We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Glen House

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (348)
Room & Suite (65)
Dining (36)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 8 hotels in Gorham
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Located at the base of the Mount Washington Auto Road, The Glen House offers spacious guestrooms that are reflective of the simplicity of Shaker design, while the lobby embraces the history of the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Although inspired by the past, the technology of today separates The Glen House from its predecessors. The Glen House hotel will be close to energy self-sufficient and carbon neutral, thanks to a geothermal system that will provide heating and cooling as well as two offsite energy-generating projects harnessing hydro and solar power. The Notch Grille, our full-service and family centric restaurant, features your favorite North Country comfort foods – with a twist. Offering breathtaking views of Mount Washington, The Notch Grille is proud to support our local farms, breweries and distilleries – including our own private label vodka made at Tamworth Distilling. Enjoy a meal or beverage on our outdoor patio by the fire pit after a day of adventure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's television networks
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

979 NH Rt 16, Gorham, NH 03581-1545
The Glen House
5.0
1,957 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Glen House garners acclaim for its excellent service, with staff members receiving compliments for their professionalism and hospitality. Nestled in a prime location, the hotel offers easy access to outdoor adventures and mesmerizing mountain views, which guests adore. While the amenities, including pet-friendly policies and quality dining, are celebrated, some visitors lament the absence of in-room coffee makers. Opinions on value are mixed due to high pricing, yet the hotel's cleanliness and stylish atmosphere are consistently praised, despite some noise complaints and missing amenities in rooms.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Top-notch
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1957Reviews14Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,636
  • 233
  • 55
  • 18
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Breda K wrote a review Feb 21
5 contributions
We had a great stay t the Glen House. Rooms are clean and spacious. Lobby was lovely with friendly service and complimentary coffee. Bar area was lovely and comfortable and the staff was super friendly. Kids used the pool and said it was a little chilly. A hot tub addition would be the only suggestion I could make to this wonderful hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
dstaszak2024 wrote a review Feb 16
1 contribution
3rd time we have been to the Glen House. Enjoyed each time. Staff was friendly, food was good and ski trails excellent. Ski passes come with the room. The best is the views, from the bar lounge and out by the fire pit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney Butts, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glen House
Responded 3 days ago
Hi dstaszak2024, We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us at The Glen House. Looking forward to your next visit! Thank you, Courtney Butts
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
LLewis2024 wrote a review Feb 13
1 contribution
Our stay at the Glen House was excellent. Every single person we interacted with was professional and kind and the room was clean and comfortable. It was right across the street from the Great Glen Trails Outdoor Center which was a big plus!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney Butts, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glen House
Responded 3 days ago
Hi LLewis2024, We are delighted to see you had a wonderful time here at The Glen House Hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you, Courtney Butts
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kitkil wrote a review Feb 12
Boston, Massachusetts3 contributions
We came because we were skiing at Great Glen Trails. We were so very appreciative of the vouchers for skiing that came with our stay!! It was great to be the first on the trails after a fresh grooming the night before!!!! And it was so nice to be able to crash for a nap at 2:45 after a long morning of skiing! We will return, especially as long as the vouchers last!!! Great value with free skiing - Thanks a million :))
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney Butts, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glen House
Responded 3 days ago
Hi kitkil, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay - see you again soon! Thank you, Courtney Butts
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pixmcovynf wrote a review Feb 12
1 contribution
This hotel advertises themselves as a spa but good luck getting a service scheduled. I’ve been to a broad variety of hotels and never experienced worse hospitality and overall rudeness. The waitstaff was rude as well. Rooms are clean and decent but also very loud due to being an older building. Beds were standard at best. Go anywhere else in the area. Terrible value for your money. We stayed at the glenhouse in Gorham the next night for half the price. The rooms, staff ,and resturaunt outdid this overpriced hotel by a landslide. Looking forward to coming back to Jackson and trying nearby inns in the future as the town in charming.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney Butts, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glen House
Responded 3 days ago
HI pixscovynf, We have already spoken on the phone about your review, and we agreed that this was a review for another nearby hotel. After speaking it seems as though you had a wonderful stay with us here at The Glen House. Thank you, Courtney Butts
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robert L wrote a review Feb 9
3 contributions
We stayed last year for our anniversary and loved it! The mountain view room, the food, the bar, all the staff, everything was great! Planning on going again next year. So convenient to walk over and go up Mt Washington on the Snow Coach which was a great experience. We lucked out again and the weather and the sights were perfect once again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tsultrimwalter wrote a review Feb 8
2 contributions
Beautiful Location. I visit my sister here every year. Great dining. Nice tea-coffee set up. Service is prompt and available. I love the Mountain View lodge area and the trails. Rooms are large and it is nice to have a refrigerator.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney Butts, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glen House
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you, tsultrimwalter, we are delighted to see you had a wonderful stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cshhealy wrote a review Feb 8
Marblehead, Massachusetts1 contribution
Wonderful spot ! Outstanding views , excellent service, delicious food, and comfy beds. So many outdoor activities …….we fatbiked, snow shoed , went tubing, hiked and swam in the pool. Can’t wait to visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney Butts, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glen House
Responded 3 days ago
Hi cshhealy, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again! Warmly, Courtney Butts
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suzy B wrote a review Feb 4
1 contribution
Our first stay and now our first choice as homeport for mid-week ski trip, 3 nights. The facility and service are outstanding. We especially enjoyed fresh coffee available at 0530 in the lobby every morning and soaking in our room's deep - and super hot - tub after a day at Wildcat, which was 2.2 miles up the road, and Attitash, which was only a 20 minute drive. The mountain views are incredible and the peaceful quiet so restorative. Many restaurants in Jackson or Gorham, short drives, but the onsite restaurant (The Notch Grill) is top notch, especially the breakfast menu. Room was spacious, beautifully furnished and maintained, abundant storage, fluffy towels, wide hallways and stairwells, and I swear the water tastes like it was drawn from a mountain spring!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney Butts, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glen House
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Suzy B, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are delight to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Thank you, Courtney Butts
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mewebb2016 wrote a review Feb 2
Lee, New Hampshire3 contributions
Love the free ev charger for our car & free trail passes for xc skiing at Great Glen. Beautiful view of Mt Washington from the lobby. Good tea & coffee available all day. Can’t say enough good things about it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney Butts, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glen House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi mewebb2016, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area! Warmly, Courtney Butts
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gorham area.
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireWhite MountainsGorham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GLEN HOUSE $139 ($̶1̶7̶9̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Gorham, NH

Frequently Asked Questions about The Glen House
Which popular attractions are close to The Glen House?
Nearby attractions include Glen Ellis Falls (3.5 miles), Mount Washington (4.1 miles), and Mount Washington State Park (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Glen House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Glen House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Glen House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Glen House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Glen House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Glen House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Glen House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Glen House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Swift River Bridge (7.2 miles).
Does The Glen House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Glen House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.