We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

School House Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
School House Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed at several north Conway B&Bs and inns. The School House Motel is not fancy but a clean, quiet, convenient option for basic accommodations. Friendly owners. Wi-Fi did not work. Cellular was iffy.

Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This motel is centrally situated in North Conway on the main road. Very pleasant, friendly and chatty owners. Room was OK with a nice big view of hillsides from the back window, but disappointed not to have our own coffee-making facilities, as we'd had in most other motels we stayed at.

Helpful?
Thank David4758
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Coffee in the office was a alternative to coffee in the rooms. Less messes in the rooms. Sorry. I always think, hey , "something for my significant other to do". Have a nice day. More 

Pascagoula, Mississippi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As with a SchoolHouse property, there are rules you must FOLLOW (check behind the door)!. This is a true "drive in, sleep, get up and go hotel." Amenities don't exisit here. The property managers presume to know your comfort zone in the hotel. Proprietors are super nice friendly type. You can get your coffee in the front office and ice... More 

Helpful?
Thank db_dot
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. In this business, we think we have seen it all, and then we see more. We do try to anticipate our customers comfort. The ice is outside in a cooler ,because the ice machine is located in the back of the cellar. Have a good day. More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Rooms were small & old fashioned decor, but cute w/matching curtains/bedspread. Nice views of White Mtns. from rear window in room. Had fridge, no microwave. New flatscreen tvs but no matching remote control & was disappointed could not turn on the closed captions for a relaxing evening of TV. No continental breakfast but coffee served in lobby. Friendly proprietor.

Helpful?
Thank travelingCAgal
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Good morning, First , thank you for taking the time to review my little motel. Good description of my property. One of the reasons we never put a microwave in the rooms is that I noticed some rooms with cooking facilities attracts little critters, (ants) when we travel. We do have a microwave in the office to reheat food, if... More 

Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2016

The motel is right on Route 16, which is a busy and noisy roadway. Tarrfic continually going by. The room was very clean and the owner was very friendly. The only thing I didn't care about this place was the very fact that its right on the busy roadway.

Helpful?
Thank Kathyaconley62
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. You were also very pleasant. I'm sorry the traffic disturbed you. The steel doors my husband installed 5 years ago cut the traffic noise by half. We really can't do much more . Have a great day. More 

Geneseo, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We stayed two nights here while doing a fall foliage tour through New England. It's not a luxury motel, but the people are fantastic and the service is great. From here we were able to make an easy day trip to Mt. Washington Cog Railway, Alpine Adventures zip lining, play in streams, and visit covered bridges. It's a great location!... More 

Helpful?
Thank DLHTravel
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

First, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We live in a beautiful area. I'm glad you had a great vacation. Come back again. More 

Raymond, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2016

We stayed here for an impromptu weekend trip on our motorcycle. We were a little nervous, as it seemed to be one of the last places in the state remaining with any vacancies. It was nothing fancy (nor did we expect it to be), but it was a nice, small, clean room, with parking right in front of your room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank tdse_NH
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and taking the time to write one. Please come again. have a good weekend. More 

Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2016

We stayed for the weekend and when i was searching so many of the hotels were priced very high since it was the peak of tourist season. This was the cheapest one i found, so of course i worried about the quality. When we first arrived for check in we were greeted so warmly by Eva (i believe that was... More 

Helpful?
Thank newhorizon124
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Good morning to you, You have made my day. Come this time of year, we are tired ,since we are here 13 hours per day, 7 days per week. (My husband and I) We always appreciate when our customer take the time to review their stay. We are proud of our little Motel and we always hoped it showed. Thank... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2016

A nice little motel along the way-- Not far from Mt. Washington, and the Cog Railway. They had a swimming pool with pool towels if you forgot to bring one. Small but comfortable rooms, free wifi and satellite tv. Good value for the money

Helpful?
Thank Rudolfo699
schoolhouse20, Manager at School House Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We work very hard to keep our 25 room motel , clean and comfortable. Hope you enjoyed the Mt. Washington Valley and all the beauty, while you were here. Come back again. Have a nice day. More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Friendly owner, clean room, good bed and TV. There is a pool which we are paying in the price of the room and we want always a motel with a pool because it gets really hot in the Whites mountains in the summer. However, this pool is a great disappointment because of it's condition and the poor maintenance. The water... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALAIN b
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Good day, First, thank you for taking the time to write a review. As I write this I can see 2 families and 2 couples at the pool. Some in the water. The pool has had it's workout this summer. My husband works very hard to keep the chemicals balanced and safe for everyone. This is a public pool. It... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#11 of 24 in North Conway
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 24 in North Conway
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, clean, family run motel featuring great views at great prices. Centrally located between downtown and the tax-free shopping outlets. Most rooms with 1 queen, or 2 twins for the same price and also 4 bigger rooms with 2 doubles available at a higher rate. Complimentary coffee in office mornings, Cable TV, A/C, heat, wireless internet, and small refridgerators in all rooms. Front door parking at motel and cottages. Sorry , we are not pet friendly. All non-smoking rooms,(outside OK.) Office open from 8AM-9PM daily. For our neighbors from the north the lady of the house speaks French also. ... more   less 

Additional Information about School House Motel

Address: 2152 White Mountain Hwy, RT16/302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5148
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Price Range: $74 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — School House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your School House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from School House Motel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Amherst, Massachusetts
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from School House Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“they had small rooms perfect for cabins and cottages too for families :)”
 of 5 bubbles newhorizon124, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the office have better Wi-Fi. Ask if the beds have been replaced recently.”
 of 5 bubbles W7708KObriank, Mar 21, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are pretty much the same in one long strip, but the end rooms are probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles WendyG76, Oct 24, 2015 | Read review
“Cottage(s) might also be option there (saw one with a few bikes outside), but we got last 3 rooms so no further info available.”
 of 5 bubbles RuthD, Sep 28, 2015 | Read review
“It can be a b**** making a left out of the parking lot sometimes!”
 of 5 bubbles CoachB_00, Sep 3, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay