Jefferson Inn

Jefferson Inn

6 Renaissance Lane/Route 2, Jefferson, NH 03583-9306
Traveler (38)
our view from our pet friendly room
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Jefferson
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.6

See why so many travelers make Jefferson Inn their bed and breakfast of choice when visiting Jefferson. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Rooms at Jefferson Inn provide air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

You can also enjoy free breakfast while staying at Jefferson Inn. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Jefferson Inn.

While staying at Jefferson Inn, you may want to check out Old Corner Store Irving (0.1 mi) which is a short walk away.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Jefferson Inn as you experience all of the things Jefferson has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English

Location

6 Renaissance Lane/Route 2, Jefferson, NH 03583-9306
187Reviews2Q+A53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 136
  • 34
  • 13
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Melissa wrote a review Aug 2020
Henrico, Virginia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time all staying in the Granny Stalbird Suite! It was myself and my husband, our two kids, and my mom. As a side note, the current owners bought the inn last summer (2019) so any reviews prior to that might not be super helpful. Anyway, we were there for a trip to Santa's Village. Everything was very clean and breakfast was AMAZING. They will take your breakfast order the day before and can cook just about anything (omelettes, bacon, sausage, french toast, blueberry pancakes, oatmeal...) and it's all served with fresh fruit (when available) and coffee, tea, and juice as you desire. The grounds are pretty with high bush blueberries there for the picking at the entrance. There are a variety of rooms of all different layouts. The Granny Stalbird Suite had two bedrooms (one quite large with three twin beds and the other with a queen) with a bathroom in between and plenty of closet room. If you are tall I would not suggest staying in the Granny Stalbird Suite or another top floor room as the dormers are easy to bump your head on. We were fine but if my dad (who is 6'4") had been with us it would have been problematic. However, there are plenty of other room beautiful options on lower floors. After taking a tour when it was empty the day we were checking out and prior to new guests checking in we discovered there are several other rooms with queen or king beds with a room next door or just across the hall that has twin beds so there are a lot of options for families. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Owner at Jefferson Inn
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Thank you Melissa! We agree on your height assessment for the Granny Stalbird Suite. I have hit my head more than once while making beds.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill D wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed many times. This trip extra special as we have snowmobiles and we’re able to ride directly out of the inn. The breakfast prepared both days was fresh and much much better than we ever could have anticipated. The rooms are spacious and clean, all having their own unique character about them. Best of all is the staff, making us feel at home. We’ll be back in a couple months and periodically thereafter.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Owner at Jefferson Inn
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Thank you! We love our snowmobiling guests! Winter would be so dull up here otherwise :) Did you know that we now offer seasonal rentals for the winter months? Give us a call for details.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellen K wrote a review Oct 2020
73 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were lucky enough to discover the Jefferson Inn when we looked for a vacancy at the last minute on a foliage weekend. Every weekend getaway should work out so well. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming; even with a full house they didn't seem rushed. Room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The generous breakfasts fueled us up for hiking and biking.
There's a general store across the street, complete with deli. We ordered a pizza from there for dinner and enjoyed it in the inn's breakfast room. There are dining options a few miles away in Lancaster, but we were so comfortable at the inn that we didn't feel the need to leave it in the evening.
COVID modifications were reasonable and easy to work with: masks needed to be worn in public areas, and breakfast was served in shifts rather than as a buffet for all the guests at once.
Our room was closest to the reception area, and the sounds carried through the walls. This included the sounds of two little grandchildren of one of the owners. That could be an issue for some people. Didn't bother me, though; after a day on the trails, falling asleep was no problem.
This is the first place I'll call the next time we want a North Country weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Albemarle room (2 twin beds) closest to reception area can be noisy during business hours.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Owner at Jefferson Inn
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Thank you for your review. We apologize if the little ones disturbed your stay. They are young and don't always know what an "inside voice" is. We hope you choose to stay with us again when you travel up this way!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen03038 wrote a review Oct 2020
Derry, New Hampshire70 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
New owners were very friendly and helpful
Very close to Santa's Village
Rooms and common areas were very clean
Breakfast - You had a choice of french toast or scrambled eggs. Both came with fruit and sausage/bacon. If you get the scrambled eggs I would recommend asking for toast or English muffin because it doesn't come with it.
Eating area was very plain and could be spruced up a bit. This could be because they are keeping it simple because of Covid, or because they haven't put their personal touch to this area yet. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Owner at Jefferson Inn
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Thank you Karen. We had recently painted the breakfast room before your stay. We are adding our own touches gradually. We hope you come back to see the changes!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R. M. wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night with a friend to hike Mt. Starr King/Waumbek (practically next door). We got there late and left early, but the owners were lovely, our room was very clean, beds were super comfy, and the breakfast included with the room rate was outstanding. We arrived a little later than anticipated and the owner waited up for us, and offered fresh baked cookies on our arrival. She gave us a tour of the inn and took our breakfast order before leaving us for the night. They accommodated our early hiking time and served breakfast early - made to order deep dish omelettes, potatoes, fresh baked muffins and fruit. WAY better than the fast food breakfast we would have grabbed on the road had we stayed elsewhere. Would definitely recommend the inn.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Owner at Jefferson Inn
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Thank you! Breakfast is the most important meal of the day around here! We never want to see anyone head off on adventures without a full stomach!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris M wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a really enjoyable stay in a very toasty room at the Jefferson over a very cold January weekend. The room was clean, well furnished, and comfortable. The family that runs the inn was helpful and communicative, and they were happy to serve us vegan breakfasts. The location is great as well - it's easy to get to Mt Washington and lots of other towns and sites in the White Mountains!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Owner at Jefferson Inn
Responded May 6, 2022
Thank you! We enjoyed having you here with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter Graysinp wrote a review Jun 2022
Cos Cob, Connecticut160 contributions274 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
These people had us booked in advance only to be told we cannot stay there due to them being overbooked. At least they refunded our money. They refused to supply a reason as to why our reservations were cancelled - we suspect it is because they found someone willing to book short notice and pay more for the room. Either way it was very unprofessional. The person on the phone was also rude and dismissive and sounded like a common New Englander. I could hear her talking through her hands even over the phone. RUDE!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Innkeeper at Jefferson Inn
Responded Jun 21, 2022
We thank you for your review. However, this is a false review. We have not cancelled anyone's stay, unless they requested it. We have not been overbooked. Book a stay with us in the future when traveling in the White Mountains - we would never treat you the way whomever you had the above interaction with did!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Basil G wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly staff and great breakfast, no menu, this is a B&B Inn. I was hiking South on the Cohos Trail and used this Inn as a place to drop of supplies and stay two nights. They are used to us long distance hikers. There are many other activities in the area as well, Cherry Pond Wild Life Preserve, XC Sking, Snow Shoeing etc. There are a few towns @30minutes away that have restaurants. For Hikers the Country Store across the street has good food as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Owner at Jefferson Inn
Responded Oct 4, 2021
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you got to dry out a bit 😁 Be well!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for our weekend adventure to Santa’s village over thanksgiving weekend. The staff are all family so they absolutely make you feel invited and it’s a warm cozy feel. Just like staying at grandmas for the weekend. Linda owns and run the entire place with the help of her girls. We loved waking up to breakfast. Everything was clean and well maintained. Also as a bonus of you have young children there is a little playroom off the sitting room for kids to enjoy. We will be back. 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Owner at Jefferson Inn
Responded Jan 16, 2022
Thank you so much! We love owning the Inn, our circle of family grows bigger each year! As our sign in the reception area states, "Enter As Strangers, Leave as Friends" We hope to see you again! Be well :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cara C wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this spot last minute because we needed a place to stay while visiting the NH Ice Castles (just 45 minutes away) and we are SO GLAD we did!!

The owner Linda was very warm and kind! Fresh cookies were available at check-in and our rooms (Granny Stalbird’s Suite) were ready and clean. Bedding and pillows were comfy and our kids were happy to pick out some board games to play and DVDS to watch during our stay. Bathroom had ample linens for the 5 of us. The breakfast was served family style and amazing (especially the chocolate chip, and banana nut pancakes) and included fresh fruit, fresh maple syrup and multiple warm options!

Beautiful view and scenery just down the road. We left already deciding we would like to go back and experience the comfort, kindness and hospitality offered at The Jefferson Inn for a second time. Thank you Linda, and see you again soon! :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrea Gendron, Innkeeper at Jefferson Inn
Responded Feb 6, 2023
Thank you so much! Your family was a delight and we look forward to hosting you again!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from DandC_Fl_USA
FL, USA65 contributions28 helpful votes
I do not know directly, we did not have a dog with us, but the owners were exceedingly nice and according to their website; "Well behaved dogs are welcome at the Jefferson Inn at no charge subject to room availability. They may be left in room if crated. A $50 cleaning fee will apply in the event of a "mishap". Horses or other large animals can be accommodated in our barn for $20.00 per night. Guests must provide feed." Hope this helps.
Answer from Andrea G
Good day! We accept MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover cards at our location. Thank you for your inquiry.
Paul T wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware of the $50 dollar early check-in charge. We arrived a ½ hour early hoping to clean up and change after a 3 hr. drive for a wedding. "
Read full review
Dawn S wrote a tip Jun 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If riding bikes there are no restaurants nearby. Dinner is not served at the Inn."
Read full review
Amanda W wrote a tip Apr 2023
Sanibel Island, Florida5 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This would be a great location for a family reunion or a romantic weekend away. "
Read full review
Rob P wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not skip the made to order breakfasts!"
Read full review
BLovell53 wrote a tip Nov 2022
York, Maine65 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of parking available"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jefferson area.
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireWhite MountainsJefferson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JEFFERSON INN - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Jefferson Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Jefferson Inn?
Nearby attractions include Santa's Village (1.2 miles) and Jefferson Historical Museum (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Jefferson Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Jefferson Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Jefferson Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Jefferson Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Jefferson.
Are pets allowed at Jefferson Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Jefferson Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Jefferson Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars