We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

179 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Panoramas (18)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've stayed here for a dozen years, and it's the first place I look for when I want to spend a weekend in Jackson. casco_bay10 said it well: "This is still a great place to stay, one of the original remaining White Mountain Hotels in a spectacular bucolic setting. In an effort to keep this a value, small changes have... More 

Helpful?
Thank RLCramer
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear RLCramer, Thank you for your continued support and affection for the Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club. The family who own the property and the associates care deeply for the hotel and are continually working to maintain and improve every aspect. Much has been done, some visible and some behind the scenes, and more exciting projects are planned. Naz... More 

Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok, I'm gonna say something, but I mean it as a sincerest compliment. A GRAND, old hotel, that reminded me of The Shining. Lonnnnnnnng halls, creaky floors, old elevators, strange passageways. Rooms are quiet, beds are comfy. Inexpensive and lovely staff. Still, I think they should have a movie filmed there. It would be so ideal.They wouldn't need to change... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank artsyfartsyjody
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear artsyfartsyjody, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for appreciating the history and charms of this grand hotel. Naz Jenulevich General Manager More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

I stayed here recently over the New Year's holiday mostly due to its location and the excellent rate we received. We were upgraded to a corner room on the top floor at check-in, which was a welcome surprise. As others have mentioned, this is not a new hotel in pristine condition. The walls of our room had some peeling wallpaper... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieD311
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear StephanieD311, Thank you for staying with us and for enjoying the charms of this grand hotel. Jared Estes and his Maintenance crew are constantly at work ensuring the property is in great condition. Many projects have been completed to date with more in the works. Additionally, Jared has a vibrant preventive maintenance program in place. His crew inspect guest... More 

North Waterboro, Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

This is still a great place to stay, one of the original remaining White Mountain Hotels in a spectacular bucolic setting. In an effort to keep this a value, small changes have been noted by management. Long time staff members are no longer there - mostly new faces. Their famous kitchen now offers a menu that is a shadow of... More 

Helpful?
Thank cascobay_10
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear cascobay_10, Thank you so much for choosing to return and stay with us again and for your recognition that The Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club is "still a great place to stay." Miserly? I humbly disagree. The hotel is owned by a dedicated and committed family who care deeply for the property and have invested heavily in her... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We have been visiting Jackson, NH for twenty years. Our most recent stay was for New Year's Eve 2015/2016. The Eagle Mountain House is a New England classic hotel, one of few remaining hotels from the "golden age" of the grand hotel. It has great character, but it can boast warm, friendly staff members who are helpful in offering advice... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pumpke
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Pumpke, Thank you so very much for choosing to return and stay with us again for your New Year's Eve celebration. Your words of praise, recognition and appreciation of the efforts we have taken to ensure each guest has an enjoyable experience mean the world to us all. See you again soon. Naz Jenulevich General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

It was $185 for the night in a basic room, when i checked in there was no hot water and the people at the front desk didn't even tell me they were experiencing an issue. So i paid top dollar for a hotel room I couldn't shower in. The Room was small which was excusable because of the era the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

The Trip Advisor forum can be and is wonderful for sharing experiences both positive and negative. But only when used properly and with integrity. The review you have submitted leaves out many facts and details. Thankfully, I do have an opportunity to respond and provide some clarity as I do not see how a mechanical failure results in the statement... More 

Deerfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Service, service, service, or the lack thereof. Been going here for over 14 years, and by far the level of service has fallen off to a new low. The staff seems to have forgotten the importance of a sincere smile, or how to project a positive welcoming feeling.From the Hotel Staff to the Restaurant, the level of service is average... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob D
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Bob D, It is unfortunate to read that we may have not met your expectations this time around. On the other hand it is encouraging to hear of your recognition for the actions taken by a member of our staff in response to your request for a Christmas Tree. I was standing in the lobby by the desk as... More 

Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

My family has been coming for years, mainly in the winter for the cross-country skiing along the wonderful network of groomed trails. If you are looking for a classic New England hotel where you can have a bountiful breakfast and then walk out the front door and ski in a winter wonderland, this is your place. Eagle Mountain House looks... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MHandPM
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear MHandPM, Thank you so much for choosing to return and stay with us again as well as for your thorough and complete review. We love the place as well for it's history, charm and character. See you all, and the kids of course, soon, Naz Jenulevich General Manager More 

Elkton, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

This is an old style hotel and in need of a little refurb. Our room was spacious, we had a two room suite. It was clean and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the bar downstairs. And eat there a few nights too. Everyone was very friendly!!! We received breakfast with our room and it was very good, buffet style.

Helpful?
2 Thank cpsmile
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear cpsmile, Thank you so very much for enjoying all that the Eagle Mountain House has to offer. Naz Jenulevich General Manager More 

East Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
248 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

Even after the leaves drop and before the snow falls, the 5 hour drive from Connecticut was relaxing (avoid the Boston area) The hotel is in a pretty setting, with views of the mountain. The walk to town follows rocky cascades and a rushing mountain river. The historical building is elegant (and creepy charming). The wood floors creek. Rooms are... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank lakwatsera2014
Nazba J, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear lakwatsera2014, What a wonderful weekend it was during your visit with the scrapbook group. We enjoyed having you as much as you all enjoyed being here again. See you next year!! Naz Jenulevich General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

518 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (352)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
One ADA Queen Bed Room (Mountain View) (24)
Viewed
One Queen Bed Inn Room (23)
Viewed
One Room Suite (41)
Viewed
One Room Suite (Mountain View) (23)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Queen Bed Room (Mountain View) (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (24)
Viewed
Standard Room Queen Bed (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Two Double Bed Room (29)
Viewed
Two Double Bed Room (Mountain View) (25)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
8.6 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#13 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#8 of 13 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
14.4 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 3 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 stars 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay