We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

White Whale Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
White Whale Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for White Whale Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Parsippany, New Jersey
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first time staying here when our other hotel on Long Beach Island was not available. The rooms are very small (very, no exaggeration) but, as others have commented here, they are clean and the motel's location can't be beat. Just minutes away from the beach, from several good restaurants, and from the bay. The price is also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Corey A
Loxley, Alabama
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My son and I were on Long Beach Island during the months of Nov.2012 and Dec.2012 for storm claims from SSSandy. We found White Whale Motel while on the island working.After many days of being on the road we found the motel by accident .It was Thanksgiving day -we were able to get a room that night. It was wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan b
Rockville Centre, New York
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First stay at the motel, in a 2 bedroom hotel room. Was very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and friendliness of the staff. Within walking distance to the light house, restaurants and a 10 minute walk to a gorgeous beach. In a very quiet area, perfect for a weekend away.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randi K
Philadelphia
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed in the Lighthouse suite with my husband and our two friends for two nights. It's in a great location- very close to the bay and nearby to stores and restaurants, and a very quick ride over to the beach. The suite was very comfortable! There is a small kitchen, but it's really all you need for the shore, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kizern1
New York
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed in Room 201, 2 bedroom suite. Shared with my brother & sister in law & our 2 yr old. Stayed to see No Discipline (reggae band). The suite was HUGE ! Super clean. Full kitchen, large open floor living room, dining room, porches, etc.... We opted to split this suite as it was the same amount of $$ as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Looo
mohegan lake ny
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Second stay at the Whale, as we follow the reggae band No Discipline around. Family owned, clean, comfy, and quiet! Its located on the peaceful side of Long Beach Island. There are still pubs, restaurants, beach and plenty more. Price is awesome. Check it out!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gregg K
Pennsylvania
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This motel is good value for money. It is at the quiet end of the island with walking distance to the lighthouse and beach. The rooms are very small, but clean and only useful to sleep in. There is a pub, hotel and breakfast place all within a 5 minute walk so location, location, location is the strong point. 10...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephen H
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Reviewed May 6, 2012

One night stay me and husband to go fishing. I can tell that room was just renovated and served its purpose. Everything was very clean and owner was very pleasant when we arrived. We were right near the lighthouse, which is where we fished. There were clean towels, soap, shampoo and flat screen TV. Small room, but very cute.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank july
Woodstock, New York
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the huge two bedroom upstairs. It was huge, with a full kitchen (which we didn't use) and two bedrooms with comfortable beds. The AC was more than adequate to handle the LBI humidity. The owner was quite friendly. Everything was clean and neat, as if we were the first people to stay there. The only complaint is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank atomictoms
whitewhalebl, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments; we corrected the problem you described by replacing the hollow core adjoining door with a solid door. We did this while we were updating and renovating that suite this spring.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was a pleasant find. It is small (just enough room for beds & luggage) but clean and affordable and great location. Best choice for the area for a couple nights stay. They even included beach passes. It has a nice back yard with hammocks and a grill. A great place for kids to play and relax. The beds were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank justsharing11
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat Light
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
10.0 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
110 reviews
14.1 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
56 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
143 reviews
11.4 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family friendly motel located in Barnegat Light, a small quiet town on the northern tip of Long Beach Island A short walk to the ocean, bay, inlet and some of the best beaches at the Jersey ShoreResturants, gift shops and antique shops located nearby We are the closest motel to the Barnegat Lighthouse and the Barnegat Inlet ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Whale Motel

Address: 20 W 7th St, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006-1591
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Price Range: $75 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
White Whale Hotel Barnegat Light
White Whale Motel Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from White Whale Motel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Whale Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay away from Kubel's Restaurant. It is down the road from the Motel, but was not worth the $$ or the wait...”
 of 5 bubbles 776elm, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“Choose the back of the hotel that faces the yard.”
 of 5 bubbles christinemillerc, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the second floor in the back of the building”
  • Bathroom
  • frig and mircrowave
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles preciousness22, Jul 6, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms looked similar.”
 of 5 bubbles EamonKid, Aug 18, 2015 | Read review
“Get a room in the back, facing the yard. Do not get room 105 as it has stair next to it that leads to the top floor room.”
  • View from Room 105
  • Bathroom
  • Microwave and Refrigerator Area
  • Room 105
  • Bed in Room 105
 of 5 bubbles jrman66, Sep 15, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question