We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Buccaneer Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Buccaneer Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were recommended to this motel by our son and daughter-in-law. The room was clean, well equipped, with fantastic bay views. Everyone was friendly. The entire atmosphere of the place was just so welcoming. Can't t wait to return next season.

Helpful?
Thank Laura N
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Gross, overpriced, not friendly, unpleasant atmosphere, impolite/rude manager. Unprofessional front desk employee, who is nasty to guests. No tissues nor shampoo in the rooms. Rooms smell of mildew Shower ceilings have rust and peeling paint Dead bugs were laying on our windowsill. Cobwebs in bathroom corners Flip flops needed to be worn in shower Front Desk Staff was rude, unprofessional.

Helpful?
Thank jackie s
lebanon pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The office people are awefully rude.the rest of staff was fine. Are room was musty smelling.The only plus about this place was the pool.We will never be staying here again. I recommend staying somewhere else. Save your money!

Helpful?
Thank jcmay440
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Unfortunately non of your complaints were brought to the managers to rectify. Your only complaint was that your deposit was not refunded when you canceled on of your rooms upon arrival, a reservation we had held for several months. That was rude, especially since our cancellation policy was provided to you in writing months previously. That is your real reason... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The lady in office is rude, arrogant, nasty, unprofessional and unfriendly from the second we walked. Motel is gross, stingy and old looking, creepy and overpriced! Does not give tissues or shampoo. No towels by pool. Housekeeping is poor.

Helpful?
1 Thank thomas m
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Don't know your full name so really cannot respond to your complaint. Housekeepers have been getting great reviews all summer. All the extra you feel should be given would just raise prices. More 

Aldie, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

The managers, once they process your stay, suddenly and unexpectedly become rude and discourteous. Our tv was not working properly and the husband and wife management duo acted as though they were the ones being inconvenienced. Stay somewhere else!

Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Really cannot understand this person's problem. We respond and correct any problems with the televisions as quickly as we can. Most times the problem is the fact that the televisions have been played with and are on the wrong channel or that the cable box has been covered by belongings and cannot get a signal. Guests need to learn to... More 

Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

Booked a room at the buccaneer at the last minute with three girlfriends for a quick girls getaway. As there was nothing else available on long beach island and we wound up here. We grew mighty concerned after reading trip advisor reviews, concerned enough we called and spoke to the manager who reassured us that most of negative reviews were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lgenco
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Amazing that none of these problems were brought to our attention until you lost a beach badge and had to pay for it. It is clearly posted that badges must be returned at check out so that guests checking in have the convenience of using them. More 

Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

The rooms were dirty. The only cleaning that gets done is by the previous tenant. They only make the beds. Pool was nice. View was nice. Had to wait in line to BBQ our own food. Our frig wasn't working properly so I went to office and they were annoyed with me. Take my money and be nasty sorry will... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy J
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Was your refrigerator replaced or repaired? The grills are a convenience and courtesy and are community. Yes you have to share them and perhaps there was a wait while some of the other 45 units of guests cooked their food. Maid service is provided daily with cleaning of room, making beds, removing trash and vacuuming unless you refused service. Housekeepers... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

Maybe I'm stuck in the past, but when I spend $400+ for a weekend motel room, I expect a few conveniences. Is it too much to expect that a hotel room comes with a tube of shampoo; how about a box of tissues? The Buccaneer is run-down and uninviting. The rooms have an odd musty-under-air freshener smell that's unpleasant. Brown... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank porporaj
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

actually the beds are Simmons Beautyrest What color carpet would you prefer on a sandy island? More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding a few weeks ago. Located on the bay side of the island it is a standard beach motel with everything you need and a nice view. Stayed in a deluxe room that included a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Decor dated but clean and servicable. Close to restaurants and shops and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Hampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Way too many flower pot ashtrays every where even around the pool which I think in a no no. This is a big turn off especially when you have kids. They have complimentary coffee which is a joke since the coffee pots are disgusting! Fortunately there's s bagel shop right across the street. This place is expensive. Rooms are dated... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carla T
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Perhaps you would prefer that smokers put their cigarette butts into the pool instead of in a receptacle. We prefer to have a neat deck area with people not stomping out cigarettes on the decking and leaving butts to get into the water. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
2.5 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
6.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel located on the bay on Long Beach Island. Beautiful Sunsets from Rooftop decks. Two blocks to the ocean beach. Badges provided with a deposit.Restaurants within 8 to 10 blocks and within a mile.Shopping area 17 to 26 blocks from motel.Heated outdoor pool in season. Heated indoor pool available in the off season only. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buccaneer Motel

Address: 2600 E Bay Ter, Long Beach Island, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4231
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Beach Haven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing