We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,174: English reviews
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the last stop on our fall foliage tour. The staff was very responsive, the rooms were comfortable and it's a fun town just to walk around in to see the shops. We found most people in the New England area to be very friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crystal, You picked a great year to do the foliage tour, the leaves were beautiful. Thanks for your great comments and we hope you come back again soon. With warmth, Sheraton Portsmouth

Marlboro, New Jersey
Reviewed October 16, 2013

On a family trip up to Maine, we decided to spend the night at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth. Nice hotel short walking distance to downtown. The only downside of this is that the direct route is via stairs, making it a little more difficult with a stroller. Staff was very friendly and helpful- good restaurant recommendations. I left a gift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 667greggs
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 667greggs, Thank you so much. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and see us again! Warmly, Sheraton Portsmouth

Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrived late but staff very courteous. Hotel is a bit dated (carpet, rooms should be updated, etc) but clean and beds comfortable. Great location and like the way management handles issues and most of all great coffee in the morning (oh yes). Work out room o.k. and pool area a bit dated and no jacuzzi but would definitely stay again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kipnote
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K M, Thank you so much. We just finished a floor of updated guest rooms and we are looking to make additional improvements in the coming year. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmly, Sheraton Portsmouth

Massachusetts
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Enjoyed a one-night stay at the Sheraton Harborside Hotel with friends from college. The valet service was very good. These folks are the first people you interact with at any hotel and they were friendly and helpful. Check-in was easy and we were given a room on the third floor that was exceptionally clean and very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dohertyfamily4
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doherty Family, Thanks so much. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit. Warm Regards, Sheraton Portsmouth

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent one night here and had a really good stay. Despite being the scene of a wedding and a high school reunion reception staff were attentive and prompt and valet staff were exceptionally good. Room was spacious and well appointed, bar was well served and stocked a range of drinks and the pool was accessible and refreshing. Only slight negatives...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maritchi
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maritchi, We can't thank you enough for your great comments and taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry to hear all of the goodies were taken from the lounge. Please feel free to call down to our help desk for items on demand for Sheraton Club if that should occur on your next trip to...

Revere, Massachusetts
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Sheraton was perfect. If you need a room block in NH, book here. We booked our room block for our off-site wedding in the spring for Sept 28-30. The Sheraton required us to guarantee 10/50 of the rooms for a $500 deposit which was very easy for us to book. Katryn Treamer, Social Catering Sales Manager, was very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julezpower
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julezpower, Thanks for choosing us for your guests on such a special occasion. We know how important it is that your guests enjoy themselves on an important day and we're so glad to hear we did just that. We hope you'll come back and see us again for a weekend away. Warmly, Sheraton Portsmouth

El Paso, Texas
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is jammed into a small area shared by another hotel. But the overall experience was great. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Downtown is just around the block. Easy walking. The room was great. Didn't have a view.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jodie W
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ward J, We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience overall! We are a very easy walk to downtown and due to our horseshoe shape, unfortunately, not all of our rooms have a view. We hope to have another chance to welcome you and please let us know you're coming so we can put a request for your preferred...

Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is my second stay here. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great location. You can walk to downtown. Ate breakfast twice in the resturant. Do not pass up the lobster omlet. Stayed on the third floor was was recently remodled. Room was clean ans spacous, and as always the king bed was very very comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amos B
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amos, We're so happy that you've enjoyed your visits with us and are very happy that you had a chance to experience one of our newly renovated rooms. Please come see us again! Warmly, Sheraton Portsmouth

Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a terrific 2-night stay at the Sheraton Portsmouth in early October 2013. I'm Lifetime Platinum, so we got upgraded to a lovely Club Floor suite. No views, but great room and right across the hall from the Club Room. Christine, the gracious evening Hostess of the Club Room, is an absolute delight! Warm, friendly, a high service orientation,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikie376
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mikie376, Thanks so much. We are so glad you enjoyed it and we hope you make the trip again soon! Warmly, Sheraton Portsmouth

Dover, Vermont
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After reading the very mixed reviews for this hotel, I was worried, but everything about our stay was perfect. The 3rd floor room, the service, from beginning to end, the decor, cleanliness, location, everything was excellent. Would go back in a minute! The one aspect we were shocked by was the pool. In a dingy, dark room, no attraction to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VermontTravelers
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vermont Travelers, Thanks so much for your great comments. We are so glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to your next visit to Portsmouth. Warmly, Sheraton Portsmouth

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

321 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (132)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (29)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $158 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Water view rooms are available - some have partial obstruction by huge salt pile”
 of 5 bubbles naomil2014, 4 days ago | Read review
“I was able to use Starwood pts to stay on the club floor,Great snacks, breakfast + free parking was great to have.”
 of 5 bubbles GrammaTherese, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Club floor is quiet with access to Club amenities. The hotel location is within a short walk to everything the city has to offer.”
 of 5 bubbles midcoastjudy, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Sheraton club floor is nice and quiet, and the pet floor is on 2”
 of 5 bubbles jillysp, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“we always valet park the car and it works out great. Being a loylaty member helps”
 of 5 bubbles 691gregoryw, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question