We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kentville on the Ocean

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kentville on the Ocean
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a great time as usual at the Kentville. (We've been coming for about 5 years.) We rent the second floor room with the balcony view facing the ocean. It is Sooo pretty when the sun comes up. For convenience and a view, you can't beat this place. Our party ranges from age 2-72 and it is pretty comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank nvantangoli
Trenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Needed a definite update but we could sit & watch the ocean & relax. Seems to be run by college girls who were very nice. Seemed overpriced, but again, we were on the ocean. Probably would not stay again unless it had a major renovation. Floor seemed to run downhill & we were on the third floor with only steep... More 

Helpful?
Thank RWirt
Hudson, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Loved the Kentville. Always wanted to stay here seeing it as we drove past. Finally made our one night stay with a Monkees concert downtown! So much character and charm to this hotel. Our room was very clean with AC and ocean view. Staff at the desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Coffee in the am was delicious. Parking included... More 

Helpful?
Thank susiefraser
Alina B, Manager at Kentville on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear susiefraser, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay after all of your anticipation. Our character and charm is something we very much take pride in and do our best to preserve. Lovely to hear that you appreciated the hard work of our front desk and the fresh coffee they make every morning. We so appreciate... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time 4th of July weekend and loved it! The front desk staff made check-in and check-out quick and easy. I stayed on the second floor facing the Ashworth and was very impressed with the view. Best part about my vacation. I enjoyed my coffee, courtesy of the hotel, every morning sitting on my balcony.... More 

Helpful?
Thank erinyoung22
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

I just spent 4 nights at the Kentville. The young ladies at the front desk were very nice. I was happy to get the room location I had requested. I was surprised when she informed me the gravel parking lot next to the hotel does not have reserved spaces for the hotel. They rent them out to the public. At... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladybug798
Alina B, Manager at Kentville on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear ladybug798, I am so sorry to hear that you were so displeased with your stay here at the Kentville. We always do our absolute best to ensure that each guest has a pleasant and stress free stay. The Fourth of July weekend is our busiest time with many uncontrollable occurrences which we do our absolute best to address as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hampton hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

We stayed in room 27 which faces the hotel across the street, but also has a view of the ocean. I was looking for a place that was not two expensive during the off season. The room was basic & a bit small, but very cozy & clean. The staff was super nice at check in. It is directly across... More 

Helpful?
Thank JaneR2D2
Alina B, Manager at Kentville on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear JaneR2D2 Thank you for writing a kind and honest review. Room 27 is located on the second floor with a side ocean view. We are glad that it was to your liking being "cozy & clean". We are pleased to hear that our staff was pleasant and accommodating to you and your companion. Kentville on the Ocean is located... More 

Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

My husband and I had never been to Hampton Beach. I read the reviews until my head hurt and decided on the Kentville. We were looking for a terrific deck, great views and easy access to all there was to offer. We were not disappointed. Keep in mind this building is a piece of history. Small bathrooms and slanted floors... More 

Helpful?
Thank totalrepair7
Alina B, Manager at Kentville on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear totalrepair7 Thank you very much for your glowing review! Our hotel which has been around for many years offer a home-like charm. Our charm differs from the other hotels on the beach, and we are glad that it makes us stand out. Thank you for mentioning our front desk agent, and she thanks you for your wonderful compliments. Our... More 

Cheshire, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We stayed here twice this year with our 3 year old daughter. When comparing this to the other places on the strip, it's the best up there. Yes the room is average and the bathroom is outdated but so isn't the other well overpriced places to stay nearby. The big competitor next door is ridiculous with their prices and staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank MamaJ965
Alina B, Manager at Kentville on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear MamaJ965 Thank you so much for your descriptive and kind review. Our hotel has been around for years, and continues to offer competitive prices to other hotels on the beach. Our rooms offer a television, free WiFi, AC, mini-fridge, and great views of the ocean. Our front desk staff is thankful to hear that their service was friendly and... More 

Pittsfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

Having stayed at a nearby competitor's hotel in years past, we always admired the grandeur of the Kentville. I granted my husband his wish to stay there this year and we will never return! Our room was tiny, the ability for both of us to fit in the bathroom at once was impossible (we are average sized people). Just enough... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn T
Alina B, Manager at Kentville on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn T We are so sorry to hear that your stay was anything, but wonderful. We understand that our hotel is not for everyone and we do hope that you try one of our other two hotels on Hampton Beach. Our rooms vary on size based on the location on the property, and we are sorry if the room... More 

Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

The place is an absolute dump! Carpet black with dirt, bathroom mold, whole room smells like pee...completely disgusting! The entire hotel needs to be gutted and overhauled. The only sliver of anything good....is that it's on the beach. Unfortunately everything else will gross you out!

Helpful?
2 Thank Graham W
Alina B, Manager at Kentville on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Graham W We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Kentville on the Ocean. We can assure you however that our housekeeping staff is highly trained, and works extremely hard to clean every room after every stay. Our hotel is located directly on the beach and very close to the boardwalk which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (108)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 42 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 42 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#15 of 42 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand View Motel
Grand View Motel
#13 of 42 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 42 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Kentville on the Ocean

Address: 315 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3630
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Price Range: $99 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Kentville On The Ocean Hotel Hampton
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing