We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Exeter Elms Family Campground

190 Court St., Exeter, NH 03833
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Exeter Elms Family Campground
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We traveled there after a long trip from the south. We had planned to stay 4 nights and visit with family in town. We pulled in and they could not accomodate a 50 Amp camper and water hook up. The place looked as if everyone were long term residents. Dirty kids running around, deplorable appearing conditions and junk around everyone's... More 

Helpful?
Thank 24Bert2424
Nicole R, General Manager at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello "so bad we didn't even stay" and i want to first say i'm very sorry you were unhappy when you came to our campground. I would like to let you know we currently are under new management and when you came we just got here ourselves. We worked with what was here last season that we walked into the... More 

Princeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

When we arrived at the campground we were greeted by a nice woman who took the time to explain how the campground works. A fifth wheel had knocked out power and some of the roads at the campground so we had to guess which roads to go down to get to our spot. The sites were decent sized with dinky... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndreaProulx
Nicole R, General Manager at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello "very disappointed over the cleanliness" i do apologize for your unhappy vacation. We are under new management and worked with what we had walked into. However it is no excuse and we are hoping 2016 will be a complete turnaround facelift for Exeter Elms Campground. We have lots of new ideas and things coming when we open in May.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Worst campground I've ever been to. I'd give it no stars if I could. The bathrooms were foul and the staff are idiots. We were traveling and rolled into town after the campground hours. They appeared to be friendly and accommodating by agreeing to leave us a parking pass on the door. When we got to our campsite we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank crystalline420
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't like your stay we are doing alot of new renovations this year and we have upgraded our hickory bathrooms in the past week we are going to be doing ash tenting next. And we offered a credit so you could simply try our campground at another time and next time you will be accommodated to a spot... More 

Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

This was our 4th year and the worst! The new owner could care less about the paying guest that are staying there. We were there for 2 weeks and dropped about $700 between us! In the first 24 hrs we tried to take showers in the ladies room and dropped $6 in the showers to get hot water...guess what no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

We are doing a ton of upgrading and under new management this year, still working on getting the place in full working order. Alot of people don't know how to work the meters so please ask while your here if they are not working or if something is wrong with your stay we can't make your stay better if you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here twice this season and had a great time. Most of the weekends are themed which is nice. We had stayed for the fourth of July weekend and their Halloween themed weekend. There were plenty of activities they had planned for the kids. The campsites we had stayed in were clean and well shaded. Most of the staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chace1
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are glad to hear you had such 2 great times here with us. We have a new great activities director this year doing lots of things to keep them busy and to keep them from getting bored....and not always being dependent on playstation, phones, and tablets lol. We have just put in new... More 

Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

I was originally going to write a separate review but after receiving a response from the campground regarding the email that I sent of the honest review of our stay I decided to just copy and past the email I send the campground. the * represent things that I have added or edited in response to the owners email to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank melly a
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

I do remember speaking with you while you were staying here with us and I'm the one that was leaf blowing. I spoke with you at your cabin and you were so nice and gave me a paper towel to clean out a boat for a camper. You didn't complain about any of your stay and seemed very happy at... More 

Newton, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

This place has the potential to be really nice but they need to do a better job cleaning the bathrooms, making sure people get the hot water they have to pay for and policing the camp area. We had very rude and intrusive neighbors on both sides. One was a couple so messed up on drugs we avoided any kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank sweinrich2015
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

We have 2 brand new hot water tanks in the the bathrooms. There is plenty of hot water it's just people are not sure how to use the coin machines now they are new. And I the owner drive my property many times a day and have 2 security guards at night by golf cart we can not stand at... More 

Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

campground staff were friendly and kind, kids loved the pool and river fishing. our site was clean and quite large, this was our first very time here and we look forward to going back. however we found that there was a very large group from Quebec that had multiple sites, they were quite loud late at night and woke my... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank bill h
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your time. We are glad to hear you had a good time. Unfortunately about the group you were near we can't turn people away for that and we do try our best to accommodate everyone. In the future ask us if there is any large groups renting sites next to you so maybe that will help... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

We stayed at Exeter Elms Campground in the second half of July 2015 for 3 nights in a simple tent setup with no electricity. I hesitated before I reserved this spot because I read the reviews on several website before and read some awful reviews but some website reviewed it up to 4 stars so I thought maybe people were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred D
Eden, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

While we were only there for an overnight stop we were SO disappointed. The toilets were virtually unusable - the women's worse then the mens. The Mens were just plain dirty according to my husband. The women's was unusable - at this time of the year?? REALLY??? Painting. Showers were NOT working at all. Water was a drip and there... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Blumy52
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.1 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
1.5 mi away
Inn by the Bandstand
Inn by the Bandstand
#1 of 3 in Exeter
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities