We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9 Main St P.O. Box 58, Lyme, NH 03768-3500
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Lol.travel
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (12)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (8)

About

#3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a romantic inn in Lyme, look no further than Dowds' Country Inn.

Rooms at Lyme Country Inn provide air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

You can also enjoy free breakfast while staying at Dowds' Country Inn. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Country Inn Lyme.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Latham House Tavern and Lyme Inn Tavern, which are some pubs that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you are interested in exploring Lyme, check out an art gallery, such as Long River Gallery & Gifts.

The staff at Dowds' Country Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
69Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 36
  • 18
  • 5
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
thewardly wrote a review Sep 13
NY,NY30 contributions12 helpful votes
Late in 2019 I contracted with Dowds' to reserve space for my high school class's sixtieth reunion in August 2020 and put down a $1,000 deposit. In late March 2020, due to uncertainty about the Covid-19 Pandemic, I informed Dowds' of our desire to cancel the planned reunion. I used the "Communicate with us" form on the Dowds' website. I did not get a response. In April I tried again, also using the "Communicate with us" form. Again, no response. In June I called Dowds' and was told that my emails had gone into their spam folder! This was their own form! They informed me that the contract specified that the deposit was non-refundable. I acknowledged that, but told them we were not cancelling arbitrarily, but because of health concerns for a group of people in their late seventies. Dowds' was unsympathetic and ultimately offered a $500 credit for a re-booking in 2021. I turned down that offer because of the poor impression of the way Dowds' conducts its business. Not at all professional. The $1,000 deposit merely held a date and when it became obvious that the date was no longer relevant due to the pandemic that should have voided the contract.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariah Lui, General Manager at Dowds' Country Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for your review, customer feedback is always helpful and allows our team to learn and grow. I apologize that the offer we were able to extend was not agreeable. The financial impact that the COVID-19 pandemic has had on our country's businesses large and small alike has been staggering and unprecedented. Ordinarily, as our Letter of Intent stated, our policy for security deposits is that they are non-refundable. Given that this cancellation was not arbitrary as you stated, our team was able to come up with an offer, a $500.00 credit for rebooking your event sometime in 2021 when the state of our world amidst the pandemic has hopefully improved. We have since worked out the bug that caused your emails to be directed to the incorrect folder in our email software, and we appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. We do again apologize for the lapse in time between your requests being sent and our responses. We wish you all the best and appreciate your feedback. We are all in this together and do extend our deepest apologies that we were unable to come to a collective solution.
Read more
Nancy W wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
With the cautious staged Covid reopening we were a little leery of having to make this important family trip. But Tami and her staff made this an amazing respite. From Mariah’s ebullient check in, fabulous made to order country breakfast and solicitous help, we were made to feel like that special family member from afar. Would happily return again when all is fully available. Glad to be here and glad YOU are here! Thanks!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariah Lui, General Manager at Dowds' Country Inn
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thank you so much for the glowing review, Nancy! It was truly a pleasure to host you and your family here at the Inn a few weeks ago. Guests like you make our job easy! We hope to see you again, and wish you all well. Cheers!
Read more
LOandBO wrote a review Feb 2020
Cohoes, New York83 contributions6 helpful votes
Quick overnight stay with my adult daughter, last minute, on our way to skate at Lake Morey. Our room was very comfortable. We had an outside entry room, butterfield, that could be accessed from the back stairs. Convenient to parking. Great meal at the attached Latham House Tavern. Recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Mabell1123 wrote a review Feb 2020
Milford, Massachusetts19 contributions6 helpful votes
Visited Dowds for one night. The room was really nice. It included a small sitting area. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was great. Will definitely stay here again, if I’m in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
highrustler wrote a review Jan 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia71 contributions19 helpful votes
We have stayed here several times while visiting our daughter at school. Love the quaintness of the place. Each room is well decorated, warm, clean with nice bathrooms. We have also enjoyed the restaurant which has a wonderful atmosphere and many varieties of local and regional brews on tap. The complimentary breakfast is excellent and the staff couldn't be nicer. It's very casual but well run and we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$125 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
country inn lyme, lyme country inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireWhite MountainsLyme
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dowds' Country Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Dowds' Country Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cedar Circle Farm (1.6 miles), Parish Players (3.6 miles), and Long River Gallery & Gifts (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dowds' Country Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Dowds' Country Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dowds' Country Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dowds' Country Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ariana's Restaurant, Latham House Tavern, and Isabelle's Cafe.
Is Dowds' Country Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the center of Lyme.
Is Dowds' Country Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.