We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Shel-Al

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Hampton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Shel-Al
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic experience at Shel-Al campground on last week! A warm welcoming, a clean and quiet environment, very well located near the beaches and commodities. Wood and ice available at a very reasonnable price, and on top of it, clean restrooms and showers. We can't wait to go back on next year! Claude & Guylaine from Montreal.

Helpful?
Thank ClaudeGuylou
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Hi Claude and Guylaine, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! Our warm welcomes are genuine since we are so appreciative that you have chosen us as your vacation destination. We strive to keep everything clean and quiet knowing that it is important for everyone's enjoyment. It has been a great camping summer and we are... More 

Fort Kent, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

I first visited Shel-Al Campground in July of 2015. My clutch ended up going over in my car, one thing led to another, and I was having a REALLY bad time. The staff at Shel-Al were compassionate, kind, and friendly and they helped make my car trouble a little less troublesome. It really helps to see smiling faces when you're... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Hi Alicia! We were so excited to have you back with us! And, happy that you didn't have the issues that you had to endure last year. Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. As you know, we try to achieve all of the things that you have mentioned above and have a hard working team... More 

Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Shel-Al for the first time yesterday. The staff was so amazingly friendly and accommodating from the start. I had so many questions as a first time camper at this campground and they answered every one happily. When we arrived, I was pleased to see how shady our site was, it was backed by beautiful trees, also all... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessienh
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Wow jessienh! That was an amazing review and we, so very much, appreciate it! I am beyond words for a response. :-) Most would tell you that is amazing considering the source! We always prioritize safety, cleanliness and friendliness and it is so encouraging to read that we have hit that goal. It is very important to us to assist... More 

Blairsville, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We love this campground. It's close to the beach and way cheaper than a motel. The kids love the playground, Grounds are small enough to keep track of all the kids, Very clean showers and bathrooms . The AWESOME STAFF helped with fire wood, reservation changes local direction and so much more !! Not the most private camping, but its... More 

Helpful?
Thank vtsilly1
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Thank you so much, vtsilly1, for your wonderfully kind words about our campground! We are delighted that you have camped with us during your numerous visits to the seacoast area, and we hope to see you often in the years to come! We appreciate your comments about our campfire policy, and we agree with you! Although our permit allows fires... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Our first time at Shel-Al thanks to friends, Chris & Dan. SO clean, safe, and friendly!!! We checked out a day early because of bad weather predicted and they gave us a credit to come back and use ! How awesome! Thanks Shel-Al! Thanks for spotless bathrooms, fun shuffleboard, even wifi for the die hard social media junkies (teens) in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mona F
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Hi Mona F, Yay and thank you to Chris & Dan! We always love it when our campers talk us up to their friends! We are happy that you loved our bathrooms (we sure were happy ourselves when we renovated those) and that you enjoyed the shuffleboard. Here's hoping you can gather some friends and join us again in July... More 

Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

I am scratching my head a bit regarding the commentary from Camille, and wonder if she may be critiquing a different campground. I am a new Seasonal site camper at Shel-Al and my experience has been exceptionally positive. I was hoping for a NH Seacoast spot that was safe, clean, and quiet. Shel-Al is all this and more! Here’s an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bstefaney
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Dear bstefaney, What a joy it was to read your review. We appreciate the sweet words. We are so happy you have chosen Shel-Al as your home away from home and were thrilled to help with that transition. Although the length of your trailer was a shock (4' can make a difference--ha) we were happy to find other options and... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

The camping was ok but the staff is terrible. They are not able to deal with the high season. The staff was so mean! We didn't have a good time there! We will definitly nerver go back to that camping.

Helpful?
Thank Camille D
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Dear Camille D, We are dismayed to hear that you had such an unenjoyable time. I have tried to private message you to get more details on when you had stayed. I am assuming it was not this year as we have not hit our high season yet. I am sorry you didn't take the time to answer my message... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Love this campground the owners are very nice. Last year we had reserved a site but the people Wernt gone yet so they upgraded us for no extra charge. We enjoy bringing out son here to camp each year. We are going back again this year to same spot. Look forward to camping at the end of June.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Hi Heather M, Thanks so much for your kind words. We look forward to having you stay with us again in June! We will keep our fingers crossed for great weather so we can provide another delightful time for you and your family. See you soon! More 

Lottsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

NIce campground but a tad pricey for what you get. At $44 per night, you get a shady spot in a campground that is filled with seasonal campers. It has a wifi hotspot but we were able to get two bars at the campsite. Not very convenient ot I -95 in that you need to travel 8 miles of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lon C
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Dear Lon C, Thank you for your review. We are sorry we were not the campground you were looking for. We have 158 sites at our campground and only 35 are seasonal campers but I am sorry if it seemed like more than that to you. Our wifi is only intended as a hotspot that is accessible from the game... More 

Rutland, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

My husband and I are veteran campers with 20 years of experience. We are fussy and made four trips here before we submitted this review. Shel-Al is the best campground we have ever visited. Super-friendly owners and staff, immaculate grounds with grassy sites and beautiful trees. Water, electric and sewer service completely reliable. All staff very attentive and ready to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight K
shelalcampground, Owner at Shel-Al, responded to this review

Hi Dwight K. Wow! Thank you so much for your incredible review of our campground! What a wonderful way to end our 50th season in the camping business! We are proud to have a family business that has been in operation for 50 years, and we are grateful to people like you who have made us successful and happy doing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hampton
2.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
4.9 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 42 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
4.7 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 42 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Shel-Al

Address: 115 Lafayette Rd, US Route 1, North Hampton, NH 03862-2410
Location: United States > New Hampshire > North Hampton
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Shel-Al Hotel North Hampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing