We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
185 Court St, Exeter, NH 03833-4028
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
15Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 5
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Sort by:
Most Recent
RPAPKPMP wrote a review Aug 2019
Stourbridge, United Kingdom185 contributions148 helpful votes
Went to this camp group with our 25ft RV. Nice welcome from very pleasant owners and the site we had was absolutely fine but nothing more. This place is in a beautiful setting and has the potential to be great but at this stage it is only potential. Sadly the general upkeep is only average, showers were pretty poor and tough to get working, toilets were clean, outdoor pool was nice, site table/fire pit was ok. All in all it was fine for one night but frustrating that you felt it could be much much better...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Renee C wrote a review Jul 2019
6 contributions
The campground is pretty and wooded. It was close to area attractions but was dirty. There was trash all over our site when we arrived and around a lot of the campground and the bathrooms had toilets but no sinks The bathrooms were very dirty and were not cleaned the whole weekend we were there
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa M wrote a review Aug 2017
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We are locals...Newburyport. Bought our Camper at Campers Inn in Kingston. We are first time camper owners and were very nervous how to operate it all. We wanted to stay local. The campground was extremely clean and well maintained. The office staff was very nice. There really was not a camp store only a ice cream machine/ ice/wood which was a little disappointing only because I like to poke around. I also wish there they had cable hookup. The campground was very quiet with family oriented guests. We did not use the pool but it looked well maintained. I would absolutely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 14, 2017
Hi Lisa, thank you for your review. Congratulations on your new camper and we hope you had a great experience as new camper owners and hope that you had a great time at Green Gate! We appreciate your feedback about the store as well as cable hookup - we will look into these suggestions. We are very glad that you found the campground to be family-friendly as well as well-maintained. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GaryWT wrote a review Aug 2017
The Villages, Florida793 contributions191 helpful votes
We were looking forward to our first stay here after talking to the new owners at a show and hearing good things about the campground. Unfortunately it was not too nice. First the good stuff; the entry way was night and paved, the playground looked ok and the owner was very nice. We did not look at the bathrooms so we cannot comment on those. Now for the bad, unfortunately; one of our reservations was lost so it too a long time to check in and figure everything out, the pool could be nice as the water was clear but the walls and the bottom were very dirty and did not look good, needed either a good cleaning or painting, the sites were in desperate need of some TLC some re-grading and general clean up and brush clearing. In addition some trees need to come down as they make it very difficult to get into some sites or even use others. Also some sites are very small and the smaller seasonal sites have items crossing over to other sites making things very crowded. Some seasonal sites were ok but others were very clutter and had 2-3 sheds or wood additions etc. in general we found the site area to very messy, if this is an improvement over what it was I sure would not have liked in before. There is no store to speak off, the office had 4 bundles of wood and a few ice creams and that was all. Also we had to sign a paper saying we had to burn there wood or face a $1000 fine. I guess I could go on but I think you can get my point. We had been on a great run of nice campgrounds until this one. Due to the location we hoped this would of been nice but we do not plan on returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 14, 2017
Hi GaryWT, thank you for your review and feedback. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We work hard to keep our campsites, and the campground as a whole, clean and organized. However please know that your comments are appreciated and that we will always work on improving our campground. The policy on out-of-state firewood and corresponding fine is per NH state law and is one that we are required to abide by. We do hope that you visit us again for a better experience. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheri wrote a review Aug 2017
Camillus, New York104 contributions27 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights, which allowed us to visit many close attractions. The campground was well maintained and our site was huge. The owners were nice and helpful. It was awfully buggy, maybe spray for mosquitoes? We liked that it was away from town and the roads around it were scenic and convenient to the coast. There was a pool, but we didn't use it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 14, 2017
Hi Cheri, thank you for your review. We are very glad you had a chance to visit the nearby attractions and that you found the campground to be scenic as well as in a convenient location. We will look into your suggestion about possibly spraying for mosquitos. Take care and we hope you stay with us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eventgallb wrote a review Sep 2016
Whitman, Massachusetts176 contributions82 helpful votes
There are new owners and they are doing a nice job. The sites are close and laid out like a grid but pretty wooded. They have a pool but we did not use it. Too cool outside. It's a gated property so we felt secure. The bathrooms were nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Dec 7, 2016
Hi eventgallb, thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a nice stay (even with colder weather) and the new owners appreciate your kind compliments. We surely hope you come visit again! Happy holidays and warm regards -- The Green Gate Campground
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
raincloud30 wrote a review Aug 2016
Montreal, Canada49 contributions3 helpful votes
My family has been going to this campground for roughly 10 years. We decided to join them camping for a 4 day week-end. The campground had about 25% occupancy so lots of sites available. The grass on the sites hadn't been mowed in a while, the bathrooms started out to be clean but after our 3rd day nothing had been cleaned and garbage bins were full. Showers were dirty, hair in the drains with left-over soap bars and rasor. Toilet-paper missing in the men's/women's bathrooms and light burned-out in the woman`s bathroom. We advised the office twice but when we checked out still nothing was done. Bundle of wood with 4 pieces sold for $6.00. Apparently the campground has been sold. The new owners are lacking the terrific service that The Green Gate former owners established. A few coats of paint in the common areas and seasonal flowers would be nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 11, 2016
Hi raincloud30, we appreciate your return and stay with us for a 4-day weekend. We are sorry you felt that 'nothing was done' after you had brought things to the attention of the office. While we understand your point of view, we would also like to reassure you that we did check the bathrooms, and noticed some sand in there from the beach. We also checked the garbage bins, bathroom lights, as well as made sure that the toilet paper was stocked. If there was left-over soap bars and razors, we will make sure to remind our campers to clean up after using the bathrooms. Additionally, our staff member who takes care of the cleanliness of the bathrooms has been working here for several years and she does a thorough job. Regarding the grass, we have 3 staff members who take care of lawn-mowing every week. For the bundle of wood sold at $6.00, all of our prices reflect the cost that we incur. Lastly, the ownership has indeed changed but we have a close relationship with the old owners and we strive to make all our campers happy and comfortable. We also strive to always keep the campground a clean and beautiful place. Thank you for your review and please let us know of any questions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vawgrc wrote a review May 2016
Portsmouth, New Hampshire38 contributions21 helpful votes
The new owners are amazing! If your looking for a campground close to the beach and Portsmouth, this is the place! They have a pool, clean sites and bathrooms. Also games and a playground. They can take up to 40ft in the back inside. They have three pull thoughts that could take bigger rvs. Also they added cabins and they have a banquet hall too. They have it all!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 14, 2016
Thank you for your review, vawgrc! We are glad that you think the campground is a convenient location that offers facilities and amenities that you think are important! We appreciate you and your time to write this review very much.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia D wrote a review Sep 2015
Latham, New York1 contribution
My husband and I stayed at The Green Gate 7/7/15-7/14/15. We also had our dog with us. We enjoyed our stay very much. The bathrooms are very clean. the campground is basic, but very nice. Excellent location to the beaches, stores and restaurants. Will go again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 14, 2016
Hi Patricia, thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the campground to be clean and also a close location to the places you mentioned. We will add more activities and amenities to the campground shortly. We hope you, your husband and your dog had a great time and hope to see you all again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
myrtha77 wrote a review Aug 2014
Quebec158 contributions24 helpful votes
We stayed at The Green Gate for the third time in four years and it was great as usual. We had a tent and were located just near a small forested area, far for everyone else, but still close to the restrooms and showers (which are clean, but the water in the showers is a bit cold). The kids were able to go play at the playground, which has seen better years but is still ok to play, or swim in the swimming pool. Sites are generally big and there are many many pine trees everywhere. Every time we went, there were plenty of unoccupied sites which is nice, because there are not too many people. Only 20 minutes from Hampton Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GREEN GATE - Campground Reviews (Exeter, NH)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Green Gate
Which popular attractions are close to The Green Gate?
Nearby attractions include Swasey Parkway (1.9 miles), American Independence Museum (1.7 miles), and Phillips Exeter Academy (1.6 miles).
What are some restaurants close to The Green Gate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Epoch Gastropub, Memories Ice Cream INC, and Las Olas Taqueria.
Are there any historical sites close to The Green Gate?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Powder House (2.0 miles).