We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
111 Main St, Littleton, NH 03561-4018
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$159
View deal
Hotels.com$159
Travelocity$159
FindHotel$159
Orbitz.com$159
Tripadvisor$159
Etrip$159
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (160)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (3)

About

#4 of 5 hotels in Littleton
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
4.1
Henry L. Thayer was a successful Littleton, New Hampshire merchant with a dream to build a hotel more modern in equipment and character that others of its kind. The dream started taking shape in 1843 when he purchased the lot just east of his store January 14, 1850 as opening day for "THAYER'S WHITE MOUNTAIN HOTEL." Success was soon established due in part to the coming of the railroads to Littleton in 1852. After all 164 year pass the Thayers inn still offer great rooms, food and service to all visitors.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
310Reviews1Q+A62Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 111
  • 43
  • 33
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kevin D wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Avery nice hotel/inn in the downtown of a nice town and quiet setting. Pleasant dining and reading areas within the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. I would stay here again. I stayed one night and enjoyed my stay. This is a good choice for couples, families, friends or alone. There is a great amount of history in the hotel photos and design.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Nice inn in downtown yet quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Apr 18, 2022
geoguy09, thank you so much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and had a good time in the area. We do hope to see you again soon so you can enjoy more of our historic inn and the Littleton area!
Read more
Linda B wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom58 contributions32 helpful votes
The small town of Littleton New Hampshire is amazing to visit! You can walk up-and-down Main Street. You can go into Chudders with the world's longest candy counter. You can go into the L shop which is a very cool store. You can walk along the river right behind Main Street where there is a music wall and a Covered Bridge. If you are hungry you can try the Thai restaurant or Alberto's the Mexican restaurant. There's also an old school diner. If you go into the Thayers Inn you can ask for a for a key to go up to the Crow's nest and you can look you can look out and see the beautiful mountains!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Linda B, thank you so much for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Littleton. We hope you will come back and stay with us again in the near future.
Read more
Mobile795265 wrote a review Feb 2022
Wakefield, Massachusetts3 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed one night in a room with a king sized bed on the second floor. We usually stay at modern franchises so this was a change for us. If you like older historical buildings you will appreciate this place. It was clean and the staff were friendly. Be aware there is nothing new about this building so it does get cold in the winters. They provide a heater in the rooms for that and if you have trouble with stairs be sure to ask for a first floor room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Mobile795265, Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you decided to branch out and stay with us. We do hope you will come back to see us if you are ever in the area again.
Read more
Jenny c wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
They charge half at the time of booking, another half at check in. Somehow I missed that, so when I saw there are two charges on my credit card statement, I dispute that. That was honest mistake. I went to White mountain 5 times this summer, I always pay my bill in full on time. Image my surprise when a angry call I received from Thayer desk, calling me theft of service, threaten me to pay otherwise they will take an action if I don't cancel the dispute. I will gladly call my credit card company to rectify the problem, once I know what is going on. It is Honest mistake, no need to threaten me. I am very surprised they treat customer like this. I will never come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Nov 11, 2021
Hi Jenny, we would like to thank you kindly for going out of your way to ensure that full payment was transacted as soon as possible. We apologize to you if our insistence to receive full payment for product and service rendered was perceived as threatening – that was not our intention. We accept that it was an honest mistake and misunderstanding. We encourage all customers who may question the accuracy of their bill or charges on their credit card to speak directly to the hotel to clarify, before taking further action. Charges are seldom done in error and usually, a simple explanation will clarify the accuracy of the charges. We also provide a ‘paper trail’ of all invoiced items and payments, so it is easy to clarify. Real errors will cause our books to not balance, so we also need to clear it up. If a customer disputes charges directly with their credit card provider, before clarifying the accuracy of the charges with the hotel, it only complicates things for everyone. We do appreciate your patience with us and being able to solve this issue in a friendly manner.
Read more
olollyberry wrote a review Oct 2021
Honolulu, Hawaii136 contributions93 helpful votes
We felt like the only good things about this inn was its location which was right in the middle of town, and that it was very clean. We were actually disappointed in almost everything else about it. We knew that the hotel was very old when we booked it, but we actually thought it would be okay. It was a chore to have to lug our heavy suitcases up a very long flight of stairs. Our room was noisy since it faced traffic. The bathroom was extremely small, and the small sink was outside the bathroom area. There is not enough room between the door and the toilet. The toilet paper roll was hard to reach, too far back on the left side. The shower stall was small and well used. The wooden floor going toward the bed was slightly tilted downward. The chair in the room was well sat in. Breakfast was another big disappointment, unless you like cold cereal. I read other reviews before booking. Maybe I just picked the wrong type of room. But this review in my opinion is fair, given the room that we were assigned to.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Oct 20, 2021
olollyberry, Thanks for your feedback. We regret that you were disappointed. The room assigned was based on availability for your requested rate category and room type at the time of booking. We are a popular and busy hotel throughout the year. You may appreciate that you stayed during the busiest time of year and many people book far in advance to get the room they preferred. Rooms are assigned on a first-come-first-serve basis. We are the oldest hotel in the White Mountains dating back to 1843. We try to make it clear that we do not have an elevator, but we are happy to assist with bags. The crooked doors and slanted floors are a feature of this historic hotel – safe and full of character. We will consider how we can implement your recommendations, regarding the room. The bathroom facilities in your particular room may be small but, thankfully, we have progressed from the days of issuing ‘service pots’ to do your business, as they did when the hotel was built in 1843. Otherwise, the new owners are working to update rooms and features of the hotel. We are located on Main St., Littleton, NH. It is a small market town with bustling shops, restaurants, brew pubs, theater, ‘old style’ cinema, covered bridge and scenic river walks. Guest from the hotel can access all this within minutes on foot.
Read more
Craig B wrote a review Oct 2021
Marysville, Ohio30 contributions1 helpful vote
This was an excellent value, and we enjoyed our stay. If, like Mother Nature, you abhor a straight line, this is place is for you! We found it particularly interesting the foot of the bed was higher than the head. However, it really added a lot of charm. The Inn was interesting to explore a bit, and the person at the desk was able to recommend some restaurants for us. We enjoyed the stay and would certainly stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Craig, thank you very much for the review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
babel39 wrote a review Sep 2021
Plymouth, Massachusetts209 contributions59 helpful votes
If you are into a modern place this is not for you but if you want a comfortable bed in very clean surroundings at a great value in a great location look no farther than the Thayers Inn. We had a great couple of nights there and had a great time. Pluses were the comfortable bed, location and cleanliness minuses were the bathroom toilet needing a couple of flushes every time and the size of the bathroom. Otherwise no issues and we would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Room in the back by the river is better.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Sep 20, 2021
babel39, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
StabbyMcG wrote a review Mar 2021
Concord, New Hampshire36 contributions29 helpful votes
Just because an inn is old doesn’t mean it necessarily has to be run down. There are beautiful old ends and buildings all around New England, this is not one of them. The pros? There is one. If you were in Littleton it is a prime location. The cons? Pretty much everything else. The rooms are dated, with signs all over her not to touch something or use some thing because it’s broken. Our “suite” was just two old bedrooms linked by a closet with a toilet. Do you like a hot shower? I hope you have some time to wait. The shower takes a good 10 minutes to warm up and don’t forget to leave the doors closed or they say it sets off the fire alarm? Maybe I wouldn’t be so negative about the hotel but as I write this there is a family on the floor with adults and kids screaming who have been screaming in the hallway for an hour and no one seems to think that’s worth addressing. I guess that’s my issue to deal with? No thank you. Definitely definitely room for improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Mar 16, 2021
Although we think your comments are unfair, we appreciate you taking the time to share your views. Please allow us to address some of the points you raised. Historic: Yes, we are the oldest hotel in the White Mountains and one of the oldest in the entire country. The building was designed to be hotel and incorporated in 1843. For 178 years, it has never been anything other than a hotel. The current owners purchased the hotel in 2019, only 8 months before Covid-19 swept through the country. Their vision is to re-establish the hotel to be a leading hotel in the region, blending historic charm with modern comforts. Our history is an asset – and quite spectacular – it is not a crutch or an excuse. There is much improvement to be made and please trust that it is in-progress. Since the new owner have managed the property, there has been continuous improvement. Among other things, High-Speed Internet (fiber optics), IT equipment, digital TV and WiFi have been installed. The sprinkler and fire alarm system has been updated to current code, for the safety of all. A new boiler and hot water system was installed, as well as fuel storage and delivery system. All new beds, bed linens and LED TVs are in place and new furniture is being added as rooms and public areas are being renovated. Historic people like Admiral Perry, Henry Ford, Bette Davis, Presidents Nixon and Carter have stayed here, to name a few. Many political candidates from all parties have visited or stayed at the hotel, as recently as the last election cycle. We aim to be a vibrant hotel of choice for generations to come. Location: Yes, we have the best hotel location in Littleton. Situated on Main Street, we are within easy walking distances to, well…everything: all the shops, galleries, restaurants, craft brewing, cafes, diners, theater, opera house, library and other points of interest and conveniences. The River Walk district is located directly behind the hotel, with waterfalls and pleasant walks and foot bridges along the Ammonoosuc River. On and off-road bike routes are also easily accessible from the hotel. The main hotel we compete with is a couple of miles from the town center in a commercial strip mall area, if box stores and car sales lots are preferred. Rooms: Yes, we are popular and busy hotel with 35 rooms and suites. You chose and booked your room directly online and we didn’t make any changes to your reservation. We presume that you selected the room you wanted or that was available to you, based on requirement and budget during a very busy time – a weekend during a busy ski season. We have regular King bedrooms, suites with multiple bedrooms (King + King, King + Queen or King + Twins) and suites with multiple bedrooms, living room and kitchenette – all with ensuite bathrooms. We know that our rooms are not perfect, but we work every day to make them better. Some of these traits we wouldn’t want to change, though. There are crooked doors and slanted floors that are inherent in a 178 year old, five-story, post and beam building…which give it unchallenged character and charm. Meanwhile, our rooms are priced to offer value for money, as we continue to refresh and renovate them. We work diligently to provide clean and comfortable accommodations, at a fair rate, and appreciate the consistently good ratings we receive from our customers, many of them repeat guests. You may have selected us in the first place because our main hotel competitor charges 60-100% more, depending on room type. Hot Water: We have ample and continuous hot water, i.e. we don’t run out. It is a sizeable building and the room you were in is at the outer reaches of the hot water system. In peak demand times, hot water should be readily available within seconds, as hot water will likely have filled the pipes throughout the building, due to continuous demand. In low demand times, fresh hot water may take a few moments to reach the outer parts of the building. However, 10 minutes is greatly exaggerated. You’ll be happy to know that we are actively working with specialists to solve this issue, by continuously circulating hot water throughout the building. It is, obviously, more challenging than a modern house or new build hotel. In regards to you comments about the fire alarm –our detectors are new and most of them are photoelectric. Where the detectors are located in the vicinity of the bathroom, they may (but, not normally) be sensitive to an abundance of steam, if a show or bath is left running for a very long time. Our service provider cautioned us about this, so we simply pass that caution on to our guests. Common sense normally prevails, so it hasn’t been an issue. If we find there is an issue, we will replace the photoelectric detectors with ionization detectors to eliminate the sensitivity issue. Noise: We regret that your peace was interrupted and appreciate that can be annoying. However, we note that we did not receive a notice or complaint from you about noise or any other issues during your stay, that no prolonged noise or disruptive behavior was observed during quiet times or any other time by our staff, and that we did not receive complaints from any other guests. That is not to say it didn’t happen. As you know, staying in a hotel is a shared communal experience, so there is some expectation of reasonably ‘co-existing’. Still, people can be insensitive to the noise they create. When this is the case, we find that a polite and friendly request to minimize the noise is usually successful. If one is unwilling to make such a request directly, we would be happy to assist…if we are made aware of the situation. We regret that you didn’t give us a chance to help. Your expectation for us to be everywhere at all times is unrealistic. In the interest of all guests, and according to local ordinances, all guests are asked to respect quiet hours from 10:00 P.M to 7:30 A.M., whereby no noise should be heard outside guest rooms, public areas, or outdoors. During all other times, we ask all to be considerate of their fellow guests. Parents – please do not allow your children to run and jump in the halls and buildings at any time. Thanks for the opportunity to respond.
Read more
chillberg wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
My girlfriend and I recently booked a weekend away at the Thayers Inn. Cute place, in a very cute town, and the Inn seemed very safe with social distancing and the pandemic. The owner was the best part though - great with suggestions about where to go in town, enthusiasm, etc. While we were in Littleton our car broke down, and while the local garage worked on it the folks at Thayers Inn took pity on us and told us we could stay however long we needed past checkout time. We ended up staying 4-5 hours past checkout waiting for the car to get fixed and they were cool the whole time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Jan 12, 2021
chillberg, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could accommodate you while your car was getting fixed. We do hope you will come stay with us again in the future.
Read more
VWillis15 wrote a review Nov 2020
Rehoboth, Massachusetts246 contributions56 helpful votes
Downtown Littleton is a very quaint fun main street. Thayers Inn is right on main street - the perfect location. We have been to Littleton many times and always enjoy the walk and atmosphere. We tried Thayers Inn so we would know if we should recommend to our guests - we are moving to the area. It is a very large, Old house. It is a bit worn but clean and quaint. Everything has seen a better day but that is part of the charm. Nostalgic is the best word for this Inn. There is so much character, from the slanted floors to the cast iron radiators, it makes it charming. The room was very small, sparsely decorated and the TV does not have a clear picture. But you are in the White Mountains take in the fresh air and hike a few trails. You won't need to unwind in front of a TV. Sleep will come easy and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom was small and as indicated keep the door closed for fire alarm. :) The staff was super nice. Unfortunately, the Taveryn has gone by the wayside for a Poutine restaurant. This is a nice old fashioned type stay. The price was right at 119.00/night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie Errico, Agency / Consultant at Thayers Inn
Responded Nov 10, 2020
VWillis15, we appreciate the review and the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back to see us soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thayers hotel littleton
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireWhite MountainsLittleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thayers Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Thayers Inn?
Nearby attractions include Riverwalk Covered Bridge (0.2 miles), Time Quest NH (0.10 miles), and Chutters (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thayers Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Thayers Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Thayers Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thayers Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tim-Bir Alley, The Coffee Pot Restaurant, and Schilling Beer Co..
Is Thayers Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the center of Littleton.
Are pets allowed at Thayers Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Thayers Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Frost Place (6.6 miles).