We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

510 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 504: English reviews
Boston
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in Room 2 for the weekend, decent sized room, king bed was only so-so, didnt sleep through the night either night which never happens usually. AC worked but had a tough time really keeping the room cool, it was hot over this weekend though. The Inn probably wasn't our "style" a little more quaint that we would prefer, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coaster32
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have written a number of times about how much we've enjoyed our stay. However I think the best evidence is to say that this was our 4 visit, and will not be our last. There are many very nice places to stay in North Conway but we keep coming back. And we are not the only repeat guests, while... More 

Helpful?
Thank BobJ645
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hosts were wonderful and they make a mean breakfast! Had a great time and would return. Highly recommend snowshoeing nearby if you visit in the winter but they will help find whatever experience you're seeking in the White Mountains. You also have to check out Moat Mountain Brewery & Smokehouse

Helpful?
Thank Edwin S
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Buttonwood is a lovely inn. We stayed in room 2 which was very comfortable, and the entire inn is spotless. We found the air conditioning in our room to be a little slow to kick in, but it did work eventually and there is a ceiling fan. Bill and Paula provide a fridge and microwave for guests' use, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank ImaTropicalTraveler
ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2016

I must say this was one of my most comfortable and enjoyable stays away from home. As soon as you walk in the building there is that warm smell of comfort. The Inn is well kept and is extremely clean. The breakfasts and afternoon desserts are beyond anything I would expect. Paula and Bill do an amazing job at making... More 

Helpful?
Thank mwr009
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

The Buttonwood Inn certainly exceeded our expectations as our first B&B experience. Paula's cooking and baking was amazing, and the entire Inn was so welcoming and cozy. Bill was enthusiastic about giving us recommendations for trails in the area, local restaurants for dinner, and things to do in town. We loved our peaceful, cozy room, and we are already making... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy your first time experience at a Bed and Breakfast was enjoyable and look forward to next stay with us! More 

UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We stayed at the Buttonwood Inn for three nights as part of our 23 night US road trip. It was the first time we had stayed in a traditional New England B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Bill and Paula were very welcoming, and we really did enjoy Paula’s afternoon baked treats and delicious breakfasts. Bill was very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank VictorVC
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay at our inn and hope that you return! More 

Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

We loved our stay at this beautiful B&B, set at the end of a long drive in a quiet woodland setting. The house itself is huge & interesting & we were given a Cooks Tour of it when we arrived! Bill was passionate about his B&B & our welcome couldn't have been nicer! Paula, a trained chef, made us delish... More 

Helpful?
Thank 702ValerieS
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Bill and I appreciate your kind words and are happy you had an enjoyable time at our inn. We very much enjoyed interacting with you both and hope you come back to stay again! More 

Clanfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

We visited a few days ago beautiful quiet woodland setting and the property was an attractive historic building. Bill and Paula were welcoming and Paula's cakes were very good. I also agree that the decor was a little tired however and there were some disappointments. The evenings were quite chilly and the fire was not lit. Our bedroom was not... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We were disappointed that you had to leave by 6:00 the next morning and would miss breakfast. The first morning you had our sweet breakfast. You both told us how delicious it was and that the breakfast sausage patty was particularly enjoyable. When... More 

Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Buttonwood Inn. We could not have asked for warmer hosts or more comfortable accommodations. In addition, the breakfasts were awesome! The Inn is nicely situated away from busy North Conway, but very accessible to what the city offers as well as natural spots like Cathedral Ledge and even Mount Washington. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank dru1121
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:46
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (118)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.4 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Address: 64 Mount Surprise Road, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-1817
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Price Range: $150 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay