We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Residence Inn Portsmouth

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
414 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We liked this hotel very much. We preferred to stay in the downtown area, but that Residence Inn wasn't available. Although this was quite a distance away, it was a great place to stay. It is convenient to the highway and has free parking, great free breakfast, friendly staff and spacious, clean rooms.

Helpful?
Thank kris91
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

I would've rated this hotel 5 stars if the pool was heated for sure. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette that had all the cookware and everything needed, excellent included breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking.

Helpful?
Thank Annie E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

When we booked this hotel for our family of four, we knew from the website that there were some renovations occurring. We called the hotel to inquire as to the extensiveness of the impact on guests. We were told that the only inconveniences would be that there is a temporary check in area and temporary breakfast area and both should... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sherrie S
Scott-psmri, Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I was very sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was not desirable during our renovations . Be assured that your concerns have been addressed with the entire staff and this will not happen again More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

We've stayed at several Marriott hotels this year and for the money this one is the worst. The staff are very kind and apologetic for the mess but that's what it is ....a mess. No weight room per say. Basically they have taken a hotel room and thrown in a few free weights and a stationary walker. It's more or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
Scott-psmri, Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I was sorry to hear that your time at our hotel was unpleasant. We are currently renovating the common areas of the hotel and apologize for the inconvenience that this might have caused but assure you that the hotel will be much more pleasant in the future. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Stayed here passing through to our daughters graduation in Mass. and returning home so two nights total. From the time we entered the door to our departure the staff was wonderful; so welcoming.On our first visit last Wednesday they even provided beverages and snacks at 7:30pm. A real treat of wine, beer or non alcoholic beverages plus smores, popcorn etc...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phillip G
SCOTT-PSMRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Although temporary adjustments were made for some amenities such as the breakfast buffet, fitness center and pool, the information presented doesn't really indicate the true inconvenience. Guests should be made aware, in advance of their stay, of the true level of inconvenience to be encountered. The fitness equipment was jammed into a very small area adjacent to the breakfast room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary C
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

We stayed there over Easter weekend and had a nice experience. The room was nice and clean, the breakfast was good and the staff serving were very friendly. I had to tell the front desk that a dog had done his business (or left overs) in the elevator and by the time that we finished our breakfast, it had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank LIKETOEXPLORE123
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

We stated the nights of 2/20 and 2/21/2016. This was the worst experience I have had with any Marriott property in the last 10 years. We ask on the morning of 2/21 at 7:00 AM at the front desk that could we please have the room cleaned early as we where going out and would be back at about 10:30... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eugene B
Management response:

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. We take great pride in our hotel and we regret we fell short for you. We have reviewed with housekeeping and we did have that request and on Saturdays, we do not start service until about 9:30 AM We sent a housekeeper to your room around... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016 via mobile

Myself and my family enjoyed a great stay here during the summer holidays. Staff were great and couldn't help enough. What is great with Residence Inns's is that you get the hotel experience with the convenience of being able to cater for yourself. We will definitely return. Thank you to all the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
Management response:

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We take great pride in the service we offer and we look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

I totally enjoyed my time here at this hotel, I was here for work and ejoyed the quiet atmosphere.. As much as I travel I the microwave and refrigerator was just what I needed.. Portsmouth is a easy town to navigate so if you cant stay downtown you can stay there...

Helpful?
Thank yelaboi77
Management response:

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and we hope to have you back next time you are in the area. Tom Swan | General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth

Address: 1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $226 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Residence Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay