We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 518: English reviews
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean and comfortable Inn. Lots of rooms to relax and enjoy the inn. Bill was very helpful with information about what to do in area and Paula made scrumptious breakfasts and late afternoon snacks.

Helpful?
Thank deborahmattia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I wanted to get away to celebrate our 15 year anniversary. We have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before but based on these review\s we decided to give it a try! We couldn't of chosen a better place to spend the weekend! The grounds and room were beautiful. Bill was so helpful at making sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice D
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

We thank you for your kind review and are happy you decided to stay at the Buttonwood Inn for your first Bed and Breakfast experience. I enjoy cooking and baking for our guests maintaining signature items and including new foods that are nutritious, yet delicious, for breakfast. Bill likes to inform guests about area hikes and drives during breakfast and... More 

Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent a lot of time researching where to stay in North Conway and finally narrowed in on a B&B vs. Hotel. I am so glad that I did! My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the Buttonwood Inn over Labor Day weekend. The Inn is within a 5 minute drive of downtown North Conway but far enough that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caileigh91
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Wow! What a nice and all encompassing review of your experience staying with us Labor Day weekend. Thank you very much for hitting on all aspects of what we try to provide for our guests in terms of feeling welcome, comfortable, attended to, ambience, and food. We are also happy that you chose us and welcome your return! More 

Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful rooms and grounds. Great location. Lots of amenities and the food was terrific! The breakfast was amazing. There was a pool and hot tub. The building and rooms were gorgeous and Bill and Paula were great!

Helpful?
Thank rsteeves2016
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bill & Paula are wonderful! The rooms are clean and the property is beautiful and comfortable. Paula is a wonderful chef who made the perfect breakfasts each morning, while Bill was the perfect host for each and every couple in the dining room. They offer tons of information about the surrounding area, and the inn is close enough for us... More 

Helpful?
Thank SunfireMB
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of what we offer here at the Buttonwood Inn. We enjoy communicating with our guests and hope that everyone's stay is enjoyable! We practice living "green" hoping that our clean environment is preserved for future generations. Thank you for noticing! More 

Templeton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arriving at The Buttonwood Inn, my wife and I were greeted by Bill Petrone (Innkeeper)who gave us a tour of the Inn. Our stay there was totally enjoyable. The breakfasts were fantastic and are cooked by Bill's wife Paula. The decor is tastefully done and our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The Inn is located convenient to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin-Dup
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Bill and I appreciate your kind review of our inn. We enjoyed your company while you stayed with us and were happy that your son and his family recommended us to you. We now have the pleasure of having your daughter and her husband staying with us this weekend. We do hope you come back again! More 

Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Buttonwood Inn is a cozy little Bed and Breakfast, nestled away at the base of Mount Surprise. My husband and I had enjoyed a visit here several years back, and since the experience had left a soaring imprint on our collective memory, we decided that it was the obvious choice for the celebration of our First Year Anniversary. The magic... More 

Helpful?
Thank silverm429
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful and detailed review about your experience staying with us for your first anniversary. We felt honored that you returned to our inn to celebrate your new marriage together. Your beautiful review is a reflection of the kind and appreciative people you both are on the inside. Bill and... More 

Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I just want to start by saying how charming the ButtonWood is. It is a piece of serenity tucked in the Mountains of New Hampshire. The rooms are relaxing and have that old farmhouse feel which we loved, very clean and crisp linens on the beds and private bathroom which was a must for us. The hosts Paula and Bill... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nichole G
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Bill and I thank you for your kind words about us and our inn. We appreciate when our guests also enjoy the peace and serenity surrounding us. As a trained chef, I enjoy creating gourmet breakfasts and afternoon baked treats that are delicious and flavorful. We look forward to your return! More 

Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

We had three beautiful nights. Breakfast at the Buttonwood is terrific and a perfect way to start the day. We always stay at Select Registry inns and once again they did not disappoint. The Button is one of our top picks.

Helpful?
Thank David D
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We strive consistently to exceed expectations for our guests not necessarily because we are a Select Registryinn, but because we care about all who stay with us. Thank you for considering us one of your top picks! More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

There are many options for bed and breakfast in North Conway and our recommendation is the Buttonwood Inn. We have stayed as guests of Paula and Bill over 10 different times and we have never been disappointed. Our first stay was shortly after they had taken ownership of the Inn and we have seen the consistent service and continual improvements... More 

Helpful?
Thank maineiac9
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review

Thank you very much for yet another kind review. We appreciate that you noticed the continual improvements we make each year at our inn. We just want to make it a better experience for our guests. Bill and I always look forward to seeing you both return because we enjoy sharing updates about our families! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:46
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (118)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.9 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Price Range: $166 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay