We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel, extremely well kept and clean, very friendly staff, excellent full breakast venue for the business traveler as well as for a family travelling with children. I felt very welcomed in the breakfast lounge each morning with the staff there. All of the ladies were helpful and courteous. Deb, Sharron and Lori provided an excellent assortment of items each... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alice_20162016
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear the staff and the hotel were above your expectations. I want to thank you for your business and hope to see you again when traveling to the Keene Area! More 

York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean Hotel, comfortable beds, nice amenities! Has a restaurant at the hotel with good food, any many other restaurants close by. Stayed here for business and the free breakfast is always fresh, and staff is always very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Joseph, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities, and that the staff was very helpful. We hope to see you in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance. More 

Fair Haven, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always the first place I consider when in the Keene, NH region! The place is clean, the staff attentive and always willing to respond to all questions right away. Whenever I am in the region, this is the only place that I want to stay. They are extremely friendly. Rooms are comfy and make the experience a good one. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank William C
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

William, I want to thank you for your business and your loyalty to our hotel. Reviews such as yours are ones we strive for. Also they let us know we are doing our job correctly. We hope to see you in the near future when traveling to the Keene Area, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can... More 

Bennington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my first time traveling alone and the staff was so helpful and kind. I felt very comfortable in my room which was very clean and the bed was so comfy. Lori, Sharon and Debbie from the staff for breakfast buffet were so nice to chat with and share a few laughs. The food was delicious as well as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mcdbat4
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. we are here to make our hotel, your home away from home. I am very happy to hear that my staff and the hotel exceeded your expectations. We hope you may choose to stay with us again when traveling to the Keene area in the... More 

Bristol, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our short stay was great and the hotel people were extremely helpful and knew the area and very helpful with information we needed regarding the area. The breakfast was enjoyable and there was a large selection of items to choose, not just coffee and muffins.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy D
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Tracy, thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and share your wonderful comments. I am even more pleased to hear that the staff and breakfast exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just want to thank everyone for making us feel so at home. It is one of those great experience that you will remember. We did not expect much when we booked our rooms we just wanted a hotel that allowed dogs to stay. What a nice surprise. We also wanted to Lori, Sharon and Debbie for their wonderful work.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Joseph for the fantastic review. I am very happy to hear that our staff anf the hotel exceeded your expectations and made you feel more at home. We have already shown Lori, Sharon and Debbie your review and incentivized them accordingly. We hope to see you in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me if... More 

Owls Head, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stay at this Best Western is always plesant and restful. The stff are more than willing to accomodate any need and provide whatever is needed to make our stay comortable. We dive 45 minutes out of our way for business in the area and commute to this particular Best Western Hotel due to the pleasant and upgraded appearacne and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Adra L
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Adra for taking the time to share your geaet comments from your stays with us. I want to personally thank you for your past business with us and your future stays. I am even more pleased that my staff is always able to meet and exceed your expectations. If I can be of any further assistance in the... More 

newport, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have been staying at this hotel for years and the last 2 visits we have had problems with dirty rooms. This stay there was broken glass on the bathroom floor. Housekeeping just made the bed and left towels, they did not empty trash or ashtray. Also never cleaned up the broken glass. Will not be staying at this hotel... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet U
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Janet for your continuous loyalty to our hotel. As per your conversation with Jeremy Cloutier, our Front Office Manager, we did refund you for your stay and hope that you do give us another chance as discussed. At Best Western Plus Sovereign Hotel, we do strive to meet and exceed your expectations. Let me know if I can... More 

Islesboro, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I too have been to this location over the past 10 years and was very disheartened to read the up and down reviews of this very convenient and hard working location. Through the period of renovation, it seems that some reviewers may have not had the experience they expected but I wouldn't base their experience on your upcoming plans. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank EastCoastTrekker
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued business with us at our hotel. I am very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope that you will be back in the near future to the Keene Area. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me at mayurp@jhmus.com. I thank you again for... More 

ithaca, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I can't say enough good about the hotel & staff. My only issue was paying over $20 more per room than other members of our group because I booked locally rather than by the 800 number. I had to call the hotel directly because we had a pet with us (which was another $20 for the pet). I had no... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rose P
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Rose for taking the time to share your experiences with our hotel. Please contact me directly next time and I will personally make sure that you are getting the best rate possible. Our rates do change at different times throughout the year so this is what led to the difference you saw with your reservation compared to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 12 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
13.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay