We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

America's Best Inns & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
America\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 302: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Decent motel. Large comfortable rooms. Free on-site parking. We chose Portsmouth as a base for trips into New Hampshire and Maine. We were delighted to find Portsmouth centre to be great for dining, drinking and shopping. The centre is over a mile from the hotel and parking there can be difficult and pricey. The first neighbourhood you drive through to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Broomhillal
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor/Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our location. We are centrally located 1.4 miles from Downtown Portsmouth and Kittery, ME. I am glad to hear that our Guest Services staff were able to help you decide the best way to get downtown. It can be difficult to find parking so we do suggest taking a cab from the... More 

Shelton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not the worst. But..... Biggest problem for me was the dampness in the room. Carpet felt damp when I walked barefoot. Pass on free breakfast. Not much offered. On the plus side, William was a great guy on check in. Awesome multitasking ! He makes the best choc chip cookies at 10 pm.

Helpful?
Thank CarolynBab
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that your room did you meet your expectations. Please don't ever hesitate to let any of our Guest Services Associates know of any issues you are having and we would be more than happy to solve them to the best of our abilities. I will also let... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will not be able to review their rooms as I never got that far. First, I was not impressed with the exterior aesthetics of the property but had a "discount" coupon so decided to go in anyway. It was egg frying hot and it was time to get off the road. I entered the lobby and thought "not too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping by our property to check us out. The coupons that are offered online and in the flyer are a great deal and we do accept them. The coupons are based upon availability and are on a first come, first serve bases. We set aside a specific amount of rooms to allow guests to use them. We... More 

Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a bare bones hotel for one-night stay type of trips. Our room was tired looking and the carpet was kind of gross. The bathroom door also made an incredibly loud squeaking noise. We stayed one night and I wouldn't have wanted to stay another night there. On the plus side, they have cookies in the lobby when you... More 

Helpful?
Thank nruffner
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, Americas Best Inn. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay while you were here. We will be renovating and modernizing the entire property this winter and would love it if you would come back next year and see our new look. More 

Dartmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here many times over the years and have been satisfied. Location is very convenient for us coming from Nova Scotia, Canada. It is a good distance to have travelled and stop here for the night. We do some shopping and eat at some favourite spots. The Continental breakfast, included, is just what we like- not skimpy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, America's Best Inn. I am sorry you did not enjoy the room you were given during your stay. Our staff will always be willing to assist in any way that we can. We will be undergoing renovations this winter and would for you to come back and see the improvements. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel has good size rooms, small gym but good enough for a run on the treadmill, vending machines located in fairly good place, breakfast was very poor, rooms was so small that people were eating in the lobby, food also wasn't the best, not much variety. Clean rooms, great beds, very comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Kiera-Lynn M
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast experience. We will be renovating our hotel this winter and I hope you will stay with us again so you can enjoy our new look. More 

Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place was average. Room were great and big.It was clean. The breakfast was not much, quiet simple. We went to the town for dinner and it has some great places down by the sea. Not in walking-distance, but only 5 minutes by car..

Helpful?
Thank Biunna
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing out property. I am glad that you enjoyed your time here and ventured downtown to see what the Portsmouth area has to offer. More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Accidently found this gem in a high priced hotel city. Nice. Not glamorous, but hotel staff helpful and friendly. Good location, easy to get to. Good wifi, ok breakfast. Good cookies in lobby. Price excellent. May need your gps to figure how to get back to it.

Helpful?
Thank KWhyte1
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our location! We strive to give the very best in customer service and amenities, while still being a hotel that fits a travelers budget. We hope to see you again during you next trip to the Portsmouth area. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 1 night for business travel, late arrival, very pleasant desk staff. The room/bathroom/shower was very clean, bed was fine. I left my phone charger behind, called in the evening, my call was returned by housekeeping Mgr first thing the next morning, charger was bagged up and left for me at the front desk since I'd be in the area... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlissBeth
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor/ Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you had a good time during your short stay at America's Best Inn & Suits- Portsmouth. We are glad to hear that you had pleasant interactions with our team members. We strive to give the very best in guest services. Please stop by and stay with... More 

Frederick, MD, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Good place to spend the night, about a half hour walk from downtown which had a lot of neat places. Breakfast is bagels in the toaster, have to cross the freeway to go to the pool at their other hotel. WiFi does not work very well, took many many tries to connect.

Helpful?
Thank StormChaserWannabe
BestInnPortsmouth, Guest Services Supervisor/ Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the nice walk down to Downtown Portsmouth. It can be a very enjoyed walk. Our expanded continental breakfast consists of Bagels, English muffins, Danishes, three types of cereal, etc. We hope that you will try us again and try something else that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about America's Best Inns & Suites

Address: 383 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $106 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inns & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your America's Best Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay