We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hancock Inn

Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (93)
Room & Suite (25)
Videos (7)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. It is the state's oldest continuously operating inn with 14 rooms, exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques, along with modern services and amenities, including wifi throughout the building, waffle-weave spa robes and premium toiletries, morning coffee and tea service to the rooms and comfortable common areas. Outdoors, the inn's 1.5 acres connect visitors to the Monandock region's beautiful, uniquely preserved landscape and scenery. The Fox Tavern is open five nights a week featuring small plates and bar service beginning at 4PM (perfect for a quick visit after hiking, fishing, shopping or just to unwind) and full dinner menu beginning at 5:30PM. On Sunday lunch is served from noon-3PM. The Inn’s renowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn."
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
267Reviews
0Q+A
80Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 231
  • 24
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fabulous place to stay at a reasonable price. The breakfast is delicious and he staff is excellent. Was here for a wedding party and the resort even with a discount was far more expensive. The room is nice with an updated bathroom. If I ever return to Mackinac Island I will make Hancock’s my first option.
Read more
Wonderful establishment for a romantic night for your spouse or loved one. Great customer service and food. Comfortable and clean. Highly recommend going to spend a few nights if possible. Quaint little town as well.
Read more
+1
Food in the tavern was great; service outstanding. People kind and helpful. Unfortunately, the Drover's Room was a disappointment to say the least. Peeling wallpaper, mildewed shower with curtain hanging off the hooks, art in the bathroom warped from steam damage (obviously not updated recently). Lots of dusty decor. Coffee pods hadn't been replenished, one tea bag. Just not what I would expect from this type of inn which is part of a national registry of select inns. The other rooms looked beautiful (we peeked in some of them on our way to breakfast as the doors were open for cleaning). If this room is due for a renovation, they should not be renting it, especially at those rates. Apparently all these perfect reviews on here did not stay in the Drovers Room. It's unacceptable.
Read more
Response from Hancockinn, Owner at The Hancock Inn
Responded Apr 11, 2019
Thank you for your review. It looks like you were here back in October, which may explain a little bit some of the wear and tear you experienced in the Drovers room, typically one of our most requested. October is our busiest month because of foliage and things like unhooked shower curtains and some mildew can occur, particularly if we are pushing to reset rooms for other arriving guests. Be assured those conditions are not present right now - nor should they be, ever, we understand. The wallpaper, sorry to say, is not peeling. It was put up that way, with seams overlapping, and curling as a result in places. It's just not a very good job, which we suspect was a DIY under a prior administration. Repapering the Drover's bathroom hasn't made it to the top of the list, because it's otherwise in good shape. Now that you've brought it to our attention it sounds like we should. The same is also true for the picture in the bathroom. It came warped, when it came with us after we purchased the Inn. It's an old print of cows lying in a field and years ago we gave it a sort of a window frame treatment and hung it in our old kitchen. A DIY framing job on our part giving the illusion of looking out a window. I still love it, although is is kind of a dorm-room print, admittedly. Hmmm. We'll poll a few guest going forward to see what they think. I'm sure we could give it new treatment. As for coffee and tea supplies, I suspect it's the same story as the shower curtain. Someone was hurrying. Not good and we're very sorry. Let us know who you are if you come back and we'll try to make things much better for you. Thank you for the input. Jarvis.
Read more
Stayed in the Rufus Porter Room and my husband was astounded the murals were actually painted by Rufus Porter! Topped by listening to the church bell that was made by Paul Revere. The inn is very well kept and breakfast was magnificent.
Read more
+1
The Hancock Inn in Hancock, New Hampshire is the perfect place for truly absorbing the quintessential New England inn atmosphere. Personal hospitality, cozy fireplaces, fantastic homemade breakfasts-this 1789 Inn is highly recommended! Our room, the Rufus Porter room, was delightful with a fireplace and the original hand-painted wall murals. What gave the Inn its most special appeal was the General Manager, Duncan. He was everything one would hope for in a unique Old New England Inn. My husband and I thank Duncan and his wife, Sara, for making out 45th anniversary a wonderful get-away. No comment on the Fox Tavern as it was closed for dinners for the winter season. Marion
Read more
Response from Hancockinn, Owner at The Hancock Inn
Responded Feb 8, 2019
Thank you very much for such a nice review and especially for the particular mention of Duncan and Sue. We felt the same way when we brought them aboard a year ago to provide another layer of service and support for our guests: "Everything one could hope for in a unique, old New England Inn!" Please come visit us again sometime soon! Very best, Jarvis
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hancock hotel hancock
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireHancock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing