We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Six South St Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Six South St Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Six South, Hanover's newest hotel, might be overshadowed by its more famous neighbor, The Hanover Inn, but it is an outstanding place to stay right downtown and just a few blocks from Dartmouth College's Green. The rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable, and the staff could not be more helpful or accommodating. The hotel's breakfast offerings are reasonably priced... More 

Helpful?
Thank yupiwasthere
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hanover is an interesting and pleasant town and this hotel is very conveniently placed just off Main St, a few minutes walk from Dartmouth College. This is a good hotel with good facilities and very friendly staff. Breakfast is reasonably priced and they offer dinner too. Parking is very limited (or non-existent) in Hanover so we ended up paying for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've come to expect bland rooms and furnishings, dark restaurants with sticky floors and tables as pretty standard at most chain hotels in the US. Not so with Six South. It's a lovely, fairly new boutique hotel just five minutes walk from the Dartmouth campus. The lobby is cute, the free cookies are a nice touch and desk staff are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam N
JennSays, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Adam N. Thank you so much for making the time to offer a great review with so many details for future guests. I'm happy to hear you liked our hotel and our Bistro. Sarah does an excellent job with breakfast! We'll let her know about adding a little more salt & pepper to the omelets. The Salmon Risotto is... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, new, nicely furbished hotel in the middle of Hanover. Short walk to center of town, restaurants, Dartmouth College. Free coffee, tea in lobby. Staff were very friendly and courteous at all times. Valet service was fantastic. Small workout room with 2 treadmills, a cross trainer, and free weights only.

Helpful?
Thank jkttraveler2
JennSays, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon jkttraveler2. Thank you for the kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed our staff, we work hard to hire people who love what they do! We hope to see you again in the near future. Warm Regards, Jennifer More 

Glen Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night at Six South earlier this month. The hotel staff was welcoming upon arrival and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The bathroom was large with a nice shower. The only negative was the lack of a view - we faced another building.

Helpful?
Thank Rennae P
JennSays, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Rennae P, thank you for the review. Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we wish we had an amazing mountain or garden view too! But, in the meantime we are thankful that we are walking distance to everything in downtown Hanover. We looking forward to having you join us again soon. Warm Regards, Jennifer More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed overnight for a last minute trip. My son and I stayed in a room with two double beds on the third floor. The room was clean and very updated. The bathroom was clean and spacious. We were positively surprised.

Helpful?
Thank Familyof7Traveler
JennSays, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Familyof7Traveler, thanks for writing. That is great news that you enjoyed your stay with us. Not sure what brought you to the area, but we'd love to see you again in your travels bring you back to the Hanover/Dartmouth area. Kind Regards, Jennifer More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
233 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a great experience at this hotel. Amazing location on a quaint side street just a few minutes walk from Dartmouth. From the lovely reception area to the fantastic staff, it was a great stay. It was so great that we decided to extend a night and cancel at our onward hotel. The rooms are clean, well appointed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank blondechickma
JennSays, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Blondechickma, thank you for the feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we would love to have you join us again. Sorry to hear we failed to notify you about staying a 3rd night. I'll be sure to review that procedure with our staff so it does not happen to future guests. Warm... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Close to restaurants and a short walk to Dartmouth. Room was fresh and clean. Bed was comfy. Loved the extra drawer in the bathroom vanity as I was staying a few days and liked the extra space near the sink not being cluttered with make up etc. Hotel restaurant was amazing. Had dinner there twice. The bar served drinks that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
JennSays, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Susan H, thank you for the nice review. I'm so happy to hear you tried our Bistro. It is not at all like the average hotel restaurant! Local ingredients, all items cooked to order, and fun staff. And, yes, we do have the largest wine pour in Hanover. Hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Jennifer More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

From the moment we were greeted by a friendly member of the Six South staff, until we checked out, each staff person was friendly and helpful. Good location, clean rooms and a choice of Breakfast buffet or ordering off the menu. 24 hour tea and coffee. Parked in the parking garage next to the hotel- Sundays are free and VERY... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula H
JennSays, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Paula H, thank you for the positive review. We love our downtown location also and are happy to hear you found it both welcoming and convenient. We hope we get a chance to have you visit again soon. Kind Regards, Jennifer More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on an impromptu break over Memorial Day weekend, the hotel was busy but you would never know. Everything was clean, tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, I had a King room that had a sleeper sofa and it would have easily accommodated a family of 4 or a group of friends.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeithAc165
JennSays, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review LeithAc165. That is great that you were able to join us for the holiday weekend. We love hearing that you enjoyed the food at The Bistro, our team takes great pride in creating fresh items with local ingredients and serving them with a smile. We hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Jennifer More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (66)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Superior Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Coolidge
Hotel Coolidge
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Livey,upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755-2101
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Price Range: $174 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay