We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1132 US Route 3, Holderness, NH 03245-5640
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (167)
Room & Suite (67)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Updated 07/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Holderness
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Cottage Place on Squam Lake offers 16 rentals, 7 cottages of various sizes, a 6 bedroom Lodge for large family gatherings, and 8 family apartments referred to as Cottage Suites. Our frontage on Squam Lake offers a 140 feet of sandy beach and easy access to swimming, floating, or paddling. We have dock space available if you would like to bring your boat or rent one from one of the three marinas on Squam Lake. The property is landscaped with vintage gardens and stonewalls. We specialize in cottage living with a cozy 1950s style where every day ends with sitting around the outside fire pit under the star laden sky. It is simple and relaxing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Hidden Gem
216Reviews3Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 161
  • 29
  • 14
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Colleen D wrote a review Jun 2021
Hyannis, Massachusetts1 contribution
The office staff where so pleasant on the phone every time I called. When we arrived we needed a A/C unit because of a heat wave. They put us right away into an A/c unit. No problem. Any other place would have said sorry we cant help you. Very accommodating. It made my stay to see my sisters so special . Thank you Cottage Place. The girl , never got her name was so friendly and nice. Staying here again in November... Cant wait. Great Place. Colleen
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Jul 1, 2021
Dear Colleen - your review is so important to us. Glad we could accommodate your needs and we are so grateful for return business. We are open year round and have lots of specialty weekends in our off season. We have a great FB page Cottage Place on Squam Lake so hope you and others reading this response will "like" our page so we can keep you up on all of our great property events as well as the great offerings in our Squam Lakes area of New Hampshire! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
So I do not normally do reviews but I absolutely loves staying at the cottage place on Squam it’s so beautiful and I had the most amazing service from Nathalie and Nicole I spoke with Nicole mostly but both lady’s were so attentive to my needs and giving me the information I asked for and also exceptionally knowledgeable. I was very cozy and I loved our stay there was so much to do and my kids had a blast also. The only thing that I did not like is when leaving I could not find either of the two women that helped us during our stay I believe they were not on Work shift at the time we left, so we had to deal with another women named Bridgette and she was not very inthusiastic about being there she also was very snappy towards us so I asked for both Nicole and Nathalie because I wanted to thank them and give them a tip but we were told we had to deal with Bridgette and we were also advised by her that she takes care of everything and she would take the tip and I hope she did not I specifically left a note in our cottage for Nicole and Nathalie so I hope you lady’s got it. We will be back for sure in the future thank you again for helping us so much. You will be our number one go to.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Jul 1, 2021
Thank you for leaving us this review. We are a very family run, small staff business and we do need to know when our employees disappoint our customers. Our small staff is trained and expected to meet the needs of all of our customers. We will spend some more time with Bridget to be sure she is properly trained in the way we like to run our business. Thank you for your kind words and your constructive criticism of our staff. Nathalie and Nicole are very invested in making sure that Cottage Place on Squam Lake is a favorite place to stay on Squam Lake.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steven e wrote a review Jan 2021
Springfield, Virginia3 contributions6 helpful votes
We loved the reviews, but had the complete opposite. I would say over priced by $100 a night. We loved the location but that was it. The cottage came with 2 gallans of water and TOLD NOT TO DRINK THE TAP WATER. The new well will be coming in October, this is December 2020. Tha bathroom comes with 4 bars of soap, but NO SHAMPOO or CONDITIONER. We had to take our own trash to the dumpster. We did have a coffee maker and filters but NO COFFEE. We did order and got I think 3 bundles of wood one for each night. We got one fire starter but we needed 2 more one for each of the other 2 night. The rooms were not what I would call clean and we found a DE-CON MOUSE TRAY in a pet friendly room. Dust and dirt under the bed and couch, the rug needs a good washing or better yet for the price paid a NEW RUG. Other items that we were looking for and told we would have were not there, like paper towels and disinfectant wipes.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Jan 5, 2021
We never like to hear that we were not what people thought we would be......our website indicates we were built in 1957 and our photos are accurate - we value our vintage heritage and some of our guests confuse vintage with unclean. We indicate on the website that you will have to bring all of your own personal hygiene necessities and groceries - we also describe what our guests can expect in regards to services. We do ask that guests take their own trash and do their own dishes. The model of hospitality for NH lakefront cottages is usually designed for independent travellers who have researched and accepted that NH rustic is an experience that one is seeking. This time of year it is necessary to use mouse deterrent - we use non-toxic and try to keep it in places that are discreet and away from any common areas - looking under the bed and couch for dust and dirt would most likely result in seeing this treatment. All of NH homes and lodging properties (luxurious or modest) need to use treatment to ward off north woodland animals seeking a warmer place to live in the late fall and winter. Our new well was installed the first week in November and the State of NH recommends several submissions of samples of the new well, before allowing the public to drink it, therefore, we need to provide bottled water for drinking until the State of NH is comfortable with the quality of our new well. This usually takes several weeks and we are abiding by their strict rules. They have indicated that our water is completely safe for bathing and cooking, and all of our Fall and early Winter samples have tested to be safe to drink - but we are following NH protocol. Our rates are determined by our operating expenses and owning frontage on Squam Lake is a huge liability, operating an 82 person cottage colony year round dictates costs (heat, electricity, cable, wifi, plowing, waste management, etc). We have owned this very special vintage property for nearly 20 years and pride ourselves in the number of improvements we have made while still trying to stay consistent with the "step back in time and relax". We have thousands of happy return customers a year who depend on enjoying all that this very special location and property offers - we describe ourselves accurately. We hope future visitors will do the market research and learn that our rates are completely in line with other lodging properties in our immediate area - many of whom do not have direct access to Squam Lake - we own 140 feet of lake frontage with a beautiful sandy beach and dock access for boating. The cottage that was rented was a two bedroom cottage with full kitchen + living room with fireplace and a 5 person capacity. Covid-19 has forever changed the way we can host in the lodging industry. We are a small family run operation which has been struggling like all industries to try to keep our doors open and the public safe and satisfied. The disappointments listed above would have been the same even without all of the stress, anxiety, uncertainty of this pandemic. We were not the right choice for these folks, which makes us very sorry, but does not diminish our pride in our property and the experience we offer when we are the right choice. We only want the travelling public to research their choices properly. We are very different than the chain hotels and motels that offer coffee, shampoo and conditioner. We offer clear night skies, outside fire pits, inside fireplaces, full kitchens, lake views, fishing, swimming, hiking, the White Mountains and fabulous area restaurants. We will strive to be the best we can be and reviews like this always help us with that goal although we know we cannot be everything to everybody. In the Covid-19 environment, none of the more fancy hospitality properties are taking trash or providing housekeeping services for their guests. There are no large chain luxury motels on Squam Lake, so we hope that if you choose our property that you will understand what we have to offer. Happy New Year to everyone.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee S wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
A true NH treasure on a beautiful lake, with mountains and the ocean all within few minutes to few hours away. Bring your bikes, skies kayaks! and much more! Host was friendly helpful. Rooms clean well stocked and large.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Jan 6, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad we matched your vacation expectations. We look forward to your return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveling_with_kathy wrote a review Oct 2020
Lake Stevens, Washington1109 contributions448 helpful votes
+1
Stayed a couple nights in my own cabin #5. You can’t beat the location. Right across the road is a private sandy beach on Little Squam Lake. There’s a dock for boats. In addition, there were a dozen anirondack chairs, SUP board, canoes, etc. The property is an older one with a retro charm. Each cabin had a charcoal grill, a porch with a couple chairs. My cabin was a 1-bedroom, 1-bath, an extra bed in the living room area, a bath/tub combo and a little kitchen. I didn’t have a fireplace or wood stoves, but it sounded like other cabins may have one. I loved my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Oct 22, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were built in 1957 and we always want to honor our heritage. We are simple, clean and an excellent, excellent location. Our rentals do have vintage charm by design. WE do have modern appliances, new bathrooms, internet and cable - so put yesteryear and modern conveniences in a bag and mix it all up and that's what you get here at the Cottage Place on Squam Lake. We love it when we meet or exceed a traveller's expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah G wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
we came here in October. It was a good spot to unwind. Yes they were doing construction, but it didn't bother us. The private beach across the street would be much fun in the summer months. This place is like an old fashioned time machine, if you want to slow down your life. The host made a great outdoor fire for us, and the indoor fireplace is a great touch. Overall its simple but a good simple.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Oct 17, 2020
We so appreciate your time in creating this review. We are simple by choice and strive to create an environment that is relaxing with a beautiful view of Squam Lake. Thank you for you understanding as we had to replace one of our roofs on the cottages. Luckily it was all done in one day and 1/2 - not starting too early and not working on it too late - as not to disturb our guests. We appreciate that you like us the way we are and hope you will return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
disgusted wrote a review Aug 2020
Port Jefferson, New York3 contributions6 helpful votes
This cottage is badly in need of attention... my husband and I rented cottage #1. When I first went in I was very surprised to see holes in the wood bathroom floor where water had rotted it. It was too late to change anything and we were looking forward to a hot shower (since we had been camping for 3 days prior) anyhow so we disregarded the holes. However when we went to take a shower the water would not adjust... it was scalding and we couldn’t get in. My husband, who is handy, tried to fix it with his leatherman to no avail. We went to the office and no one was there. We left a message, hoping someone would fix it but no one got in touch with us. The next day I called the office and they said there wasn’t time to fix it. I asked for a partial refund but the owner said no. Bad business practice if you ask me!!! Not to mention the very lumpy bed. I will not be going back there and certainly don’t recommend it to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t go! Holes in floor, shower not working, lumpy bed
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Sep 25, 2020
As always there is two sides to every situation. Our property was built in 1957 and yes, there is a long list of improvements that can be made. The floor in Cottage #1 is on the list this Fall. Cottage #1 is our least expensive and smallest rental so it is booked back to back throughout the summer and difficult to make improvements especially a floor replacement. No one else has been bothered by the very small signs of disrepair. Due to Covid-19, we are operating our office from 9 to 6 pm and we are available on site for all of our guests. There was a note left late at night on the front desk saying that the shower was broken. We open at 9 am so I did not want to go down too early to check on the shower - waited until 10 am which is check out time to go down and they had already left as it was check out time. I went immediately to the shower and turned it on - there was absolutely nothing wrong with it - I could adjust it both ways - it was a circular fixture which these folks may not have been used to - it was only three years old - and it was working - it has been working ever since they left with no complaints. This summer was very difficult with the Covid-19 pandemic and the responsibility to sterilize, accommodate a very difficult crowd of people from other States. This bad review may deter others from booking with us, however, please spend time reading the other nicer and more accurate reviews before you make up your mind to believe this one. Some people arrive unhappy and stay that way.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
61elc wrote a review Aug 2020
Milton, Massachusetts446 contributions99 helpful votes
My husband and I went to came here in July and had a fantastic time! It was impeccable clean and completely contactless check in and check out process. The owner, Sue was always on property if we needed anything. The private beach was great and right across the street. There are grills on the property too - so you didn’t need to leave if you didn’t want to. Very quiet and private and we felt very safe will all the extra cleaning and safety protocols in place. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Also, thank you for accepting the Covid-19 guidelines of social distancing and contactless hosting as much as possible. We are working way harder to sterilize and launder in between every guests and we truly appreciate when our visitors notice all the extra precautions. We look forward to your return to our property and thanks again for your kind words.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shaked Vax wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
We stayed for 3 nights in the cottages. They are comfy but dated and on the small size related to the number of people they are declared to host. Facilities are basic and the beach is across a busy road with lot of traffic and noisy motorcycles, which was bad for kids and dogs (our dog was almost run over). The landlady can be rough and we were scolded by her multiple times. From 30min after we arrived and the kids were not using the beach equipment to her liking, to pure insults in front of guests and friends, to a follow up email to our stay with "how you should be a better guest in the future". She was right on some of thr cases - but her attitude was unheard of and unacceptable toward guests. Prices are ambitious compared to facilities and expect being nickel and dimed for anything you will want to use outside thr room. We loved the location and view but will not go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Some visitors are not a good match for our property. These people arrived two weeks after we were allowed to open back up to the public. We had our Covid-19 guidelines in place to keep everyone (including our staff and family safe). There were two families in this group. This family continued to challenge our boundaries and guidelines during Covid-19 - the young sons (8 and 10 - guessing) were using our kayaks like bumper cars - ramming them into each other - then they decided to use them as jumping vessels from the swim raft - no life jackets and NOT SAFE - parents sitting on the beach as they abused our equipment - so if that makes me "rough" and my attitude unheard of and unacceptable - and you agree, you are also, not a match for our property. They did not understand when we would not allow two car loads of people on the property (during Covid-19) to use our beach and have a picnic - they invited people who were not staying with us, did not have a reservation with us to join them for the day on our property. In ordinary times, we allow this with a guest fee attached, but during Covid-19, we could not allow any extra people on our property who were not asked the proper questions and signed the proper documentation. It took 3 hours of very uncomfortable exchanges before their friends left the property. We do have reasonable boundaries and they center around safety and preserving our property and expensive equipment. Proper use is expected.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beth B wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
I loved my stay here, and Sue is the best host! The beach of Little Squam is right next to the cottages, and there are numerous nearby hikes and other opportunities for nature-loving folk. I would recommend this to anyone coming to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan Smith, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Responded Sep 25, 2020
So glad you had such a great experience - we love our location as well! We love sharing it with people who truly understand the connection to nature and the true meaning of a simple vacation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cottage place on squam lake hotel holderness
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireWhite MountainsHolderness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Which popular attractions are close to Cottage Place on Squam Lake?
Nearby attractions include West Rattlesnake Mountain (3.1 miles), Squam Lakes Natural Science Center (1.2 miles), and Squam Lake (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cottage Place on Squam Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Cottage Place on Squam Lake?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Cottage Place on Squam Lake?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cottage Place on Squam Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include Six Burner Bistro, Walter's Basin, and The Common Man Ashland.
Is Cottage Place on Squam Lake located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Holderness.
Are pets allowed at Cottage Place on Squam Lake?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Cottage Place on Squam Lake?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Meredith Historical Society (7.2 miles).
Does Cottage Place on Squam Lake have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.