We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
255 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501-1407
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Party Pub Package
Booking.com
$118
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/20
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
$159
$109
View Deal
SAVE $50
Free cancellation until 12/13/20
Agoda.com$118
FindHotel$116
ZenHotels.com$159
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (304)
Room & Suite (102)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Whitney Peak Hotel
Updated 06/16/20

About

#7 of 64 hotels in Reno
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
In the center of the bright lights of Reno sits a new Nevada landmark. Welcome to Whitney Peak Hotel the only full service luxury non gaming non smoking hotel in Reno. We are centrally located just two blocks from the beautiful river walk and adjacent to the historic Reno Arch. Designed to bring the best of the outdoors inside, this new landmark hotel caters to the free-spirit in all of us. All guest rooms and suites feature a king or two queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, refrigerator, complimentary bottled water, coffee and tea, in-room safe and spectacular views of the mountains. Concierge level accommodations feature complimentary breakfast, appetizers and beverages. The hotel also offers Heritage: featuring award winning chef Mark Estee and Cargo: a hip new concert venue for 1100 guests.
Read more
Room & Suite (102)102
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Yoga room
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Party Pub Package
2,964Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,617
  • 863
  • 304
  • 119
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stacys4479 wrote a review Nov 22
3 contributions
This hotel is PERFECTION!!! Whether family or adults with animals or without!!! Whitney peak is thee best in Reno!!! Anything you need they are fantastic about! Right downtown without the " downtown" feel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
hihi_mary wrote a review Dec 2019
San Jose, California14 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This review has been so over-due. I stayed at Whitney 2 times already, once in end of Aug another time in end of Nov. I stayed in executive level both times. Reason I keep coming back is location, service & NO CASINO in the hotel and hotel is non-smoking. It's very refreshing to stay in a quiet hotel with no smoke smell. The perks for staying in executive level is I've got to join them for happy hour at the lounge with 2 free drinks and some cheese/crackers/fruits. In addition, free breakfast buffet (eggs/harsh/fruits/bread etc.,) available in executive lounge. There isn't a wide varieties of breakfast choice but it's a nice perk to stay in execute level. Room - I stayed in both 2 queens & 1 king bed room. Both rooms are clean & roomy. I believe if book directly from hotel site, self parking is free (Please double check with hotel). I opted for valet parking, there's a $15/day charge (please double check with hotel). This is my go-to hotel whenever I'm in Reno
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from rachkayz, Public Relations Manager at Whitney Peak Hotel
Responded Dec 31, 2019
Hello, and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you back again soon! Also, you are absolutely correct that if you book direct self-parking is free and valet is $15/day. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit with us. Rachel Zunino Community Manager
Read more
Gd1029 wrote a review Nov 21
Modesto, California1 contribution
Very clean, modern hotel. Perfect if you want to get away from the smoke and casinos but still be in the heart of downtown Reno. Brought our two furkids and they were welcomed with open arms. Dog park near by and just a few blocks from the Riverwalk. We’ll be back soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Christy C wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
This was by far THE BEST experience I've had all year. The Hotel was CLEAN and super friendly! We got the east coast atmosphere with the mini high rise, non smoking, big city de core here in Reno. The only drawback I could see, is having to pay extra to go to there club to eat. Other than that, it was terrific and I will return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: They left a hand written card and told us Happy Unbirthday upon arrival
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Zunino, Marketing at Whitney Peak Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Dear Christy, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a pleasant experience with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Sincerely, Whitney Peak Hotel Management
Read more
SFKAT3 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom246 contributions183 helpful votes
I read good reviews so we thought this would be a good last stopover at end of our road trip to Yellowstone with no smoking and good food. Wrong. I got a text from the hotel the morning of our arrival asking if there was anything we needed. I had read that hotel parking was located two blocks away so asked if valet was operational. It was not. I’m used to homeless with SF my home town but last time in Reno, the homeless were particularly aggressive & threatening so we purposely left Wyoming early in order not be walking from parking garage too late at night and in time for dinner. Upon arrival, we needed the bathroom so told the bellman/non valet that we would be right back to get bags out of car. He said fine but then disappeared completely. So not only no valet, no bellman either. No big deal, we unloaded our bags onto a cart and took it to check in. I was told to swipe my credit card for incidentals. While doing so, I asked if room service was available and was told no due to Covid, which is understandable, but that we could order from the restaurant and pick up. We said okay great, only to then be told that the restaurant was ALREADY CLOSED. I said that the website says the restaurant is open until 10 pm, the front desk clerk replied no it closed at 9 pm on weeknights and then pointed at people walking through lobby saying, “See, that’s the wait staff leaving” as if seeing that verified closure at 9pm. We asked if there was any other food in the hotel and she told us we could go across the street to the El Dorado Casino, or use Door Dash or GrubHub. WTH? So they do not allow their own staff to provide room service but allow Door Dash and Grub hub drivers into lobby to bring food to guests? Surely that is a much greater transmission of germs than room service from hotel staff. It gets worse. I leave to take car to parking garage, not a pleasant walk back through the homeless but uneventful. Right as you enter the lobby is a lit menu for restaurant showing us all the stuff we can’t eat and at the bottom, the hours say Friday through Sunday open until 10 pm. I point this out to front desk and she has no answer except to recommend a pizza place. We end up ordering from the pizza place and our pizza arrives cold, pretty much uncooked except it appears the crust was prebaked. On to the room. Initially it looks good upon entry but closer inspection shows a cheap and careless paint, carpet and furniture refit. The worst of it is the bathroom. There is plenty of room to create a much more user friendly bathroom by having a separate sink area to the toilet and shower, as well as a partition wall from the rest of the room but it looks like the old bathroom from the previous hotel was just covered over with new tile and some paint. When standing in the tub, the shower head was 1 or 2 inches over my head and I’m 5’3. I’ve never encountered such a low shower head. It worked for me but not so well for my 5’11 friend. It did give us a good laugh for the evening. The ancient telephone is not connected (which we both thought is hazardous in case of emergency) so I had to text the hotel to get extra towels — ridiculous as I booked for two people but room only had towels for one — and to get a new hairdryer. The one in the room was so greasy, grubby and ancient that the disinfectant wipes we brought did nothing to remove the grease and dirt. Replacement hair dryer was not much better. I had also called on my cell for towels but an hour later still no towels so sent a text. The furniture and fixtures are cheap but there’s great mirrors and lights so if you live for the gram, room may work for you. The antiquated air conditioning is so loud, it works as white noise and we slept surprisingly well. Why they charge a $50 incidental fee is a mystery and possibly a scam. The phone in the room doesn’t work, there’s nothing in the fridge and the restaurant is closed so what could we have possibly charged? We couldn’t wait to get out the following morning but I had to wait at front desk while hopeless front desk guy there repeatedly explained to a woman that the least expensive room was $179. I wanted to get my $50 “incidental” deposit back but was told it would automatically be credited in 3-5 days. It’s now five days later and no refund. Service was terrible, no food, room not great but beds comfortable and the shower was a joke. Really don’t care about a climbing wall — as much as I like them — when the basics are not there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t stay here!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Whitney Peak Hotel
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Hello Kathleen, My name is Rachel and I am the Community Manager here at Whitney Peak Hotel. I was the one who responded to your review last week on Booking.com where I addressed your same concerns that you have mentioned in this review. It appears you felt the need to review your stay on multiple platforms, so here is the original response from last week in case you missed it: "Hello Kathleen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review as we appreciate all guest feedback we receive. However, we are deeply sorry to hear your stay was anything less than exceptional. Unfortunately, due to Covid-19 we suspended our valet service and have only partially opened it up to Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings. We hope to have it fully running again here soon, but we do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in the meantime! As far as room service goes, we have suspended the amenity temporarily out of the safety for both our guests and staff. We do suggest that guests order ahead of time, and pick up down at the restaurant on our first floor. As far as the confusion on the hours go, we deeply apologize for this. You are correct that the screen in our lobby advertised the dinner service going until 10pm on Sundays. This is an unfortunate mistake and has been fixed immediately, as it only goes until 9pm on Sundays. Like we said, we appreciate guest feedback so we can improve and provide a better experience for our guests in the future, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Once again, we apologize your stay was less than satisfactory. We hope we get the chance to make things right by you in the future! Sincerely, Rachel (Community Manager)"
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNevadaReno
NUMBER OF ROOMS
310
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Whitney Peak Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Whitney Peak Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Puzzle Room Reno (0.1 miles), Greater Nevada Field - Reno Aces & Reno 1868 FC (0.2 miles), and Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Whitney Peak Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Whitney Peak Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Whitney Peak Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Whitney Peak Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Whitney Peak Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Strada, Brew Brothers Reno, and Wild River Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Whitney Peak Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and a yoga room during their stay.
Is Whitney Peak Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the center of Reno.
Are any cleaning services offered at Whitney Peak Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Whitney Peak Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Whitney Peak Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.