Saco River Family Camping

Saco River Family Camping

1550 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5144
Our tent at E2 across from duck pond with view of the water feature.
Traveler (74)
the beach
Pool & Beach (11)
Schoolie on site 76 with plenty of room!
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 3 campgrounds in North Conway
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
The Saco River Family Camping is in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley, at the center of it all. We offer peaceful camping in a nature filled setting with loads of onsite things to do, yet we're within easy walking distance of stores, restaurants, entertainment, and TAX FREE factory outlet shopping. Hop in your car and churches, hospital, hiking and bicycle trails, tennis courts and golf courses are just minutes away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range

Location

1550 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5144
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Portland Intl Jetport
194Reviews3Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 101
  • 43
  • 21
  • 15
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Danielle L wrote a review Aug 2020
Orrington, Maine, United States16 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visit multiple campgrounds throughout the summer. The Saco River Camping area is one of my favorites. The location is ideal, nestled in the heart of North Conway with easy access to the Saco River. The sites are fairly large and well maintained. The electrical, cable and water hookups were up to date and easy to use. The campground was very clean and we saw workers always going around picking up sites and play areas. The roads are easy for biking, the ball field was a huge hit with our family, we enjoyed daily softball practice and family kick balls games. The kids also loved renting the fun cycle bikes, although $16 an hour was a bit steep so we only rented them once. They also have golf carts to rent which adds to the fun. The only reasons why I cant give 5 stars is the tight rules. We understand keeping it family friendly, but campfires out by 11:30 pm isn't great. We enjoy relaxing by a fire and chatting with friends (after our kids are asleep) until we are ready to go to bed, and feel we should be able to decide when to extinguish the fire as long as there is no noise issue. Our other compliant is the no use of electric scooters. That is our kids favorite thing to ride when camping, an out of the 12 campgrounds we have visited this year alone, this is the first one to tell us we couldn't use them. So if its an insurance thing, they should look into why other campgrounds can allow them. So other than a couple rules that we didn't like, the location and property is very nice, as is the camp store fully stocked with anything you may need.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: River view sites are great, if you like open field then the new 200 sites are good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Hi Danielle, thank you for your review! We're so glad that you appreciated our spacious and well-maintained campsites! Our team is committed to ensuring the satisfaction of our guests, and we're grateful for your feedback. We hope your next experience with us is worthy of five-stars! Take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
campgram wrote a review Aug 2020
North Easton, Massachusetts116 contributions75 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We love White Mountains but usually visit the other side. This trip took us to North Conway. Had a wonderful, relaxing week here. We stayed in the newer section and once those trees grow in it will be awesome. It's quiter in this section rather than the older section which is closer to the river. That side had more shade but also sites seemed closer together than the newer section. Our section sites were good size with enough room for vehicle and RV. Due to covid of course activities were not going on but you still had options. Pool was closed but plenty of river to go around to cool off. Floating down the river or canoing what ever your pleasure. Rental bikes were still available as was playground. They had signs at the playground but kids still used it and we made sure they cleaned up right after use. Bathrooms were clean and placed conveniently but you do pay 25cents for a six minute shower. Pets are welcome for a charge and they have 2dog parks. They also have rental trailers of You do not own your own. You do get a code to get in and out of campground plus they have a main gate that closed at 11pm every night. Staff was friendly. Area is kept clean. Definitely going back. Weather was perfect for 3rd week of July not that that has anything to do with the review. Even during Covid we had some normalcy here. Plenty of food, fuel, and entertainment around North Conway. This year you had to plan what to do and make reservations for most activities outside of the campground. Family friendly place to visit!!! Oh Wi-Fi worked pretty good at our site 248
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Older section sites closer together close to river. New section larger sites closer to pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Hello and thank you for your review of Saco River Camping Area! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the newer section of our park. We're so glad that you had a great weekend getaway with us and we hope to see you again! Take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MnKP wrote a review Jul 2021
Dartmouth, Massachusetts48 contributions88 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: The camp site is in the middle of everything & it’s nice staying right on the River. You can put tour tube in near the ice cream social area then float down to the Audubon Beach then hike back on the trail about 1/2 mile walk. The bathrooms were very clean. The campsite has a lot of staff circulating & patrolling so it’s very safe for kids. My kids could bike around & play the lawn games without adult supervision (13 & 9). Very nice camp store that is reasonably priced! Note… there’s a job lot & Walmart close by which is cheaper though & pretty much the exact same stuff if you really need to watch your money. For example, tube $12 in the store $8 in job lot.

Cons: The beach is small. Quiet hours after 10 is strictly enforced… we were laughing too loud 🤷🏻‍♀️. The beach is very small. The internet will not allow Netflix streaming (in case you want to use an outdoor projector you’ll need a backup plan). I had cell phone service but it was not strong enough to stream videos with Verizon. Fires out by 11:30 is strictly enforced. Not even a small ember can be burning or you’ll be asked to throw water on it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Jul 7, 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at Saco River Camping Area! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our various activities and clean facilities. We hope to welcome you back again soon for a 5-star experience next time. Take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abbie W wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Saco River was a beautiful well maintained LARGE campground that catered to families. There was so much to do, the river was fun and beautiful, the new pool and club house was in the process of being built while we were there, 2 playgrounds, little and large dog parks which was neat. The staff here was an exceptional group of people, Sheri & Peter a work camping couple worked a few days we were there and was so accommodating in answering questions and pointing us in the right direction. Another man, Jeff....so super helpful when he saw me struggling to carry my bags on my way back from TJ Maxx he took them over to my campsite. The little town was so much fun, great places to eat, lots of ice cream, fun shops, we will def return to this area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Abbie, thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. It's our goal to provide fantastic experiences and we're happy to hear you enjoyed all of the amenities, activities for the kids, our dog parks, and the help of our friendly team! We look forward to seeing you again. Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Smith wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Even though covid 19 keeps many activities closed there was still lots for my family to do. Staff was very helpful even when my tv wouldn't work inside my rv they helped me fix it. They were able to answer questions I had and the owner even help me at the gate when I arrived!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Hey John, thank you for the kind words. We always put our guests first and provide the best customer service possible. We are delighted to hear all your needs were satisfied. We hope you stop by again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather F wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was another fun weekend at Saco River Camping Area with family and friends:) We stayed in the Glamping Huts. Love them!!! Kept us dry the first night( oh the rain) and kept us cool the next nights because of the new air conditioner ( great add on) We are return campers and always enjoy our time at this campground! This year’s favorites include: candy bingo, rainbow sherbet at the ice cream social, hummingbird sightings, the sounds of the bullfrogs and time in the river. As always the staff was very nice and helpful and the campground was clean and full of activities for everyone. We look forward to next year when the new additions will be open.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Aug 6, 2021
Heather, thank you for your review of Saco River Camping Area! We love hearing from previous guests who loved their time so much with us that they continue to return. We're delighted that you appreciated our welcoming team, various activities and curated amenities. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate wrote a review Sep 2020
New Hampshire8 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from three nights in the Hobbit Cabin (#114) and couldn’t say enough great things about it! Went for a parent’s getaway but could have easily brought our three kids. Staff is so helpful, lots of options for sites...D1, D2 & D3 are very large tent sites, sites directly on the river are smaller...and activities (obviously not all were available due to COVID). We will definitely be back next year with the kids (going to rent the RV) and maybe even another parents weekend back at the Hobbit!
What’s also nice is you’re so close to the buzz of North Conway, but, when you’re at the campground, you would never know it.
Book. Here. Now.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Thanks for the raving review! We love to hear from such passionate guests about an honestly, remarkable time at Saco River Camping Area. We can't wait to welcome you and the kids in the future! Until then!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry wrote a review Sep 2022
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We called ahead to let the office know we were running a little behind. Apparently, when you are running late they don’t let you in and have you stay outside in the parking lot for the night. How late is too late you ask?? Anything later the 8pm! This left us seeking accommodations elsewhere for the weekend. People traveling will often have things that delay them on the road. There is no excuse for being inflexible about simply opening the gate and letting us check in. It made us immediately wonder about the lack of security after hours. We had booked 2 weekends in the fall and this was our 2nd stay. On the first stay I really wasn’t happy with the campground. The staff isn’t that friendly, there was loud music blasting from several sites on our first stay. And not surprisingly with inflexible places with poor management, they charge you your entire stay in advance. We won’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Guest Services / Front Office at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Sep 26, 2022
Thank you for providing some feedback. Our check-in policy is based on the safety and comfort of all our guests. We do routinely stay late and wait for guests if they are a few minutes behind. Unfortunately, you told our staff that you wouldn’t arrive until after 9 pm. It is because we are a secure campground that we don’t “simply open the gate” and allow anyone to set up at any time. Backing in and setting up RVs in the dark is hardly an ideal situation. Our guests appreciate the fact that they can enjoy their fire without the headlights, noise, and commotion of campers setting up. Our designated parking area for after-hours arrivals provides both water and electric hookups and has bathroom facilities seconds away. We also communicate our policies at our store, on our website, and in the confirmation email, you received when you made your reservation. I am sorry you experienced delays and decided to abandon your weekend plans. I hope you find a campground that is a better fit for your needs.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle L wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second trip this season and both times going they were incredible from check in, to all the miscellaneous stop ins, to my son and niece going in and out (likely being annoying haha) they were great. The name "family" is 100% true. You feel very welcome from the campers and you feel safe letting your kids go play. Incredible environment and so worth it! Will be going multiple times again next season!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Guest Services / Front Office at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Oct 13, 2022
Your feedback means a lot! Thank you for recognizing our friendly and welcoming atmosphere. It will be a pleasure to see you for another quality experience in the future. Until then, safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bryan M wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Saco River Campground is, hands down, the best campground in the area. It is clean and well maintained. You can tell they take pride in their facility. The employees are friendly and respectful. There is plenty for the kids to do and it’s located right in the middle of everything we go to.
We will definitely be back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Saco River Family Camping
Responded Jun 25, 2020
Thank you for the excellent review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, our beautiful park, and friendly team. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting you and your family again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amit R asked a question Aug 2018
Glendale, Massachusetts1 contribution1 helpful vote
Are these village cabins for 4 adults or 2 adults/2kids?
Amit R asked a question Aug 2018
Glendale, Massachusetts1 contribution1 helpful vote
Are these village cabins for 4 adults or 2 adults/2kids?
Answer from Rick-AmieVa
Lynchburg, Virginia6 contributions4 helpful votes
2 adult and 2 kids comfy...4 small to avg size adults could handle it
Callily wrote a tip Jul 2023
Portland, Maine60 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring bikes if you can bc place is really big/lots of walking. Pool is quieter early and gets busier as the day goes on."
Read full review
Compass15025606686 wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The only downside: the new washrooms were not yet in operation."
Read full review
ILikeBeingCalledChef wrote a tip Sep 2022
New York City, New York9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Weekends are busy but you’ll have plenty of space during the week."
Read full review
Rbs7562 wrote a tip Aug 2021
Fairfax County, Virginia206 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy to drive by and miss the entrance. Go slow after the traffic lights."
Read full review
Danielle L wrote a tip Aug 2020
Orrington, Maine, United States16 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"River view sites are great, if you like open field then the new 200 sites are good."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the North Conway area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
saco river camping area hotel north conway
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Saco River Camping Area
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireWhite MountainsConwayNorth Conway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
233
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SACO RIVER FAMILY CAMPING - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Saco River Family Camping
Which popular attractions are close to Saco River Family Camping?
Nearby attractions include Settlers Green (0.2 miles), M&D at Eastern Slope Inn Playhouse (0.7 miles), and Four Your Paws Only (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Saco River Family Camping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, kids activities, and free internet access.
What are some restaurants close to Saco River Family Camping?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black Cap Grille, Big Dave's Bagels & Deli, and Fire by Wicked Fresh.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Saco River Family Camping?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Saco River Family Camping?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Saco River Family Camping?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Saco River Covered Bridge (2.2 miles), Albany Covered Bridge (4.3 miles), and Russell-Colbath Homestead (2.9 miles).
All North Conway HotelsNorth Conway Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in North ConwayHotels near Saco River Family Camping
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars