We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pickering House Inn

116 S Main St, Wolfeboro, NH 03894-4327
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (23)
Dining (13)
Room & Suite (13)


#1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfeboro
Travel and Leisures # 1 Resort Hotel in New England, the Pickering House Inn is an 1813 landmark which has been completely renovated to now be the haven for discerning visitors to the Lake Winnipesaukee area. Guests enjoy luxurious, modern amenities in the relaxed comfort of a beautifully styled historic property located in the heart of downtown Wolfeboro. The attached 19th century barn is home to Pickering House special event dinners, private events and Wedding Weekends. Next door, enjoy dinner at PAVILION - our new restaurant featuring seasonally inspired, ingredient dining.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Special diet menus
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
62Reviews2Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Meryl C wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
I booked my stay after reading about the inn's #1 hotel in New England and #3 inn in the US so had very high expectations heading into our weekend away. The Pickering House Inn did not disappoint! The staff was welcoming, accommodating and knowledgeable; they not only ensured my time at the inn was enjoyable, but went above and beyond providing recommendations and boutique concierge services. This allowed us to make the most of Wolfeboro, Castle in the Clouds, and amazing dining (PAVILION is not to be missed!). Highly recommend ensuring that you have time to read a good book with a glass of wine on the inn's picturesque porch or by the lovely common spaces with a fireplace. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Response from Patty Cooke, Owner at Pickering House Inn
Responded Oct 26, 2021
Thank you so much for you wonderful review. And how wonderful you had the best of all worlds! Enjoying the scenery of the Lakes region, relaxing and great dining! Thanks again!
Read more
shayna797 wrote a review Oct 2021
Atlanta, Georgia78 contributions30 helpful votes
This was one of the nicest hotels we’ve ever stayed at. I had this idea that I wanted to come to the Pickering House and to Wolfeboro and contorted our itinerary to do so. It was magnificent and we are talking about how and when we can get back. Peter was a gracious host. The food at the farm to table restaurant (dinner & breakfast) was phenomenal. Just a wonderful place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Patty Cooke, Owner at Pickering House Inn
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Shayna, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay (and Peter mentioned how much he enjoyed your conversation. :)) I hope I get to meet you next time as well :) Thanks again!
Read more
roadmadam wrote a review Oct 2021
Tampa55 contributions34 helpful votes
We had high expectations for this B& B based on the stellar reviews. We were there for 3 nights when it wasn’t very busy. The place had been renovated and the inn and our room was beautiful, along with such nice amenities as Frette linens, Beekman shampoos, and a Brahms Mount blanket. With the exception of Chris, who actually seemed to care about the guests, the staff was indifferent and disinterested. They could have been employed by a Hampton Inn off the highway. The gentleman who checked us in couldn’t get out of the room fast enough and went through all the electronic controls in a flash. Maybe he was reading a good novel and needed to get back it it. Each of the 3 nights we were there, the heat came on in the middle of the night, awakening us in sweat, and we were unable to decrease it any of the nights via the high tech thermostat. Out of the 3 breakfasts, 2 were ok, but uninspired, premixed fruit, premade bacon, and either pancakes or waffles, and the 3rd one was a horrid casserole made with tough gritty pieces of old asparagus and ham, and lots of bread. Were eggs unavailable? The coffee from the k cup maker was better than the one at breakfast. We had checked off on our online reservation that we wanted to dine at Pavillion next door. The website didn’t link to the Resy system for Pavilion, so I called about a week ahead to make sure we would be able to dine there the night of our arrival. After 3 calls I finally spoke to a person, who had to, according to her, check with the restaurant to reserve for us. She came back with an unacceptable late evening time time slot, and after reminding her that were were staying at the Inn for 3 nights, she arranged a better dinner reservation time. It shouldn’t have to be that difficult, but it was. Pavilion was a good dining experience, so glad we didn’t miss it. We never saw the owners Peter and Patty on the premises. Other than Chris helping us one night with a dining suggestion, no one was there to be helpful as a concierge. With the taxes and tip left for staff, our room was about $600./ night. For that price, we expected a better experience. We travel a lot and this place just wasn’t all that.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Patty Cooke, Owner at Pickering House Inn
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is disappointing to us that you found so many things at our INN not meeting your expectations – but we believe it is important to listen, learn and also clarify. A few items of note: > We do in fact rotate days for our served breakfast; one day “sweet”, one day “savory”. Also, on our sideboard each morning, we have a buffet alternate that each morning includes our House Made Granola, Greek Yogurt, Fresh Fruit (of the best ripeness available to us) and a baked item of either English muffins or bagels. In finding our served items not to your liking, we hope you were able to find at least something acceptable to eat. > We take great pride in our staff (and actually, we’re pretty sure the management and staff at the “Hampton Inns” do the best they can as well). While frustrating to all in this changing world, we are pleased we are not one of the so many properties, including many high end ones, who have stopped all housekeeping and guest services of any kind due to staffing issues. The inn was full the weekend of your stay and based on every other guests positive feedback from that weekend it would seem your experience was the exception. >Electronic Controls: If perhaps Michael explained them too quickly… there are very clear, written instructions of operation in each guest room. If that did not do the trick, staff is always available for a “refresher” explanation. >We’re certainly glad you enjoyed your dinner at PAVILION… And unfortunately, I need to address your comment of “We never saw the owners Peter and Patty on the premises”. While we are – and have always been - very much involved in every piece of the Inn and it’s operations, we are not always on site. We love how many guests we do get to meet (which is most)… however, the specific weekend you were here, we were dealing with the unexpected death of Peter’s brother. A shame such quick judgement was made.
Read more
imcookn wrote a review Oct 2021
Oceanside, California199 contributions60 helpful votes
My wife and I have travelled far and wide and The Pickering House Inn is hands down the finest B&B we have ever stayed in and Peter & Patty and their staff are great hosts. The property itself has undergone an extensive reno designed and managed by Patty hersef. She is the real deal when it comes to design and construction! It’s original character has been maintained to minute detail while adding many modern conveniences. It is simply outstanding! We stayed 3 nights in Room 2 which is on the main street in the front of the house. There is some traffic noise which starts during the morning “rush” hour and ends in the early evening but didn’t really bother us. The room was large with very comfy furniture and bed. The bathroom was also large with dual vanity and the best shower I have ever encountered on the road. AND BTW, you have to eat at their restaurant next door, The Pavilion! Nothing less than gourmet!!! So treat yourself to a very special experience! Stay at the Pickering House Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Patty Cooke, Owner at Pickering House Inn
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Thanks so much for your review! We loved meeting you both... (And I really enjoyed our "construction chat" too!)
Read more
Holly S wrote a review Oct 2021
Duxbury, Massachusetts39 contributions18 helpful votes
Hard pressed to find anything at all that wasn’t perfect! As former innkeepers we know how difficult that is and we were beyond impressed. Understandable the Travel & Leisure named this property No. 1 in NE and No. 3 nationwide. Congratulations on your stellar restoration snd unparalleled inn keeping..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Patty Cooke, Owner at Pickering House Inn
Responded Oct 4, 2021
So glad to see you again... and thank you!
Read more
United StatesNew HampshireWolfeboro
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pickering House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Pickering House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cotton Valley Rail Trail (0.2 miles), Kalled Gallery (0.3 miles), and Black's Paper Shop & Gift Shop (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pickering House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Pickering House Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Pickering House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pickering House Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pickering House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bailey's Bubble, Downtown Grille Cafe llc, and Seven Suns.
Is Pickering House Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Wolfeboro.
Are there any historical sites close to Pickering House Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Governor Wentworth Historic Site (4.2 miles).