We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchorage at the Lake

Traveler (104)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (28)

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Tilton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
140Reviews
0Q+A
29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 76
  • 30
  • 11
  • 3
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
No kidding. The place isn't worth a dollar. Dirty, run-down, and the present threat of "Touch anything, and they will penalize you". It's really not bad if you are used to a French penal colony, but really, you don't know what germs you will catch. Never again, shackland.
Read more
Response from Susanna S, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake
Responded Apr 3, 2019
Dear Paul I, thank you for the feedback. Curious to know when you stayed with us? We are currently closed for the season and can't find you in past season reservations. Can you tell us more about your stay and why you didn't enjoy it? We would love to make things right, as it is very important to us.
Read more
Beware that the new management does not honor conversations that were taking place with Angela or themselves regarding rental. I was told twice, once by Angela, that the house we were interested in was available. Both times I indicated that we wanted to rent it. As my conversations with Angela took place between Thanksgiving and Christmas, and apparently leading into the change of management, we were unable to reach her by phone to put down a deposit. When I again reached out, after new management took over, they said the house was available and to call during business hours to commit. Before we could make the call, they had rented the property to someone else. LESSON: us airbnb.com. We were told to try it after losing our week at the Anchorage. Turns out they have many much nicer options and for less money.
Read more
Response from Susanna S, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake
Responded Apr 3, 2019
Dear Barb, thank you for the feedback about your reservation experience. We didn't even know that we would be open this season until January and we apologize for the issues that occurred. We understand your frustration and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Again, we sincerely apologize. I recommend booking early.
Read more
If you are looking for place with alot of bling-bling ....this is not it. BUT, BUT, we've been going for 15 plus years. It's simple & fun. Great access to the mountains, great lake & beaches right at door. Even the fishing is good!
Read more
Attended a wedding in the area. We booked this place and at first weren’t sure, but after staying the scenery is remarkable, the staff friendly and accommodating. The cabins are dated, but clean. If you’re looking for fancy move along, but if you’d like to unplug take walks with the family/pups then this is the place. Bonfires every Saturday and Sunday. Make your own fires near your cabin and chill. I’ll be back for warmer weather next year.
Read more
I’m very surprised to see such high rating! It’s a 1 star place, not even a hotel or motel. Booked this place for two nights with a price of a chic Airbnb apartment.. been traveling for years and usually very tolerant and understanding but this time is incredible.. it’s very overpriced, I’d price it for $60-80/night max. Place was dirty and smelled :/ some windows were hardly closing. Heat only works in bedrooms and I had to collect all blankets from both rooms not to get frozen at night and sick. There were cub webs everywhere and dishes were dirty. I worked in house keeping in this area before and I know the difference between rustic and falling apart! Will never stay here again and don’t recommend. Note: no WiFi in the rooms unless you pay extra to use it in common area. And check out is at 9am! (Normally at least 10am).. so by check in you can’t clean the place in 6 hours?!
Read more
Response from Susanna S, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake
Responded Apr 3, 2019
Dear MargaritaE43, thank you for the review of the property. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We advertise as cabins and our Trip Advisor listing falls under"specialty lodging". We understand that the experience we offer is not a typical hotel stay, and believe that is why we are popular with certain guests. We sincerely apologize for any misconception and would love to know how we may improve this?
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
anchorage at the lake hotel tilton
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireTilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing