We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Whale Motel

20 W 7th St, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006-1591
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (16)
Family and Play Areas (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#3 of 3 B&Bs in Barnegat Light
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.5
A family friendly motel located in Barnegat Light, a small quiet town on the northern tip of Long Beach Island A short walk to the ocean, bay, inlet and some of the best beaches at the Jersey ShoreResturants, gift shops and antique shops located nearby We are the closest motel to the Barnegat Lighthouse and the Barnegat Inlet
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
45Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 18
  • 9
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Antonella B wrote a review Apr 2023
New York City, New York18 contributions10 helpful votes
We were in a pinch so we booked two nights here. The location is convenient to the beach. It’s close to restaurants and shops and it’s quiet, but it is not as charming as I imagined given the pictures, the description and the reviews. It wasn’t quaint or casual beachy, it’s a place that needs lots of upkeep. The hotel room was extremely small for $180/ night and was “different” from what we had expected. The screen door was broken and constantly slammed. The furniture was old, kind of thrown together/mismatched. The room size was 9”x9” (not joking) and had a full bed and a twin bed in it along with a chair. Why two beds? Three people can’t possibly fit here! So, no space, worn floors, walls and ceiling not completely tidy (in appearance). The bathtub was badly patched, broken shower head, and food was left in the fridge from previous guests. Listen, Im grateful we were able to find accommodations last minute, but I am left feeling let down and a bit deceived by the hotel for its appearance and lack of upkeep. Even for last minute. Maybe the hotel in the pictures was the White Whale from a while ago? But when we stayed here there was overgrown shrubbery and broken outside chairs, and the room just made me cry. As an aside, the people that run this place are nice and very helpful but at the end of the day, their motel needs upkeep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Benedict, Owner at White Whale Motel
Responded Jun 30, 2023
Antonella We are a locally owned small motel. Our rooms come in various sizes, containing 1-3 beds. We also have two large 2 bedroom suites with full kitchens. Our largest room is 800 square feet and our smallest is 12’ x 14’ including the bathroom. Since you booked late, as you mentioned, your choice was limited and I can assure you this was the only room under $200 on the entire island. We do regular maintenance throughout the summer and bigger projects in the off season. Since your stay the hotel room floors have been replaced, rooms have been painted and where needed, bathtubs have been refinished. Our shrubbery was overgrown when you stayed but we now have a landscaper keeping our garden in great shape. I hope you visit LBI again and when you do please stop by the White Whale and take another look. Booking in advance is always recommended.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wonder Women wrote a review Dec 2022
New York City, New York1 contribution3 helpful votes
I stayed here mid-week in August 2022 with my 13 year old niece. It was nice to have a double bed and a twin in the room so we didn't have to share a bed. The location can't be beat. We could walk everywhere....beach, ice cream, restaurants, light house, gift shops, etc. The rooms are neat & clean and it is by far the best value on LBI. I normally don't review properties (good or bad) but felt I must after reading the crazy 1 star review left on this site. I appreciate there being a local place to lay our heads after a full day of sun & sand that won't break the bank. There are higher end options on the island and we are lucky to have a place for all to enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
hmh717 wrote a review Oct 2022
Woodridge, New York813 contributions157 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for three nights and it felt like I was the only person staying there. The owner was very nice and I did not see him again after checking in. The room was spacious enough and seemed clean on the surface but under the bed, the side chair and book stand were all dirty. It seems like they do the bare minimum cleaning. After checking in and cleaning under the bed and behind the microwave, I put a sign on the door so they did not come in the room. The motel is in walking distance to the lighthouse and beach. The room was very reasonably priced for the season. The bed was comfortable and the shower pressure was amazing! I love the hammocks as well.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GregFurer wrote a review Jul 2018
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania481 contributions146 helpful votes
This place feels like is should be on Highway 1 in California. Its a cute little motel ma and pa motel. The rooms are clean and great for the price (adjusted for LBI prices). We wanted to stay an extra day after a week-long trip to LBI. This was one of the few motels that did not require a minimum two-night stay. The location is perfect for us because that is where we love to be. You have How You Brewing, Kobels, Old Barney, Daymark, The Islander, Whites Market, Poppys, Zion Lutheran and Mustache Bills all a short walk from the motel which are basically the only places we go.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
shatwell wrote a review Aug 2017
North Haledon, New Jersey3 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was clean, but walls are paper thin. We were in a downstairs room. We woke up at 7am with sounds from next room of a bed scraping against the wall from couple engaging in "bedroom" activities. After that stopped (about 30 mins), the upstairs occupants started thumping back and forth for another hour. It sounded like a herd of elephants.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: get upstairs room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jillianhmann wrote a review Jul 2017
2 contributions8 helpful votes
My friends and I stayed here for one night and had a positive experience. The owner was very nice and accommodating. The room was clean and the motel was in a good location- close to the beach and you get a beach tag for every person in your room. Highly recommend staying at the White Whale and would go back here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
vallinnik wrote a review Sep 2016
San Francisco, California19 contributions12 helpful votes
Sweet old fashioned beach motel. Half a block from the bay and beautiful sunsets and Kubels restaurant, which is a timeless seafood restaurant and bar. The room was clean with a small fridge. There is a little yard out back and you could grill. It is walkable to the lighthouse and ice cream places. There are also little stores within walking distance, and two other restaurants that you could walk to. Great location. Nothing fancy, but quite charming.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
820amyr wrote a review Aug 2016
Greenville, Ohio17 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night and it was a very nice place. We were close to the beach and they give you beach access tags for each person. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was well stocked. Most hotels don't give nearly enough towels, but we had plenty at the White Whale. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dee K wrote a review Aug 2016
13 contributions41 helpful votes
The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean. I really enjoyed my stay here at this quirky motel. The back of the white whale is a backyard with plenty of fun things to do like bean bag toss, tether ball and they even have grills and hammocks! Awesome place for families and couples.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
776elm wrote a review Aug 2016
21 contributions18 helpful votes
Had a very nice stay at the White Whale. This is a comfortable beach motel. We had two rooms for the four (4) of us on the lower level. They were very clean but a little tight. The rooms have been updated and are quite nice inside. The staff were awesome and very accommodating. Since this is a small "beach motel" with only a limited number of rooms, they seemed to work around our schedule. They were very helpful as we were new comers to the island. We only stayed one night, but because of our experience, we are planning a longer return trip to and plan on staying at the White Whale.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay away from Kubel's Restaurant. It is down the road from the Motel, but was not worth the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barnegat Light area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
white whale hotel barnegat light
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreLong Beach IslandBarnegat Light
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHITE WHALE MOTEL - Prices & B&B Reviews (Barnegat Light, NJ)

Frequently Asked Questions about White Whale Motel
Which popular attractions are close to White Whale Motel?
Nearby attractions include Barnegat Lighthouse State Park (0.1 miles), Viking Village, Inc. (0.7 miles), and Barnegat Light Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at White Whale Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at White Whale Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at White Whale Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Whale Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mustache Bill's Diner, Kubel's, and How You Brewin' Coffee Bar.