We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
1477 Main St Glen, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03812
Lowest prices for your stay
$99
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com$99
Priceline$99
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (95)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (1)

About

#7 of 12 hotels in Bartlett
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a bed and breakfast that is more like a small European hotel with inn rooms, cottages, with fireplaces, kitchenettes, Jacuzzis. A great base for all White Mountain activity (alpine and x-c ski, hiking and mountain biking trail access, Story Land,Santa's Village, Polar Express Packages) & just relaxing. We are minutes to StoryLand, Attitash, as well as the best hiking trails in the White Mountains. Our friendly innkeeper and staff will ensure your stay is memorable and cook you a hearty and healthy breakfast each morning. Expert trail advice, outdoor hot tub/pool. Great for couples and families; Pets welcomed in cottages.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
349Reviews6Q+A59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 222
  • 70
  • 21
  • 11
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The new owner of this place does not take pride in running a business. He is a scam artist who has no problem making false promises and keeping people's money. The so called "Manager"(who does not live on the premises) only works part time and does not maintain the property. The rooms were disgustingly filthy, the heat doesn't work, the front door knob was falling off and rigged with a piece of scotch tape! Stay away......far far away from this establishment.
Read more
Response from Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn
Responded Feb 14, 2020
(Since this review was written by a guest from the same party who wrote one almost simultaneously, the response is largely the same). We were in contact with you and the others from your group and informed you that our manager was caught in a snow storm and therefore unable to drive to the inn until that Sunday (late morning). Without questioning your concerns, we did offer to move many folks from your party to new rooms that were clean. One room was given a new blanket and bedspread that she never took. Room 5 was given another room and kept Room 5 too. Your party did enter a locked area with a sign posted that said 'employees only'. We did also find the lobby area in disarray from your guest. Nonetheless, we wanted to be as accommodating as possible so did offer future stay and refund considerations which you chose not to accept in lieu of posting your feelings on social media--which is your prerogative. We are sorry for your disappointment and want readers to know we tried to be as responsive and fair as we could under the circumstances. Yours, Bartlett Inn
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed here on a couples anniversary getaway and we had a fine visit. We checked in around 6, but found no one inside. Our key was in an envelope and our room unlocked. I did find that a bit odd, and would've loved to have been greeted as I didn't think we got there too late. But we are self-sufficient, and anyone seeking a remote private getaway would find this appealing. We did note that the front porch looked like it needed a bit of a sweep, as did the stairs up to our room. However, we were pleasantly surprised with our rooms' cleanliness. The room was bright and very spacious. The bathroom seemed newly updated, and the shower was excellent. The best part of our room and our stay, was our bed. We both are very picky sleepers and this king bed was huge and really comfortable! We both got such a good nights sleep, as the Inn was quiet and peaceful even while being quite booked up. We did not partake in the breakfast, but the set up of food and coffee while checking out seemed very nice. The staff were all very pleasant as well. I think just taking a broom to the front steps and the stairs inside, and maybe keeping someone on premises until a bit later in the evening are the only improvements that we would make. Recommend this Inn to anyone seeking a quiet, tranquil place to visit in the mountains, definitely choosing the room we had on the third floor. A great nights sleep on a great weekend. Thanks for the memories!
Read more
Response from Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us and for recognizing the staff, accommodations and quality of breakfast. We are sorry no one was at the office when you arrived. It is likely our front-desk staff was on the property attending to a guest's need. We look forward to your return. Yours, Bartlett Inn
Read more
To call this place a dump is insulting to dumps. We arrived in a snowstorm, and yes, we understand the roads were bad- we just drove 6 hours to arrive, but we had to shovel our own paths to our rooms, since the owner or manager couldn’t bother to ensure that 10-12 guests arrived safely. Since they neglected to have salt or sand (come on, this is northern New Hampshire), several of us fell on the ice. The big issue however is the complete disregard for cleanliness. I couldn’t tell you the last time any of the rooms were cleaned, as dust, mold, hair, old food, and even blood were found in our rooms. I spent the entire weekend coughing (dust and mold allergies!). We thought we were going to have a cozy quaint New England weekend. Being outdated is one thing, and part of the charm of a B&B, but this place is simply filthy. It is shocking that it hasn’t been shut down. One of us called to say that there was no heat- yes, she was offered an “upgrade” but I’m not sure what you can upgrade to when all rooms are cringeworthy, It’s a good thing no one showed up to cook us breakfast (despite this being a bed and breakfast!) because you couldn’t pay me to eat there. When we called the owner to share our concerns, after being defensive and condescending towards several members of our group, he offered us a free future night. I would be crazy- and you should too- to step foot on that property. The health department and building inspector would have a field day.
Read more
Response from Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear Guest, (Since this review was written by a guest from the same party who wrote one almost simultaneously, the response is largely the same). We were in contact with you and the others from your group and informed you that our manager was caught in a snow storm and therefore unable to drive to the inn until that Sunday (late morning). Without questioning your concerns, we did offer to move many folks from your party to new rooms that were clean. One room was given a new blanket and bedspread that she never took. Room 5 was given another room and kept Room 5 too. Your party did enter a locked area with a sign posted that said 'employees only'. We did also find the lobby area in disarray from your guest. Nonetheless, we wanted to be as accommodating as possible so did offer future stay and refund considerations which you chose not to accept in lieu of posting your feelings on social media--which is your prerogative. We are sorry for your disappointment and want readers to know we tried to be as responsive and fair as we could under the circumstances. Yours, Bartlett Inn
Read more
+1
I arrived at the Bartlett Inn on a Friday afternoon to stay at one of the cottages for two nights. We arrived during a time when it was snowing and nothing was shoveled or salted. My friend and myself fell on the property as there was nobody there to help us. The keys were left for us to just get for ourselves. The owner Jeremy of the Bartlett Inn/AHM Properties, LLC spoke time several of my friends and let us know the manager could not get there and he doesn’t live on the property. He hasn’t been to the property in a while as we found out. The manager Mary said she had car problems. Our cottage and our friends cottages and room at the Inn were filthy. We had one roll of toilet paper and not enough towels. Cords for the appliances were hung on the wall by an extension cord, floors covered in dust and dirt, cob webs everywhere, a fireplace that was never cleaned, blood on the floor in one room, black mold on ceilings and more. The next morning no breakfast was served and the manager never even showed up until around 11am. What we saw was horrific when we met her. She brought trash bags of linens out of her car that she was smoking in and gave them to us. I have horrible allergies and could barely breathe in the cabin to begin with. She had a small dog that she allowed in the kitchen area and when we were in the inn and she left the door open there was trash everywhere. There are health hazards, fire hazards and building issues everywhere. The owner responds only to some people and very sarcastically. He is a lawyer that treats people horrible and tries to intimidate others to not say anything. We had brought in donuts that Saturday since there was no breakfast and guess what the manager put out the next day??!!! Do not eat there. We hope by sharing our experience that others do not have to experience what we did. There was a local person living there in a cabin who kept asking for things. It’s not safe and nobody should ever stay there.
Read more
Response from Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear Guest, We were in contact with you and the others from your group and informed you that our manager was caught in a snow storm and therefore unable to drive to the inn until that Sunday (late morning). Without questioning your concerns, we did offer to move many folks from your party to new rooms that were clean. One room was given a new blanket and bedspread that she never took. Room 5 was given another room and kept Room 5 too. Your party did enter a locked area with a sign posted that said 'employees only'. We did also find the lobby area in disarray from your guest. Nonetheless, we wanted to be as accommodating as possible so did offer future stay and refund considerations which you chose not to accept in lieu of posting your feelings on social media--which is your prerogative. We are sorry for your disappointment and want readers to know we tried to be as responsive and fair as we could under the circumstances. Yours, Bartlett Inn
Read more
I had 2 rooms booked at the Bartlett Inn and Cottages, and after checking in discovered one of the rooms did not have running water. When we informed the front desk, they said they would investigate. I later called to check in, and the owner informed me that the pipes were frozen, could not be remedied that night, and that they were completely full and could not relocate us to a functioning room. Instead of offering a refund for a room we could not use, he offered us a discount on a future stay and access to a common (and very unsanitary) bathroom in a different building 200 feet away in a snow storm. I was told I had until 8PM to speak with someone if we did not want to stay the night, and when we returned at 7:30PM there was no staff remaining and no one answering the phones. No one has returned my phone calls or emails since. I have waited to post this review in hopes of resolving these issues, but management has put in no effort to rectify the situation. While weather is out of our control, this particular cold snap was neither unseasonable or unforeseen and there was no acceptable reason that a room be offered without running water. I would not recommend this establishment any time during the winter, and would not expect good communication during your stay.
Read more
Response from Jeremy R, Owner at Bartlett Inn
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear Guest, When we spoke with you, prior to your email demanding recompense, I indicated we would give you credit for a future stay and apologized for a situation that had just occurred that evening. We were unable to secure a plumber on a holiday weekend. You had indicated a level of understanding and appreciation for our offer--before sending your (what we believe to be) inappropriate email. We again apologize for the situation. Yours, Bartlett Inn
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$107 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bartlett hotel bartlett
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireWhite MountainsBartlett
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bartlett Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Bartlett Inn?
Nearby attractions include Arethusa Falls (2.5 miles), Crawford Notch State Park (3.5 miles), and Bear Notch Ski Touring Center (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bartlett Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Bartlett Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Bartlett Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bartlett Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cabin Fever, Joseph's Spaghetti Shed, and Bart's Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bartlett Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Bartlett Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Bartlett.
Are pets allowed at Bartlett Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bartlett Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Bartlett Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Albany Covered Bridge (7.6 miles).