We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
185 Court St, Exeter, NH 03833-4028
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
15Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 5
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
RPAPKPMP wrote a review Aug 2019
Stourbridge, United Kingdom177 contributions104 helpful votes
Went to this camp group with our 25ft RV. Nice welcome from very pleasant owners and the site we had was absolutely fine but nothing more. This place is in a beautiful setting and has the potential to be great but at this stage it is only potential. Sadly the general upkeep is only average, showers were pretty poor and tough to get working, toilets were clean, outdoor pool was nice, site table/fire pit was ok. All in all it was fine for one night but frustrating that you felt it could be much much better...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Renee C wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions
The campground is pretty and wooded. It was close to area attractions but was dirty. There was trash all over our site when we arrived and around a lot of the campground and the bathrooms had toilets but no sinks The bathrooms were very dirty and were not cleaned the whole weekend we were there
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lisa M wrote a review Aug 2017
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We are locals...Newburyport. Bought our Camper at Campers Inn in Kingston. We are first time camper owners and were very nervous how to operate it all. We wanted to stay local. The campground was extremely clean and well maintained. The office staff was very nice. There really was not a camp store only a ice cream machine/ ice/wood which was a little disappointing only because I like to poke around. I also wish there they had cable hookup. The campground was very quiet with family oriented guests. We did not use the pool but it looked well maintained. I would absolutely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 14, 2017
Hi Lisa, thank you for your review. Congratulations on your new camper and we hope you had a great experience as new camper owners and hope that you had a great time at Green Gate! We appreciate your feedback about the store as well as cable hookup - we will look into these suggestions. We are very glad that you found the campground to be family-friendly as well as well-maintained. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
GaryWT wrote a review Aug 2017
Massachusetts711 contributions180 helpful votes
We were looking forward to our first stay here after talking to the new owners at a show and hearing good things about the campground. Unfortunately it was not too nice. First the good stuff; the entry way was night and paved, the playground looked ok and the owner was very nice. We did not look at the bathrooms so we cannot comment on those. Now for the bad, unfortunately; one of our reservations was lost so it too a long time to check in and figure everything out, the pool could be nice as the water was clear but the walls and the bottom were very dirty and did not look good, needed either a good cleaning or painting, the sites were in desperate need of some TLC some re-grading and general clean up and brush clearing. In addition some trees need to come down as they make it very difficult to get into some sites or even use others. Also some sites are very small and the smaller seasonal sites have items crossing over to other sites making things very crowded. Some seasonal sites were ok but others were very clutter and had 2-3 sheds or wood additions etc. in general we found the site area to very messy, if this is an improvement over what it was I sure would not have liked in before. There is no store to speak off, the office had 4 bundles of wood and a few ice creams and that was all. Also we had to sign a paper saying we had to burn there wood or face a $1000 fine. I guess I could go on but I think you can get my point. We had been on a great run of nice campgrounds until this one. Due to the location we hoped this would of been nice but we do not plan on returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 14, 2017
Hi GaryWT, thank you for your review and feedback. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We work hard to keep our campsites, and the campground as a whole, clean and organized. However please know that your comments are appreciated and that we will always work on improving our campground. The policy on out-of-state firewood and corresponding fine is per NH state law and is one that we are required to abide by. We do hope that you visit us again for a better experience. Thank you.
Read more
Cheri wrote a review Aug 2017
Camillus, New York104 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights, which allowed us to visit many close attractions. The campground was well maintained and our site was huge. The owners were nice and helpful. It was awfully buggy, maybe spray for mosquitoes? We liked that it was away from town and the roads around it were scenic and convenient to the coast. There was a pool, but we didn't use it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy K, Public Relations Manager at The Green Gate
Responded Aug 14, 2017
Hi Cheri, thank you for your review. We are very glad you had a chance to visit the nearby attractions and that you found the campground to be scenic as well as in a convenient location. We will look into your suggestion about possibly spraying for mosquitos. Take care and we hope you stay with us again!
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Green Gate
Which popular attractions are close to The Green Gate?
Nearby attractions include Swasey Parkway (1.9 miles), American Independence Museum (1.7 miles), and Phillips Exeter Academy (1.6 miles).
What are some restaurants close to The Green Gate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blue Moon Evolution, Green Bean On Water, and Lobster Boat Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to The Green Gate?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lowell's Boat Shop (8.4 miles), New Hampshire Historic Marker #37 ~ George Washington's Visit (5.7 miles), and Tuck Museum (6.5 miles).