We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 The Oaks PO Box 779, Henniker, NH 03242-3360
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (137)
Dining (43)
Room & Suite (42)

About

#2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Henniker
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.7
Value
4.6
A beautiful and historic 14-room country inn bed and breakfast open year round and located in Henniker, NH (near the geographical center of New England). We are just 90 minutes from Boston and one of the most central locations to the best of New England. The Grazing Room restaurant is farm-to-table driven and is quickly becoming a regional dining destination not to miss. In ground pool, one block to tennis, Contoocook River and Covered Bridge. Closest full service Inn to Pat's Peak Ski Area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
93Reviews4Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 72
  • 12
  • 6
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
C DeLorenzo wrote a review Nov 2021
Weymouth, Massachusetts4 contributions
We have stayed at the Colby Hill three times and throughly enjoyed each one. The relaxed, warm and inviting atmosphere is always a winner to us. The dining experience is nothing short of superb. The food selections were excellent and plentiful. The goats and chickens lend an air of a gentrified farm to this very charming inn. Mr. Brechbühl’s manner was thoughtful and courteous at all times. Thank you for a lovely Thanksgiving visit. Chris D. and Richard M.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jefferson Brechbuhl, Owner at Colby Hill Inn
Responded Dec 5, 2021
Thank you very much for being so thoughtful to take the time to write your review. We appreciate you!
Read more
Millie S wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
We booked the lowest cost room while staying for a wedding there. First the positives--the staff across the board was wonderful, I would even say exceptional. Helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was clean. The breakfast was outstanding. Outside grounds were lovely and most suitable for a wedding. Now the negatives--the internet was not available most of the time. Our room was $200 with tax but there was no TV, the tiniest bathroom imaginable-a large person would have had trouble negotiating it. Some of the wall paper was pealing in the bedroom. Although breakfast was fantastic the meal they catered at the wedding was very disappointing. My husbands beef was running with blood and only a few beans as a side. No potato or rice. My vegetable main course was a few mushrooms, corn, onion on a bed of unknown rice alternative. The soup was also unknown although looked like pumpkin. The salad was ok-- a few greens with beets and a slice of pear.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If TV is important to you ask which rooms have them
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
VeroargentaMiami wrote a review Jan 2021
Miami Beach, Florida295 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
Not only because of the tasty, organic food, the decoration is super nice, the staff very attentive. Overall is an amazing cozy place and definitely the best in the area. Be aware that the portions of food are super generous and you are going to experience the most romantic nights if you choose a bedroom with a fireplace. Four minutes by car from the slopes of Pats peak. Ideal for family and couples ! They have goats and chickens ! Super clean and safe ANTI COVID ! Jeff... thank u so much and wish you all the best for 2021 !!!! WE LOVED YOUR PLACE !!!! And your food wowwwwww !!!!! You deserve the best !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jefferson Brechbuhl, Owner at Colby Hill Inn
Responded Dec 5, 2021
I am sorry to be seeing this late. We hope to see you both again soon! We truly appreciate that you took the time to write a kind review.
Read more
John Momoa wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The owner had poor communication skills and appeared to be a bully during a disagreement. He mocked the bride for poor turnout at her own wedding. Supporting this business is supporting this behavior.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Discover312985, Owner at Colby Hill Inn
Responded Feb 19, 2020
This is a long ago situation. The rest of the story is that we go above and beyond to accommodate guests' needs and special requests and treat people with warmth and welcome. However, we cut short verbal abuse towards us, or especially our staff, and try to redirect the conversation to the issue. We have learned that due to the drinking involved at some weddings that it is best to have an off duty officer on hand to deal with such situations. I have noted your name and send peace to you.
Read more
Sterling C wrote a review Jan 2020
Holden, Massachusetts1 contribution
I recently attended a late fall wedding here and there were so many issues with this location. Here is a summary of my experience: * The wedding was held in the back yard next to the goat pens. This meant the goats were bleating throughout the wedding service which was being recorded. It also meant that a bowl of packets of granola (what wedding guests thought was granola) was actually goat food and guests were eating them because there were no hors d'oevres being served while everyone was waiting for 90 minutes between the wedding and the reception with nowhere to go. * The wedding was late afternoon and the temperature hovered around 40 degrees, but there were no blankets, no heat of any kind, not in the wedding venue, nor in the barn where the reception was held. Guests had to sit in their coats throughout the reception because it was freezing cold. * There was only one bartender who was doing double duty as the inn elected to continue their normal dinner dining room service and did not have extra staff for the wedding venue. * The food was mediocre at best, was a buffet meal and there was no table service for drinks, nor for food. The inn apologized that they were understaffed, but it meant every guest had to completely serve themselves. * The reception tables were positioned in the hayloft of the barn which meant guests had to walk up multiple steep stairs into the barn and then into the hayloft. * When we arrived at the inn, there was no one to greet us, nor to man the reception desk. We waited at least 30 minutes before someone came. I heard this complaint from many of the other guests as well. * Wedding party members complained that there was very poor electrical heating units in their rooms, one person said their room was very musty-smelling and there was no one to answer questions or to help with the needs of the wedding party. * Juices were provided at the wedding site on a table by the goat pens, but there were no cups or glasses provided, so no one could drink anything. * The reception had only one person from the inn available to answer questions and they were also doing double duty with the kitchen that was trying to supply the restaurant at the same time. It was incredibly chaotic. * At the end of the reception, there was no one to answer questions and there was no one to gather the wedding party's decorations or gifts, in fact, some things were automatically thrown out. This may be a lovely place to just visit or for a meal, but for a larger event like a wedding, they were just not prepared at all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Discover312985, Owner at Colby Hill Inn
Responded Jan 8, 2020
This post is puzzling because I just reviewed every contract and confirmed that every single wedding in September and October had contracted for at least three passed appetizers. We always pass several rounds of each item up until about 15 minutes prior to entering the barn for dinner. And, I know that all weddings this fall had extra remaining appetizers at the end. The Chef prefers to overproduce than to be short. If the contract had not provided for appetizers, it would have been the couple's choice probably due to budgetary reasons. However, appetizers were definitely served at all of our fall weddings. Could you please explain why you are stating there was no food? I can also attest that beverages cups (at least 100) were placed at the beverage station since I check those details myself before every ceremony. I find it curiously coincidental that this post not only comes three months late, but also on the very same day on which one wedding guest had to pay a court-ordered damages fee for breaking down two of our guestroom doors trying to "find his keys". The police came to arrest this individual and two others due to drug-induced disruptive behavior. (The police have NEVER been to our property prior to this for an event). The guest involved willingly cooperated with the police and called us to express his regrets. We should not be the target of hate - we did nothing to cause this other than call the police. As a business owner, I would have welcomed your concerns at the event and done whatever possible to have addressed them then. We work very hard to ensure that guests are happy. You are obviously not happy, so I will address some of the issues and help you understand the decisions made by the hosts: 1. In terms of the temperature, we rent the barn in "as is" condition in the contracts. Our barn dates back to the 1840s and is not insulated because we do not want to lose its authenticity, therefore heating with even large commercial blowers have been very inefficient. This couple came to us late in the game, due to canceling another venue, when other dates were booked and decided on the late date. We do not encourage weddings to take place after October 15, but there are couples who do want to risk the weather. We have asked them to make sure guests come prepared to dress in layers. The wedding immediately after this one elected to rent a commercial construction heater and brought blankets for everyone. It was not our responsibility to buy blankets for all the guests, but we did bring out what we had for people. For 2020, we already have several October weddings booked. So, we are investing in radiant panels which can be located along side areas where guests will sit. This is a large investment, but one we think will be of great value in allowing us to comfortably extend the wedding season by two weeks. 2. Check-in for inn guests is at 2:00 or later. If advised in advance that a guest will arrive earlier (or really late), we will make sure that someone is at the desk at that time. We prepare to receive guests one hour prior to the ceremony. We always have staff at the front desk at these times. Otherwise, the kitchen is adjacent to the lobby and the kitchen staff will help welcome a guest. As you can imagine, we utilize time prior to guest arrival to prepare for the event - it's all hands on deck. I'm sorry that as a guest not staying at the inn that you may not have had known the front desk hours. 3. The goat pen is on the Main Lawn. We ask every couple if they would like us to take them to pasture prior to the ceremony. We were asked to leave them in the stable at the request of the bride. 4. We always provide table servers, even for a buffet. Servers are instructed to circulate tables to ask for refilling glasses of wine. For a buffet, servers focus on keeping the buffet full, breaking it down, clearing plates from the dinner tables and circulating for drink orders. Due to the incidents with the police, there were times when staff were distracted, yes. We have contracted with the Henniker Police to provide an off-duty officer in 2020 on as a result. The restaurant remains open, but does not accept reservations for the hour surrounding event service, and has separate staff working it - however, a couple may close the restaurant for their wedding for a $500 fee. You are correct that the extra bartender did call out due to a family emergency. Staff did their best to work as a team. We have decided to have 1-2 extra staff on hand for events in the case that a call-out does happen. It is always the preference to be over prepared. 5. We do have a point person for checking in on the bridal party at several times before the ceremony. She received nothing but praise from couples this year. She also coordinates with the vendors to let them know the status of the bridal party. Perhaps there were moments when things came up and she was elsewhere on the property. So, we can improve here by printing cards with our event captains' cell phone numbers on to make sure they are more easy to reach. A lot of times, bridal party members are not properly introduced to us. They show up on the day of the wedding and are a bit confused. So, we will work better with couples to make sure that introduction and a list of their names is given in advance. 6. We do not throw out any belongings of couples. We remove them from the barn and dinner tables and store them in the inn overnight for couples to collect in the morning. Nothing was reported missing to us. If you are missing something, please do report it us even at this late time.
Read more
Donna G wrote a review Dec 2019
Boston, Massachusetts6 contributions2 helpful votes
We have been coming to Colby Hill for 5 years and since taken over by the new owners, 4 years ago, it only gets better. Very reasonably priced for a B&B and the breakfast is amazing - a lot of food and delicious. They also give a discount for return guests which i think is brilliant. Perfect place to stay and make a ski weekend out of it. We also enjoyed dinner there (Grazing Room) - the freshest food, local and creative menu. Goat cheese heaven for me - had it multiple ways. I really love staying there. See you soon - room 3 is now our favorite.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We love rooms 3 and 4. Second floor and king beds.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Discover312985, Owner at Colby Hill Inn
Responded Dec 10, 2019
Donna and Paul - we're hoping that there is a lot of skiing in your plans for this winter - we'd be delighted to have you back again soon! Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kindness! - Jeff
Read more
Ashley Prescott wrote a review Oct 2019
8 contributions
+1
I’m not sure where to even begin... I had my wedding weekend on October 4-6 of this year, and when I say there was a sort of magic in the air the entire time, I am not kidding. As a rustic barn wedding venue, you could not ask for anything better in my opinion. Jeff and his team went above and beyond to make our whole weekend something extra special. To start, our rehearsal dinner was Oktoberfest themed and held outside amongst the foliage on the back lawn... I was pretty laid back when it came to that evening, so I did not give much direction when it came to decor. I was absolutely blown away when I saw the setup that the team had prepared for my family and friends... just WOW. Liz was on point with making sure everyone was comfortable and had everything they needed, and she continued to be such a joy to see all weekend through breakfast Sunday morning. Day of the wedding, everyone was working around the clock to make sure things flowed smoothly. Lisa Spahl (our florist and pretty much anything we needed her to be that day) went above and beyond my expectations. I could write a novel about her and not just her ability to take my lack of floral direction and turn it into a masterpiece, but her outstanding work ethic. If you ever have the chance to work with her, know that you are in the best possible hands. Jeff and his team at Colby Hill Inn were some of the most pleasant and accommodating people I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. Leading up to the wedding, Jeff was so receptive to any and all ideas, and he really went above and beyond to help me design the entire wedding from scratch. He is so knowledgeable and really cared and made sure that my husband and I got everything we could have ever wanted for our special day. I can’t even tell you how many people were walking around the property all weekend just in awe of the food, the service, and the setting. It really is the this quaint little inn with SO much to offer. I kept turning corners and finding even more places to explore. The property is like none other... beautiful landscapes, and an all encompassing package. And the food! Oh my the food.... delicious, unique, creative dishes that wowed our guests left and right. I so look forward to visiting in the fall again, as it really is quite a sight to be seen, and a place to behold. I will forever cherish our wedding weekend not just for the obvious reasons, but because of where it was and the amazing people who were involved in making it all happen. To everyone at Colby Hill Inn, from the bottom of my heart, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HonestMee wrote a review Oct 2019
19 contributions9 helpful votes
Epitome of a New England Inn on a perfect colorful fall weekend with your nearly personal, NYC trained/accomplished chef and a highly professional service oriented staff quickly attending to our every notion of a perfect New England experience. Seasonally crafted cocktails along w great wines and time honored ones. Incredible newly restored barn and property blending into classic NE town w small college on the bank of river rolling hills away from it, hikes with covered bridge, nearby Lake Sunapee. We were treated to watching a wedding day on the beautifully decorated grounds and we peaked into the barn on the day of - what a setting !! Yes, of course the stairs are short and the floors are uneven .... thanks for letting us tread on them !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Discover312985, Owner at Colby Hill Inn
Responded Oct 17, 2019
We are so glad that you could visit us! - All the best until the next time, Jeff
Read more
Barbara P wrote a review Oct 2019
Texarkana, Arkansas25 contributions10 helpful votes
Great food and beautiful surroundings. So glad we stayed here. The breakfast each morning was something to look forward to. Plenty of gorgeous walks in the area and the innkeepers were friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Discover312985, Owner at Colby Hill Inn
Responded Oct 16, 2019
Barbara, we look forward to your return! It was a delight to have you here. - Jeff
Read more
Lisa G B wrote a review Oct 2019
6 contributions
We took a fews days to stay here after a previous visit 10 years ago. The place looked the same but now very dirty. In the main house we saw trash on the floor from over flowing trash can, dust on the furniture that you can write your name in, and food still left on tables and on the floor many hours after breakfast as well as the dinner time service. We stayed in guest room 6 which was very dark, and showed its age. The staircase to the room is narrow and you could easily trip on the uneven steps. The service was good and the food excellent, but that did not make up for the dusty run down appearance. We will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I would recommend one of the two carriage house rooms because they are larger and have more...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from henniker_NHInnkeep, Owner at Colby Hill Inn
Responded Oct 2, 2019
Hi, Lisa - I checked our records. We did have to terminate the housekeeper who was here at that time, after trying to work with her, due to attention to detail. There no longer is an issue with cleanliness, we're actually probably cleaner than ever! You were also here during a wedding weekend, which probably caused the dishes to be left out longer after breakfast. That wedding was immediately after breakfast and required a lot of attention, but you are right that the dishes should have been removed from the dining room. In any case, we apologize and please know that that is not the usual here. Room 6 is one of two rooms in the oldest part of the main house that are slated for a makeover once things slow down in November - brightening it up is one of the main goals. I wish I had known at the time of your visit because I would have found you a brighter room. We are also refinishing all the flooring upstairs at the same time as well as putting in new flooring in the two suites. We just finished residing the entire inn and repainting. Believe me, we have been working non-stop at updating since we've taken over. If only we could do it all at once! We hope you will reconsider since it'd be a pleasure to have you return and see the updates. Kindly - Jeff
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
colby hill hotel henniker
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireHenniker
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Colby Hill Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Colby Hill Inn?
Nearby attractions include Pats Peak (2.0 miles), Quilted Threads (0.8 miles), and Old Number 6 Book Depot (0.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Colby Hill Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Colby Hill Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Colby Hill Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Colby Hill Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Intervale Pancake House, Country Spirit Restaurant & Tavern, and The Grazing Room.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Colby Hill Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Colby Hill Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Henniker.
Are there any historical sites close to Colby Hill Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rowell Bridge (4.4 miles).