We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 306: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just came back from a two night stay at the Fairfield Marriott in Portsmouth and over all it was a decent stay, clean accommodations and pleasant staff. My husband and I were attending a wedding at the Wentworth down the road which is twice the price a night, which is why we chose this hotel off our friend's accommodations... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin R
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write about the Fairfield Inn Portsmouth! Yes, our renovations are complete! Your comments describing our features, our clean rooms, our shuttle service into downtown Portsmouth are great for visitors to know. Most importantly is recognizing our helpful and courteous staff. We thank you for your support and appreciate you choosing our hotel. More 

Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast needed more attention to it. The kept on run out of things and people were getting a little upset. The hotel runs a free shuttle to downtown everynight.

Helpful?
Thank mcattel
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write about the Fairfield Inn Portsmouth! Your comments describing our features, clean rooms and shuttle service into Portsmouth are great amenities and most importantly recognizing our helpful and friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope you will stay with us again. Thanks for your support. More 

Drums, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Oh, this was just bad all the way around. It's the end of August and renovation (which they don't bother to share.) is still under way. I arrived there and had to go in the side entrance. No air conditioning in the hall ways or entrance and its 85 degrees. The breakfast area was apparently 2 appropriated guest rooms. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ddonahue8
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your stay at our hotel. We value our customer's feedback to both celebrate and improve upon. We apologize that you were not alerted about the renovations. The majority of the work is now complete. Although we did not satisfy your style or décor of our hotel, I hope that it will not deter you from... More 

New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I travel my first choice is a Marriott. I've always been a very happy Marriott customer until my most recent visit this month 8/2016. I really never read the reviews and trust all is fine; now I will start reading the bad reviews to see if any issues are current. No where on the Marriott Web site does this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BlondeNewYork
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. I apologize to you for the unsatisfactory experience. Please know that we are doing what we can avoid unexpected happenings as we make physical improvements at the hotel. We recognize that doesn't address the condition of the property during your stay. We are very excited of the changes... More 

England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked this hotel through a third party many months ago. I had looked at some reviews just before our departure which indicated some renovation was happening but it seemed to indicate it would be completed by late July. When we arrived, we had to use a side entrance and the office area was a makeshift area. Room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lottiesmum0
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

I am so sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations. I do thank you for letting me know and I will address your comments with our staff. This is not representative of the caring and friendly personality comments that we typically receive. Although we did not meet service standards, we do appreciate you mentioning our nice rooms.... More 

Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is under renovation. Our room was newly refreshed. Very clean. Great layout. Amazing staff. OMG - I cannot say enough about this staff. Every cleaning person I saw in the floor worked like there was no tomorrow. And there was this really thin tall young man who was always polishing the elevators, or fixing the breakfast suite, or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry H
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Fairfield Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate your recognition of our hotel features; clean, quiet, amazing beds and nice breakfast. Most importantly, is the recognition of our staff; friendly, motivated and accommodating, especially Cash. He is caring and always has our customers in mind. Thank you again for writing about your experience. We hope... More 

smahtie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Quick and dirty: Important first fact: There was no notification that the hotel was under renovations. This starts the pebble down the hill... Room: Fine - in fact - this is the "best" part of the stay - and it's "fine". As others mentioned, sink is outside bathroom. Not the end of the world, but... the sink's mirror is just... More 

Helpful?
Thank smahtie
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

I am so sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations. We have tried what we could to avoid unexpected happenings as we made physical improvements at the hotel. We recognize that doesn't address our careless attention to the level of knowledge and service from our staff. Although we did not meet service standards, we do appreciate you... More 

Somerset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

True, the hotel is under significant renovation, but this might be a structure that Marriott should have torn down and rebuilt. Perhaps the parking lot is part of the renovation plan because the potholes and large cracks in the surface make negative first impression. I think what turned me off the most was the short ceiling height and narrow width... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Just-keep-living
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your stay at our hotel. We value our customer's feedback to both celebrate and improve upon. Please accept our apologies for the specific items you’ve addressed. The majority of the work will be complete by the end of the month. The parking lot is the next phase of the renovation. We do appreciate your comment... More 

The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Don't expect a glamorous resort by the water. That being said its not that bad, and the rooms are complete. It's a great discount to other hotels in Portsmouth, the staff is incredibly nice and working diligently to work around the discomfort if a work in progress - but it worked for me. Right off I-95, in Portsmouth, and 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank JeffLowney
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you recognizing our incredibly nice staff and commenting on our location. The majority of the work will be complete by the end of the month. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you as our guest soon. Thanks again for writing. More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I arrived late - around 2:00 a.m. to discover the hotel was under major renovation which no one told us. We went to the makeshift front desk - a hotel room - to discover no one at the front desk. We called multiple times and no one answered. After about 15 minutes, the front desk lady arrived.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
FairfieldInnPSM, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. I am so sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations. I do thank you for letting me know and I will address your comments with our staff. If there is any opportunity to allow us another chance to have you return, please contact me directly. We want to show that we truly provide... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Portsmouth is the perfect choice while staying in Portsmouth. We are centrally located, just minutes from Pease International Tradeport, Liberty Mutual, and the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Complimentary shuttle service is available weekdays within a 5-mile radius. Complimentary deluxe breakfast, free wireless internet access throughout the hotel, seasonal outdoor pool, access to full service fitness center, and free parking. We are located just off the Portsmouth traffice circle and convenient to I-95 and Route 16. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast

Address: 650 Borthwick Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4115
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $151 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast Hotel Portsmouth
Fairfield Portsmouth
Portsmouth Fairfield Inn
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay