We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Exeter Elms Family Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Exeter Elms Family Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in the Ash area with a large group of people. We found this area to be very buggy! Staff at check in was very friendly and welcoming. Small playground across the way from us. Bathrooms were clean and fairly close by. Activities for the kids at the pavilion. Large pool. We had a good time and will... More 

Helpful?
Thank _michelle_moran874
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here two weeks - the entire time the dumpsters at the entrance to the campground were overflowing and surrounded by trash on the ground. Our campsite had a very pleasant couple with two children on one side and a group of two guys and a girl on the other. This second group was loud and almost every sentence... More 

Helpful?
Thank RVtraveller2016
Pittsfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here at the Ash Area (primitive camp area - no electric/water). We were only staying there to sleep, not to have the camping experience per se. We found the primitive area VERY buggy and had tons of tree canopy. There were water spouts very close and a bath house that was clean. It was very dark and you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin R
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

My family camped here for three nights over July 4th 2016 holiday. We had a good time but there are definitely improvements that need to be made at Exeter Elms involving the bathroom and shower areas. First of all there needs to be cleaning, restocking and maintenance more than once a day, especially during a very busy holiday weekend! Dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
Nicole R, General Manager at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our campground over the holiday and we apologize for any time you may have been unhappy. Our pool hours are from 8am-dusk and we do let them swim longer as an incentive and on occasion we will do an adult swim for an hour after hours per request of the campers to let everyone relax and... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
287 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

This was there first weekend and our first trip of the year. We were looking for a nice quiet relaxing weekend and that is what we got. A nice fire along the river morning and at night. A walk through the campground and seeing some friendly campers. There is a lot going on here so it looks like a nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank GaryWT
Nicole R, General Manager at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you Gary WT for your review I am very glad you enjoyed your weekend and have noticed the hard work being put in to the place. We are trying to make it a fun place for the family to get away, relax, and make some wonderful memories too! Hope to see you again soon! :-) More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We traveled there after a long trip from the south. We had planned to stay 4 nights and visit with family in town. We pulled in and they could not accomodate a 50 Amp camper and water hook up. The place looked as if everyone were long term residents. Dirty kids running around, deplorable appearing conditions and junk around everyone's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 24Bert2424
Nicole R, General Manager at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello "so bad we didn't even stay" and i want to first say i'm very sorry you were unhappy when you came to our campground. I would like to let you know we currently are under new management and when you came we just got here ourselves. We worked with what was here last season that we walked into the... More 

Sandwich, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Worst campground I've ever been to. I'd give it no stars if I could. The bathrooms were foul and the staff are idiots. We were traveling and rolled into town after the campground hours. They appeared to be friendly and accommodating by agreeing to leave us a parking pass on the door. When we got to our campsite we were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank crystalline420
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't like your stay we are doing alot of new renovations this year and we have upgraded our hickory bathrooms in the past week we are going to be doing ash tenting next. And we offered a credit so you could simply try our campground at another time and next time you will be accommodated to a spot... More 

Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

This was our 4th year and the worst! The new owner could care less about the paying guest that are staying there. We were there for 2 weeks and dropped about $700 between us! In the first 24 hrs we tried to take showers in the ladies room and dropped $6 in the showers to get hot water...guess what no... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

We are doing a ton of upgrading and under new management this year, still working on getting the place in full working order. Alot of people don't know how to work the meters so please ask while your here if they are not working or if something is wrong with your stay we can't make your stay better if you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here twice this season and had a great time. Most of the weekends are themed which is nice. We had stayed for the fourth of July weekend and their Halloween themed weekend. There were plenty of activities they had planned for the kids. The campsites we had stayed in were clean and well shaded. Most of the staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chace1
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are glad to hear you had such 2 great times here with us. We have a new great activities director this year doing lots of things to keep them busy and to keep them from getting bored....and not always being dependent on playstation, phones, and tablets lol. We have just put in new... More 

Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

I was originally going to write a separate review but after receiving a response from the campground regarding the email that I sent of the honest review of our stay I decided to just copy and past the email I send the campground. the * represent things that I have added or edited in response to the owners email to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank melly a
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

I do remember speaking with you while you were staying here with us and I'm the one that was leaf blowing. I spoke with you at your cabin and you were so nice and gave me a paper towel to clean out a boat for a camper. You didn't complain about any of your stay and seemed very happy at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.3 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
1.6 mi away
Inn by the Bandstand
Inn by the Bandstand
#1 of 3 in Exeter
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fun for the Whole Family! Exeter Elms offers a perfect camping location, with a mile of frontage on the beautiful Exeter River for fishing, canoeing, and kayaking. Well-spaced, wooded sites are designed to provide a maximum of privacy. Exeter Elms is only 15 minutes from Hampton Beach, an hour from Boston, and two hours from the White Mountains. Use our clean, first-class facilities as your base to explore and enjoy the entire Seacoast Region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exeter Elms Family Campground

Address: 190 Court St, Exeter, NH 03833-4027
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Price Range: $29 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Exeter Elms Family Campground Hotel Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing