! Sincerely, Carroll Villa Staff More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this older home! Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable & staff very helpful & informative. The most difficult aspect was parking. There is a loading zone in front of the hotel but you must move your car after 45 minutes. Parking is free & plentiful in the off-season but it is on-street. I'm not sure how this... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for the great review of our hotel!! We do not have working fireplaces, the one in your room was at one time many years ago but has since been closed and is there for decorative purposes. The smell of a wood burning would of come from the B&B next store which we have no control over. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
1,055 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
639 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#16 of 38 in Cape May
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: $145 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Carroll Villa Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
North Bergen, New Jersey
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Carroll Villa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“One block from town one way and one block from beach the other way! Nice location.”
 of 5 bubbles kathyg306, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We were in room 18 on the third floor. It was comfortable, but one of the smaller rooms I think.”
 of 5 bubbles 2016newlyretired, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We really like room 11”
 of 5 bubbles bpask, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“I have literally been in every room and each one I would stay in again”
 of 5 bubbles ingridnyl, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“Excellent ocean and rooftop views from the first floor; liked the corner room.”
 of 5 bubbles paf50, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay